Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Telifrenzy

by NAL - Compo Entry

WARNING: This game contains filthy language. Lots of it. Also, some of the Telibellies' aerials are suggestive. The first one's aerial is blatantly just a knob and bollocks.

The Telibellies are a race of aliens that are the friendliest in the world. They exist to love. There is no war.

One problem. They create Telibelly Custard, a substance which to them is just a nutrient food. But to humans, it is a notorious aphrodisiac - one teaspoon of the stuff and you'll be rocking a chub for the rest of the week.

You are Reginald Waft, a savvy British hipster businessman who's left it all - cheeky Nando's with the lads, banter for days and even the occasional go on your mum - to ransack the Telibelly planet. You might even take the concept of their planet and sell it to some British TV channel as a children's programme.

Go with your array of missiles that grapple onto things to steer, and also somehow collect the abundant Telibelly Custard. Merc those cutesy swines before they sing you a song about learning things. And then get back to the lads back in Britain, drop a couple beers, re-curl your moustache and smash up the local gym.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Humor3.88
#156Graphics3.81
#165Innovation3.52
#209Overall3.48
#312Mood3.21
#320Fun3.23
#391Theme3.50
#538Audio2.54
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

Zoglu says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58am

Hilarious ! Nice job :)

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Nice work as usual NAL! Always have loved seeing the unique mechanics you come up with ever since the old GameMaker days. This one's a gem.

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:15am

Kkkkk.. good work

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32am

Yeah! Take this, teletubbies! )

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35am

Well done on the guiding mechanic!

Humor wasn't my style, but it gave a bit of a surreal touch.

I was really impressed by the amount of levels.

Zenkerdus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Played 'til i got to the last level. Spent 1 hour on the last level before falling asleep (not kidding).

Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:31am

What a surreal and odd game. My cup of tea. Loved it!

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:02am

I don't know what to think about this game. It seems interesting but I did not really understand how to control the missile so I abandoned after a few levels. The graphics are cool and it's very funny but the sounds are very annoying.
Good work anyway !

gilborn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:19am

Liked this it a lot, couldn´t beat the last level. Great look of Regniald Waft :-D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:43pm

That was certainly... a unique experience. ^^"

Pretty neat graphics-wise, but I found gameplay to be troublesome; at first, I couldn't really grasp how stars control the missile, and even once I got the grasp of it I found it quite troubling (partially because the turns are really quick, partially because it felt like the point of rotation is slightly off compared to star center). As for humour, not quite my thing, but whatever (I did smile on "I'll send you to heck", though). ^^"

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Funny, but not very intuitive. Nice look for a game made in 24 hours. A lot of British natives can relate to the language used in the game. Gameplay was quite fun however by the third stage I just felt like I was releasing the click randomly and hoping I would hit the jelly. Well done! :)

MrMordem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Haha fun stuff good job :)

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Many stars to you!!! This is glorious! Great job!!!!

sydream says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Took a bit to understand the controls but then after that was very funny. Nice mechanics and level design, lots of content for such short time. May be bit hard for non British people to grasp the humour, nevertheless excellent entry !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]