Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Who Shot First

by CheesyRamen - Compo Entry

Who shot first?
Your life's legacy depends on it!
Play at least 2-3 times for maximum impact, i.e. be careful of who you shoot! =)
Multiple endings!
NOTE: Make sure to draw your gun before shooting! But drawing your gun makes you move slower, so be careful!

Controls:
WASD / Arrow Keys: Move
(Hold) Right Mouse Button / Space: Draw gun
Left Mouse Button: Shoot

Comments/feedback/suggestions appreciated!
Thanks for playing!

Made with Unity
Sound effects made with bfxr
Music (if you want to call that music...) made with Bosca Ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#138Overall3.66
#160Innovation3.53
#210Fun3.41
#234Theme3.74
#336Mood3.18
#430Audio2.80
#497Humor2.64
#519Graphics2.98

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

interesting work. There are few games which encourage you to wait for enemies to show aggression before blindly opening fire on them. I especially like that you color-code characters based on whether or not they've shot at you yet. It makes the gameplay more manageable.
One tiny complaint I'd like to make is that using RMB to draw your gun feels a bit awkward. I usually really like it when games make a player manually un-holster their weapon before they can fire it, but the execution here was a bit frustrating. It was never said anywhere (aside from the instructions on this page) that I even had a weapon that could be un-holstered, let alone that it was done by right clicking. The other problem that I had with this system is that, in the web version, right clicking pulls up a right-click menu, which kind of interferes with gameplay a bit.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:07am

Thanks for the feedback Nick! For the RMB to un-holster issue, I fixed the web build so that right-clicking doesn't pop up a right-click menu. Alternatively, you can press Space to aim as well.

You're right about having no in-game instruction; I'll consider that for the next Compo I participate in!

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:58am

Very nice !

lolfrad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:39am

Cool game, I really enjoyed the descriptions of people you killed at the end.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

That was fun and intresting, I like the simplictic artstyle and the music.
Keep it up!

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Good concept and well executed with a lot of attention to detail.

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Nice game! :)

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20am

Very nice game

ranmaru90 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:01am

I think this is probably gonna be one of the best games I've played this time.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:04am

The way the names come up at the end really reinforced the theme, the graphics are excellent and gameplay is fun. Good job.

bodsey says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:05am

Interesting and well executed. Only complain would be the controls which are a bit uncomfortable (I'm playing on a laptop so it doesn't help :) )

MAnimal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11am

That arousing emotions moment when in ending titles are names and job of the victims!!!
Nice idea.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18am

Well, that's a really cool use of the theme. I like that you only get the best demonstration of it if you go balls to the wall and just kill everyone in sight.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

I like the theme and the way different interpretations give different endings. The simple graphical design helps this too by avoiding giving clues as to who you should shoot.

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Simple yet very effective, nice work !!!

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

an game with diffrent outcomes. i like it

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Great details and interesting gameplay, this game feels complete.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Man, that's hard. But it's definitively a good and original concept that should be explored even further. It's deep, it's fun, I dig it.
On the other side, I'd love a bigger room with more obstacles.
I'm giving you a 5 for the theme, best idea i've seen so far.

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Good idea. I don't love the RMB + LMB to shoot, but overall it's good.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:15am

Very nice work! I first thought I can't attack and get the no monster ending. That was great! I've found 3 endings so far I think that are all but I think I give it another try! Fun game!

mfagerlund says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:25am

I really liked how the "Game over" text scrolled together with all other text, just to stop at the center of the screen. Nice detail!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:41am

Hilarious (I kille a computer programmer - 93 years old). There is a real apprehension, waiting who shoots the first. I like this tiny IA. A pretty little game. Thank you ++

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06am

Very good idea, that you should avoid being a monster. Thx for the game!

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:19am

Good idea, one of my favourites so far. Feels completed, not much missing. Its good to learn a bit about the people you killed, and the game as some nice polish in the right areas, e.g. the final screen.

stoarch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:28am

Good game. You should add score table and two modes - shooting and running. Space is awkward.

Some tweaking and HotLine Miami in new setting is ready :)

jordinuco says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:56am

Playable and moodish. I liked a lot how it punishes player if he/she has killed too much innocents by making him wait until the dead list finishes. So, I tried to be good all the time, but... terribly hard!

