Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Bad Wolf King is Hard to Feed

by McFunkypants - Jam Entry

Wolf King - a 3d platformer. Play here: http://mcfunkypants.com/king/

Made by @mcfunkypants @sir_carma @fasterthanlime for Ludum Dare 33

Welcome to a beautiful world in the skies. This is the world of our imagination, where you play as a peaceful shepherd tending your flock. You live in a small cabin among floating castle ruins in the sky. Explore the world, collect gold, find checkpoints, and have fun for no reason. This is a first playable MVP, not the finished game.

Gamepad is strongly recommended - using mouse and WASD is very tricky by comparison. Gamepad just feels right.

================================
Downloads:
================================

Windows:
http://mcfunkypants.com/king/wolf-king-win.zip

Mac:
http://mcfunkypants.com/king/wolf-king-mac.zip

Linux:
http://mcfunkypants.com/king/wolf-king-linux.zip

Web:
http://mcfunkypants.com/king/

================================
THE STORY SO FAR:
================================

You are a king who became a NECROMANCER. In discovering the secret to everlasting life, you were faced with a heavy burden: to stay alive you need to harvest the lives of the innocent. Instead of becoming a bloodthirsty monster, friendless and feared by all, you took the higher road.

Using your magic powers, you sequestered yourself from normal society and build a land where the souls of wild sheep could be harvested without resorting to killing them yourself. By putting lush fields high atop the clouds, and allowing a natural predator, a wolf, the roam the landscape, you were able to keep yourself alive while allowing your "victims" to live in peace, like any wild animal.

1000 years have passed, and the loneliness of your altruistic decision has taken its toll. The time has come to dismantle this utopia by collecting the golden soul crystals. Can you collect them all and bring your kingdom back down to earth?

================================
COMING SOON:
================================

There is no level two. Yet. We have a partially finished "snow zone" and "boss battle" that will be added in a post-jam release version. They explain the plot and provide a quest. Please consider this weekend-long jam edition to be the "vertical slice" demo of an upcoming game.

If you like what you see here, please let us know. If you think a full game that uses this engine and art style is something you'd like to see on steam, please let us know! It will fire up our motivation!

================================

You could say that with this game I'm "standing on the shoulders of giants". I could never have made this game in one weekend from scratch all by myself.

I am nothing without my art team.

Antoine (@sir_carma) was both prolific, motivated, and incredibly flexible, and took my ugly sketches and turned them into a magnificent voxel universe full of wonder. You can enjoy much more Antoine's art at: http://imgur.com/gallery/3dOfh​

Amos (@fasterthanlime) has composed some of the most beautiful and inspiring music I've ever heard in a game jam, and the adventuresome, light and sunny vibe of the music is what inspired me to make a game much like Super Mario Galaxy, Ratchet and Clank, or the LEGO games by Traveler's Tales.

================================
Download the soundtrack:
================================

Amos just released his first solo album entitled *andfall: https://amos.me/blog/2015/andfall/

What an incredible experience the last few days have been. I am deeply indebted to my team, and I'm so grateful to have worked alongside them on this exiting project. Together we all pushed each other to become greater than the sum of our parts.

I'm so proud of what we made. I love Ludum Dare.

ENJOY!

Christer Kaitila

http://twitter.com/mcfunkypants
http://mcfunkypants.com

================================
UPDATE, Aug 25, 10pm:
================================

Thank you so much for all your wonderful feedback. It makes us so happy to see screenshots of people who found every single gold cube! =D I just uploaded a POST-JAM HOTFIX to address the camera bug, missing gui, and tightened up the friction/gravity.

No new features have been added, only bugs fixed, so I suppose this hotfix is "legal" for judging, but I've left the original buggy version up for posterity and transparency. I think for the sake of the rankings in the jam portion of LDJAM you should rate the broken version. If you just want to play the game as intended, click the links below!

Thank you, and enjoy! =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Audio(Jam)4.07
#88Graphics(Jam)4.37
#130Overall(Jam)3.76
#184Mood(Jam)3.60
#243Fun(Jam)3.46
#433Innovation(Jam)3.12
#484Humor(Jam)2.87
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

ninjacharlie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13am

I liked the light-hearted feel of the game along with the expansiveness of the levels. Camera controls were a little hard to get the hang of, but once I got going, they weren't too bad. Overall, it was pretty fun :)

And as always, nice job with the music, Amos :D

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

Out freaking standing. Looks and sounds amazing. My only complaint is that the mouse sensitivity is through the roof.

