Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Trial of Tyrone Rex

by Manky - Jam Entry

Tyrone Rex has committed murder, and a corrupt justice system will stop at nothing to see him incarcerated! But with the help of an airborne ally, Tyrone might just have a shot at avoiding the guilty verdict and getting away with his crime!

===========

Hoo boy! This game turned out to be quite the undertaking. I rolled with a simple and stupid concept, but it turns out that managing over 18 minutes of dialogue is a long and painful process. Grabbing clips out of our recording session by itself took like five hours overall!

I wound up taking the extra day, which disappoints me a little bit, but I think it was worth it to be able to present this monster (ha ha!) as I'd intended. I still would've liked more time to animate, but I got animation details on like 85% of the thing, so it's fine.

===========

TOOLS USED:
-Unity 5
-Audacity == Lots and lots of audio-editing headaches!
-Intuos 4 Drawing Tablet
-Paint Tool SAI == All the backgrounds and crayon-y bits
-Photoshop == For editing my dinosaur photos!
-FL Studio == Used to write music.
-SGM V2.01 == Soundfont used to write music.

VOICE CREDITS:
Myself - Tyrone, Patchy, Patrick, Stella
SungWon Cho - Judge Ank, Terry, The Blue Guy

SungWon is super talented and you should check out his voice Tumblr:
http://prozdvoices.tumblr.com/

Special thanks to RunJumpDev in Lexington, KY for hosting the event and for putting up with my frequent introduction of egg rolls into the premises! You should also check them out:
http://runjumpdev.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.85
Audio(Jam)4.63
#33Fun(Jam)4.02
#45Theme(Jam)4.20
#46Mood(Jam)4.10
#50Overall(Jam)4.03
#142Innovation(Jam)3.59
#211Graphics(Jam)4.03
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

Rulrite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47am

A wonderful parody of the Pheonix Wright games (at least, I assume that's what it is)! I really enjoyed this game; it's the funniest one I've played so far. It really deserves a lot of love!

I think I ran into a weird bug with Stella, though; she didn't disappear from the screen during the second 'volcano' scene and then wouldn't speak when it was her turn, which stopped me from finishing the game. I don't know if it's an isolated incident.

Manky says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

I have, in fact, had the exact same problem with two other people! I'll look into it tomorrow, thanks for letting me know it's happening to other people as well.

Manky says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:28am

Bug squashed!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:27am

This is absolutely hilarious

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:01am

The plot twists are real. This is wonderful. Impressive amount of dialogue and animations! I would have liked more choices, but apart from that, it's great. :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:10am

BEES??

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11am

BEST GAME EVER. XD

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13am

Truly a masterpiece. This will go down in history as a modern day Shakespeare. 11/10 GOTY.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:33am

Really enjoyable! I was kinda afraid that it would be 18 minutes of boredom but that was not the case.

The I only thing I can say against your game is that it is more an interactive video than an actual game.

Great work!

Togimaro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Just excellent, extremely fun, with a very good humor, I can't stop laughing
Excellent work!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I loved Billy Mcmath and I absolutely loved this. Could not stop laughing, but I had to feel sorry for Terry Dactyl at the end. Absolutely wonderful entry, top scores everywhere except fun since the game was pretty one track... Fantastic work with the music too.

Though I feel you didn't get the theme across, maybe you didn't say "You are the monster!!" enough times. ;)

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Funniest game I've played from the dare so far, couldn't stop laughing. The comedic timing and voice acting were on point! When I saw you'd made Billy McMath as well, I knew I had to play this, it's excellently done. I feel a little bad for selling out Terry, though...

The crayon on cardboard really completed the experience, and the music was great too. Did you record the audio in a studio? For the most part it sounds incredibly clear!