Good job!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Great take on the theme here. I love how it's not straightforward. Good use of color and simple graphics. Bullet sounds could definitely be improved. :) Nice job overall!

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:11am

Did not know what to make of the names of all the people killed :\

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:18am

I really enjoyed this... I may be reading too much into it, but with all the violence that's being featured in the media right now, I loved exploring this idea of how we're conditioned to "Kill them before they kill us/me" in video games, especially those of us who play a lot of FPSs. I'm not making a statement about violence in video games, but I appreciated that the game made me think about the fact that I immediately responded by shooting rather than dodging, and what that said about me and my relationship to video game interactions.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Thanks everyone for all the comments and reviews!

My intention was, yes, to take advantage of the fact that in a lot of shooting action video games now, we're conditioned to shoot first, do whatever else later. However, because they're the enemy, we often don't give a second thought about who we end up killing.

To that end, plus to go along with the LD theme, I was thinking if the player knew more about who was being killed (in this case, the white CPU's that don't shoot first), then perhaps the player might feel like a monster, especially if the 'enemies' they killed were, in fact, innocent victims. Once the player realizes that, then the next time they play, the intent is to have them only shoot at the red enemies/dodge for as long as possible, changing the way the game is played.

At least that was my intent in making this game. I'm not sure if I was able to successfully convey that in this game jam entry or not.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:53pm

cool game!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:36pm

This is a good game!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Fun but kind of tough trying to be the nice guy. I guess I'm still not used to the controls (played 10x). I got fed up with getting shot first, so the monster in me came out. Sorry, Betty the Florist, no hard feelings.

-Loi LeMix

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:09am

Excellent entry. Like you said, need to play it a few times. At first I just moved around and didn't realize I could shoot. Nice touch with the names of victims. Good idea and execution.

Arcadonauts says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:47am

This is a great idea and a really good use of the theme. The first time I killed innocents (while I was still trying to figure out gameplay), I really felt like crap. Nice job!

I wish the zoom in on death was skippable.

I accidentally killed an 82 year pop singer.

This may be my favorite idea so far.

danialias says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:00am

I see, clever! Different ends for different actions, trying to get the "good end" is quite hard because you have to wait until the other guys uncover themselves. Basically, it's quite difficult to not become a monster :). A twin stick control would be great for a future version. Great job! Really liked this one.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Oh that's really clever. I love it when games play with genre assumptions like that. XD

I noticed after the first few kills that not everyone I had shot was brandishing a gun, but by then it was too late. ^_^;

It's also neat how, if you let them shoot first, the game's dynamic becomes COMPLETELY different - and it becomes a LOT harder to survive. XD

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:18am

Neat game, I liked the concept.

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Inicialmente, o jogo é um pouco difícil de controlar (para mim), mas há uma boa curva de aprendizado.

Há umas descrições engraçadas no final. Eu estranhei encontrar um estudante de negócios de dois anos de idade. Hahahahahah.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:07pm

did you updated it recently? I tested is last week and it was nearly unplayable. it was too hard. And now it works like a charm :) nice game.

Jakob37 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:41pm

This was interesting! I enjoyed the controls, and after getting the hang of the gameplay, I enjoyed the combination of dodging and shooting required. I died pretty fast anyway (6 red kills max), wouldn't mind if it had been slightly longer :)

CheesyRamen says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:34am

@bombjack

The only update I made was last week was a bug I fixed where pressing right-mouse click would open up the right-mouse button menu on the web build. Difficulty should have been unchanged, although it seems like something I should adjust in a post-competition update!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:39am

Great use of the theme. Loved the whole concept and execution just seemed to have issues pulling the gun out and moving around. But think it was just cause I'm on a laptop trackpad. One of my favourites so far though, liked the victim descriptions and thought they added some nice depth to your actions.

Qaterknan says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Technically drawing a gun and aiming is an aggression, but I like your concept so I will not nitpick it any further. Yay! I managed to shoot back at my killer and hit. Top that!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Very cool idea! It took some getting used to drawing the gun to shoot, but, despite being a little frustrating, it made this more tense. Great job!

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Really loved this game, nice use of simple graphics, super fun and with an interesting twist. All those endings were really cool. And trying to be the good guy is really hard :D

Oct 17, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Really simple, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/gLe7oOEiGe0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]