You guys rock

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

Oof, the controls/camera could be thighter... but graphics and sound are amazing, and the overall quality of this thing is impressive!
Super relaxing, too. Damn some of those gems, jumping right is hard!

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:24am

Wow! Gorgeous.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25am

Voxelicious!!! It is kinda hard to play but everything here is too awesome!

tuturto says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:23am

Gorgeous looking and fun to explore around. Looking forward how this will develop in the future.

jackrugile says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01am

Great job, you guys! I had fun exploring the world you crafted. It has a very calming effect on me for some reason.

I always wondered what it would be like if contestants simply got to pick from the top three themes for their game. It might solve a lot of issues people have. Glad you went with your theme of choice, it turned out excellent.

My only criticism was the view controls. It very well might just be me not used to controlling a game view with the mouse in that fashion, but I struggled with it. I of course have made games with controls that feel perfect to me, and then everyone says it's hard as hell to control. So yeah, it very well could be me, but maybe it needs some tweaking too. Not sure what the solution would be.

Keep it up, looking forward to your entry in December!

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51am

So pretty. Made me want to explore the world, although I spent a lot of time falling off it

ruerob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:36am

That's a really nice game!!
I really like the exploring factor and had a lot of fun finding ways to reach the gems!
I've seen some little glitches like disapearing or flickering gems, a block with changing colors and I can't jump when I'm to close to the next step on a bridge sometimes, but that didn't kill the atmosphere.
The atmosphere created through the visuals and music and exploring is awesome and I'm very excited to see the post compo version! Great work! I want more because you are awesome!!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:49am

Lovely work! The cuboid voxel-land is great :D

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:44am

Amazing works ! Art is really cool, the shader on cube works really nice. The camera is a bit hard to understood but it was really nice to explore this world. Congrats!

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Unfortunately I was really struggling with the controls and I can't really put my finger on what it was, but I just couldn't get to go where I wanted to in any ordered fashion. I found one coin/collectible, killed a sheep and activated a spawn point. But then I just got no where more. I also almost got stuck between the spawn-pad and its fence. The game shows a lot of promise though. Both music and style felt really good.

jovoc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Looks fantastic! Nicely done, and a great vertical slice in that it left me wanting to play the full version :) I loved the blocky look, but I had trouble telling which direction the player was facing, maybe just a three pixel face or something would help.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Took me a long time to discover that you can double-jump. I probably hadn't drunk enough tea.

It looks and sounds lovely, but I found the platforming a bit frustrating. I didn't feel that in-control of where I was going, and jumping onto small things that seem slippery meant I kept falling off. I couldn't figure-out how to get the gold on the flag, and kept falling into the castle and getting stuck. There seems to be a bug that stops you jumping when you stand next to a block, which didn't help.

But, with that fixed, and the controls tightened0-up a bit, it could be great! Atmosphere and aesthetic are perfect.

elefantopia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Beautiful but Unplayable

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Great look and music, the controls were giving me a hard time though.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Amazing. Camera controls were a little tricky, but you get the hang of it pretty quickly. Nice work.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Very well done!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I thought something would happen once I collected all the coins but no... *sniff* :P It was a good looking game. I don't like voxels much so I"m not the person to say anything about the future of this kind of game. Music is nice. As you also probably know there is this mouse sensitivity issue. Wish the story was more implemented to the game.

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43pm

I had some issues with the controls though, my controller did not work correctly with the game, even after trying to set it in the Unity options window (it's a Logitech F310 used on Mac fyi). The left and right arrow keys of the keyboard did not work in the game for some reason, despite being correctly set in the options.

That aside, it's truly amazing what you managed to do in three days, the visual style and sounds are spot on.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Wonderful environment but difficult to understand what to do

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40pm

The controls and the camera were a little difficult to get used to, but the game looks and sounds awesome!

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:04pm

As always, great job. Very cute, and I wanted to get to the end of it. But I feel like it was designed for a controller, so playing on a keyboard was pretty difficult. I ended up getting stuck inside the castle. Might consider having the mouse click trigger a jump, that way I could play with the arrow keys (only up and down seemed to work) instead of the "looser" wasd. Just a thought, but overall it was good!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:39am

These are some of the best graphics I've seen this LD. You guys made a voxel-ish Mario Galaxy game, and it's amazing. Please keep developing!

Concerning controls, the camera movement with mouse was a little weird, but I got used to it. What I didn't get used to was the player's momentum. It was hard to stop the player when moving and that cause me to fall off a lot.

Overall, beautiful work!

daydalus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12am

Very well done and polished. Love the art style, level design and music - it all worked together very nicely. Controls were a little tough with keyboard + mouse. Lots of the jumps demand fine precision - and the physics was a little slippery. Overall - lots of fun - reminded me of minecraft + mario 64. Great work!