Excellent work, keep it up!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

10/5 in every category best game

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Dino/5

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40pm

hahahaha, this is so hilarious. really enjoyed the final product. obviously a time consuming project but totally worth all the hard work you put into it. so glad you stuck with it. you're getting four stars across the board from me because every aspect of the game was entertaining. — Drew Van Camp

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Very funny and creative.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Really funny and great idea.

mar3k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really cool, but more of a movie than a game, but still awesome and funny ;)

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I saw this on jacksendary's stream, and I have to agree that this was hilarious, but it's lacking in interactivity. However you guys clearly had too much fun making this and I cannot rate you down because of that.

superfreak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29pm

I would watch this as a TV show. Seriously. The accents absolutely killed me. Great fun. Great job.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:17am

It was like telltale games meets plastic models and cutouts, and hilarious as expected. I am also horribly afraid of volcanos, so the case's final outcome makes 100% perfect sense in the most logical way possible to me. The judge was very smart in his decision.

I feel like it lacked a little in interactivity, but the story probably just wouldn't have fit any more interaction points without them feeling contrived and repetitive.

Hope you do some more stuff like this down the road!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:39am

Very good writing and humor. The voice acting was amazing. Enjoyable to sit through even with low interactivity. Well done.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:26am

This was super-awesome! A+++ Would buy again!

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:31am

This caught me by surprise and is now my favorite game in the Jam, seriously great job.

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:53am

So... who was the monster?

A nice game with charming asthetics and solid voice acting (stella saurus was a bit drowned out by the music, though).

Tselmek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:22pm

If we could vote 6 for Humour, you would have easily got it. Amazing job, the rythm is amazing, the music and voice acting are hilariously fun. Congratulations!

Zemmi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Man, getting away with murder is hilarious.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:44pm

I think you made a mistake... I can't say that it is a game. It's a very funny and comical film. I have been layghting for 30 minutes. Good job.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Simply great. Entertaining, self-aware, funny, non-punishing. I shouldn't have started here, because the bar is set pretty high for others. Well done.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:20am

Fantastic, funniest ludum dare entry I have ever played XD

jrhee says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:26am

Hilarious, very creative- feel like you guys must've had a blast making this!

el-pepi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:33am

You just won humor! It is more like a video rather than a game but it's very funny.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:57am

BEST

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:40pm

This is a pretty hilarious game.

Justo Delgado says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Really fun game! I can't stop laughing xD The voices and music are really well done!

derr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:07pm

It's been a while since my coffee reversed through my nose the last time. Hilarious!

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Great voice acting & pacing.

dos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:06pm

You're going to dino prison for making too funny 18-minute jam entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:14am

Wonderful, love the execution and the effort. Great work.

Reisen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:26am

Spot-on Ace Attorney references. Bookmarked for another run later!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:28am

Amazing. Simply amazing

Unept says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:32am

This was great. I was either smiling or laughing the whole time. Original and fit perfectly with the theme.

euske says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:19pm

screw user interaction this is teh best game evar

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:27am

This game was so much fun!

Lynx says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:23am

Humor is off the charts! But you already now that! I love the subtle details in background decor and slight jiggles and movements of the pics and characters and such, very great attention to detail in the nuances that make up a great representation of feeling and humor with still images. Love to see more of this kind of thing from you guys in the future!

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:20pm

To be honest, I liked Billy McMath better. The timer on making your decision provided more thrills, and each decision provided a new conclusion. In comparison, The Trial of Tyrone Rex had a fairly inconsequential segment when making the wrong choice, making it feel less thrilling. I still enjoy the voice-acting, however, and the humor is pretty good. The character shakes adds a lot.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Very, very funny. Quite possibly the funniest game I've played. Just wish it was more of a "game." Great job though! (You should turn this into a YouTube series. I would definitely watch.)

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Best entry this ludumdare!!!

jwin says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:36am

Wow, this was hilarious!

Excellent voice acting, and I love that you clearly used photos of plastic dinosaurs for the art.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:18pm

WTF did I play at? xD It is hilarious! Really good job, you made my day! ;)

awesomerex says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Amazing Entry! Music was spot on and set the mood very well. Hilarious.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:39pm

The best programmer art I've seen this LD.

Tijn says ...
Dec 7, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I got tipped to play this game. I'm forever thankful. My life is now complete. What a game. The drama. The art. The music. The puzzles. The plot. The characters. Perfection has been achieved. 11/10. GOTY of the year.

All kidding aside, this was truly lots of fun and really well made :) Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]