Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Consuminator

by Crefossus - Compo Entry

Spacebar to jump
Period key (.) to puke



Made with:
unity, pixitracker, microphone + audacity, photoshop + huion tablet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#271Humor3.17
#296Audio3.09
#408Theme3.48
#423Fun3.09
#659Graphics2.70
#672Mood2.66
#730Innovation2.56
#774Overall2.74

Comments

Lynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16am

I found your game quite fun! Very much like a sillier version of the Impossible Game!

The only tips I can say to help the experiences is maybe have an on screen text that tells that Period is the puke key, and maybe a quicker restart. But other than that, it does, what it goes forth to accomplish! Well done!

frondeus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Cool sound effects :D

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

*numnum*anumnum*anumnum* haha
very nice, though some silly stuff happen like - the character is waayyy bigger than the hole but technically the game says it falls to the lava and dies :P

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53am

Quite fun but you're way too big too early >.< Maybe with a dezooming added to a small progressing of the size!
Nice SFX!

thinkFirst says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29am

Agree to Goutya, you get big too fast, still fun but either atleast several seconds more either by slower increase or zoom out which could become very fun.

reach choppers first, then big enough to jump for planes, stars, planets etc ;)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05am

Tough until I started just puking to stay small and avoiding obstacles instead of trying to blast through them. Interesting idea where eating is actually bad for you. Cute drawings.

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:56am

I loved being so big I couldn't play anymore, that was a nice lesson.
I think I like it more without using puke at all.

Fun game and I really like the monster drawing :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Black, white and red is always a fun color scheme.
I like the background music too!
I like the concept of eating things to get bigger and puking to get smaller mixed with kind of a endless runner.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Pretty funny game :) Must consume and get bigger!

1y1e says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Thanks for taking the time to export to all those platforms! My favourite bit is the drooling lip licking animation, and I'd love to see the lava animated too!

Great job.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:15am

Really fun. This would make a great mobile game.

bodsey says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:05am

Yeah it gets unplayable very fast, but it's funny

wicht says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:53am

Funny and nicely short. Gets hard really quick though. Nevertheless a solid entry.

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:32am

Interesting concept. As others suggested I also think a zoom system could work. Fun game anyway!

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:07am

This game is oddly satisfying! Completed the game in the second attempt, not so tough and very much playable. The soundtrack was amazing. The art style really suited the absurdity of the game!
One of the most fun LD game I have played so far this time! Keep up the great work

MrTwister says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Really fun!
It's kinda easy to get big very early, to the point where you no longer see the stage, and that bothered me a bit, to be honest, but when I got back to the entry to rate/comment I saw the "puke" mechanic hint in one of the screenshots, so I gave it a shot and it definitely helps!
There's some collision issues though; Two times I died when I landed on top of a building (which normally doesn't kill the character).

A nice little entry I'd say :)

kozun says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I could be great endless game :)

shawn42 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:21am

I like the style of the art here and the music very nice and catchy. The controls felt nice and responsive. I think the character grows too quickly toward the end.. maybe make it an exponential curve of how many people to eat to grow once you get bigger?

Fun game, nice work.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Very silly and funny, if a little too punishing at times. Good job!

phi says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:14pm

I like the eating and puking mechanism! Cool graphics, fitting sound, physics a little buggy but somehow appropriate... And it gets a little awkward when you become bigger as the screen, but if that was intended, good job! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]