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:53am

==============================================

THANK YOU SO MUCH for all your wonderful feedback. =D

BE SURE TO PLAY THE POST-JAM HOTFIX. Way better camera, more air control, less slippery physics means the controls and "feel" have been vastly improved. No new features have been added, so I suppose this fix is "legal" for judging, but I've left both versions up for posterity and transparency.

- McFunkypants
- Aug 26, 10:00pm

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:42am

Great world-blend shader. But the FoV made my head spinning. Anyway, well done!!

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:37am

Cool worldy-jumper :) the curved world made it easier to spot all the gems from afar. Sometimes a bit finicky with the jump controls, but at the end I had it down!

iossif says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:45pm

took me a while to find out that there is a double jump. after that it was great fun to play it.

terop says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:59pm

extreamly high quality entry.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Outstanding work!

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:37pm

That was really fun, though it was really frustrating getting the gold above the castle, if you fall in the camera was hard to control.

gcrsaldanha says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:16pm

That..was...awesome!!!

Unfortunately I do not have a GamePad, that would be sweet.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Dang this is beautiful, and the music and sound are quite nice too. Overall this is just about the most polish LD entry I've seen this time around. Excellent work!

ferpess says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Great fun to play the game,and amazing graphics and music!!Im a sound designer and my only complains are:
hope there's some ambience sound for the scene
footstep sound can tell the texture of the surface
Very cool game and I really had a lot of fun with it!

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:55pm

This is just amazing. Wow :)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Nice art style and really love the level design. Great job!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:36am

Though I may be a bit nauseous, I commend you on your game. It was beautiful and clever. The camera view was a bit odd, and I got small bouts of vertigo, but a pleasant experience anyway. Nice job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:57am

It looks beautiful, the curved world adds a nice interesting perspective, and the music is perfect! My only critique is the camera movement. It feels parented to the player which adds all the little player jitters and twitches to the camera for a slightly dizzying effect. Add a little camera dampening and it will be fantastic. Great job!

Birke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:42am

Very nice looking game and great audio as well. It seems like the camera right now is parented directly to the player character which can make for a bit of a bumpy ride. I'd suggest you use something like the SmoothDamp function in Unity to create a smooth camera follow solution.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:20am

13/13 :)

You did an amazing job. Everything is cute, smooth and enjoyable. Loved the sens of (almost) pointless exploration, climbing trees, jumping off moutains, entering abandoned sky fortress... Very clever way to draw the terrain btw.
Kudo to the music composer for his piece, that just works so well with the game ^^

II found very poetic to land on clouds, that was both cute & fun :)

Regarding theme, I think the point of Ludum Dare is to put yourself to challenge by facing constraint and overcoming it with Game design. Choosing his own theme is for me a little misunderstanding on what is ludum dare ^^ Considering that and respecting your choice of transparency, I prefer note to rate the entry as it put itself apart from the jam (too me).

Dikkop says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:56am

How is the 3D world built up, is it a camera image effect or did you build it from a 3D mesh with voxels?

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Lovely looking game! I managed to finally find the last cube:)
I had a small issue with camera stuttering and some control problems but beside that a really beautiful and fun game.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:21am

There were some times where the camera was actually more of a hindrance but I loved the voxel art style and the huge size of the game world plus I liked the little jingle that plays when you find a gem.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Beautiful and confusing, enchanting all around!

I'm not sure I understood fully what I was supposed to do, but that didn't really matter. I was just enjoying life in this beautiful place you created. :)

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:18pm

I didn't find the controls difficult at all. Very relaxing and beautiful game.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I really enjoyed playing this. The visual style is nice and clean, the music is fantastic and the world just feels alive. The explorative gameplay is also something I really like. The controls work pretty well, but there are also problems: Sometimes jumping when underneath something was a bit frustrating because the colliders show no mercy. Also, the camera was stuttering sometimes. Apart from these minor things, I just loved this game and I'm hoping to see it developed further.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Oh man, this was difficult to play in a laptop. I like the tranquil atmosphere, but I'm not sure how appropriate it was, considering the game story... I'd sure expect something more ominous.

The graphics are beautiful, and the background music was really good, it reminded me of the Chrono Cross soundtrack for some reason. The fanfares, on the other hand, were a bit annoying, and I felt it clashed with the relaxed feeling of everything else.

Physics was a bit clunky. It's hard to put in words but it doesn't have the tightness you'd expect for platforming. The camera doesn't help either. That moving platform was a challenge because jumping at it was tricky, and then when you landed on it it had no friction...

It was pretty fun exploring around and looking for the cubes. Too bad there's no actual reward for finding them all... Still, great job!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:37am

Very nice world, everything was very polished. Did collect 13/13 but then nothing happened, but it was fun just exploring. Definitely has potential!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:09am

Lovely music! I had fun roaming around, mostly just looking for sheep and messing around with them, haha. I also like how the world looks kind of curved. Good job!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:45am

The game is very nice and I was very relaxed while playing. I like the feeling of being on another very small planet. It would be nice to add just "WIN" text after collecting all diamonds. The sound of "text writing" is too loud compared to music. The mechanism of checkpoint is cool, I have more fun knowing that after "dead" I will be just moved to last checkpoint instead of losing progress. I'm sure it will evolve to great game!

AViTT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Really enjoyed playing this game. The music and art style create a nice relaxed mood for the game. Love the small planet like world. Only thing I felt missing was a win condition. Once you got all the bricks should say win or well done click to return to the menu screen so you can play again.

SelfTitled says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:24pm

9 golds in, I was like how the hell am I suppose to get that, when I realised I could double jump lol.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I didn't even come close to finding all the gold. Found the mouse controls not super at times, but I'l try again later with a gamepad. I can see that controlling much better. Great vertical slice. Reminded me of Captain Toad.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Pretty nice enrty, love the music very relaxing. A bit hard to control hero and camera although.

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Got lost a couple times but it was fun!

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:31am

Your entry reminds me a lot of Super Mario Galaxy. The camera was really well done. The graphics could use some work, by adding character models and animations. Some additional abilities aside from just jumping would have been nice.

bombjack says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:01pm

nice game. good job :)

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:12pm

This is a pretty relaxed collecta-thon. No killer enemies, no environment hazards, just collect every shiney. It's pretty fun! Got all 13 gold pretty easily.

I think the sparse checkpoints was a bit annoying. Some more action might be nice (and probably already planned).

Lancelot Gao says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:03am

A beautiful cube world! I found the control is a bit too sensitive for me. And I think a third person follow-behind camera will be enough for this game and much easier for the player.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:49pm

The atmosphere of this game is great, the visuals and music worked so well together. Did find the camera controls quite difficult though but still had a lot of fun trying to collect all the gold and just exploring the environment.

Rialgar says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:07pm

From your tweets, I expected it to be more difficult, but was great fun nonetheless.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I absolutely love the 3D world, it's really well done. Controls felt a bit too floaty for me though, it's rather easy to fall off, especially when treetop jumping. I also thought the sound effect jingles were a little excessive and too long, but that's obviously very subjective. Note that i played the original version so any or all of this may be outdated. Great work!

allinlabs says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:38pm

The controls are a little too sensible to my taste, but exploring this beautiful world make it up for it.

laubisch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:28am

As always, McFunkypants, an awesome entry, man! :)
Congrats!

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

The art is really cool and the levels have a pretty solid design. Controls felt unresponsive, that might because of the browser. It'd be cool to expand the core mechanics and add a twist.

But overall is an extremelly awesome jam game.

randomhuman says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

This looks really cool, but the gameplay didn't really click for me. I got stuck in the castle thing where I probably wasn't supposed to be able to go, but it seemed as viable as anywhere else...

Anyway, I'd love to see a full game set in this world and with this art style, that much is superb.

hexagore says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:41am

Beautiful game and I really appreciated the almost Nintendo-like music. I'm sort of glad you just completely ignored the theme because with.. what... 25 minutes of the competition to go.. I'm completely sick of the monster thing. Like, really. I wasn't able to play it with a gamepad and I realised that was going to make it almost impossible for me to get all the thingies in the time... but overall this was a lovely thing to play. Thanks :)

yuigoto says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Nice! The game is quite relaxing and challenging too!

I really dig the voxels and the simple design, by just using cubes to represent the characters, animals, etc. The way the world is rendered/presented is really nice too! It felt, somehow, like something in between Animal Crossing and Sonic Xtreme for this wide-angle/globe camera thing. :P

The soundtrack is really something in the game, it's relaxing and soothing, while the SFX don't interfere too much with it, so it creates a nice experience. :3

I struggled a bit with the controls, though, but nothing much, it was a pleasure to play! I had a bit of trouble, also, reaching high places, but it was a nice challenge to do it. :D

The story is also a good one and offers a lot of possibilities for challenges and expansion. I can see it, also, as a children's story book, don't know why, but it just felt like some books and stories I read when younger. :P

Good Work! :3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]