Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Starvin' Sasquatch

by GertJohnny - Jam Entry

What's a Sasquatch going to do when he gets hungry? Shopping spree!

Rummage around friendly campers fridges and coolers to find the foods you crave, they don't mind sharing!

Don't get spotted! Sasquatches have a reputation to keep.


If you throw away all the food (shame!), press R to restart the level.


Programming by @JesseRingrose
Art by Jason Ennis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Overall(Jam)4.17
#31Graphics(Jam)4.59
#52Theme(Jam)4.17
#54Fun(Jam)3.93
#77Innovation(Jam)3.83
#112Humor(Jam)3.72
#160Mood(Jam)3.67

Comments

eonarheim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:10am

This is excellent, I love the art style. The added mechanic of rushing to click and add items while trying to stay stealthy is very fun. Bravo!

Karl Schmidt says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09am

So fun! The art style is great too.

belva1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Really love how you make all of this in 72h really love every thing

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Very fun and an impressive amount of polish too. Especially loved the grabbing-things mechanic. ^^

johnhattan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Very nicely done. Love the art and the theme. Took quite some time to load the WebGL version, but that's a Unity thing. Once it loaded, performance and animation was smooth.

Congratulations!

saucygames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07pm

gg

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Really enjoyed this game. Good job. Only one wish is to better show what I have to collect, as it was really hard to understand what was written and english is not my native language :) Overall - very good job!

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Wow I really love this one, nice work !!!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Really cool game! Loved the art and the mood! Amazingly well done for a Ludum Dare entry! :O Perhaps could make it a little less step in difficulty between level 2 and level 3 - though in summary the best game I've tried yet this Ludum Dare!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Very nice fresh take on the stealth genre.
The physicality of picking things up and moving them is also a nice touch.
Very good entry!

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:18pm

What an innovative game ! I loved it man

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Whew, that was a pretty intense experience! I enjoyed your game!

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Excellent graphics! Nice characters. Did you do it all the graphics during the jam? Who is your artist? I could not find the credits :D

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Very good looking, many levels and the game itself is fine.

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

@mboaj Everything except the audio was created from scratch in the 72H period. 2 person team, very little sleep.

Rulrite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Well done with this entry! The art is wonderful, and it's a lot of fun to play. The idea of a 'shopping list' of sorts is a lot better than 'grab all the food', as it really adds to the intensity (finding certain items before you're spotted).

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Absolutely fantastic game.

I love the art, the gameplay, and the concept.

There is something about panicking to pick up every single object in the fridge before someone spots you that I just love.

My only complaint is that there is not more of this.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Fantastic game. You don't see many stealth games that really pull it off during a Ludum Dare, but this is definitely one of them.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Awesome game :D
5/5 :D

glimaleite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30pm

THIS GAME IS SO CUTE! Feels so good to grab things and put into the bag. Great mechanic! Interface looks very clean and well done aswell. Solid entry! Great job!!

kfarwell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Really cute and well polished. It's surprisingly addictive. :)

Newah says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Great game! Very fun to play!

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:28am

This entry is fantastic! 5 *'s in every category. What an adorable take on a stealth game. The gameplay is great, the level design is really enjoyable, the visuals are gorgeous. Hope to see you do more with this post jam!

eric777 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31am

Excellent game! Great gfx, great sound effects. Obviously stable and well built - always a plus!

Rummaging mechanic was very well done.

Solchain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:44am

My favorite jam game so far. Overall really enjoyed this game! Played through the whole game and I liked the rummage mechanic, especially when you are frantically grabbing items on your list before the kid comes back to the cabin!

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:48am

Nice game, very well polished. The mechanics are great with Just enough difficulty to have fun, very good entry :)

mariti says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:52am

pretty.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:02am

Wow, really solid entry! the hand mechanics feels so satisfying! the art is incredible. One of the bests so far. good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:00am

Amazing entry, I love the art and the animations. The feel of opening and getting the stuff is really good!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:51am

the most beautiful and pleasant game I've played this LD. Well done. I just wish there was more information on how big the vision cones are and maybe some way to recover.

Still, the best stealth game yet - it seems like half of all games I've seen are stealth based. Excellent job!

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57am

Simple, effective! Graphics are VERY well polished.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:24am

Great game.

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:41am

This is a really charming and well done stealth game. I think my only gripe is that it feels weird to have to position the mouse cursor precisely over the food to pick it up instead of just holding the hand in the general area.

Good work!

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:56am

Really cool gameplay!love the art and the design! the hand mechanics is awesome.
gj

Jimjam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:40pm

What a great game, definitely one of my favourites :)

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

This is the best looking game I've soon so far! :D The sneaking is fun and the physics in the fridges is a nice touch. The game is super polished, great work!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:34pm

This was really well put together, and actually my highest rated Jam submission! Awesome game!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Cuteness overload.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:14pm

One major thing that annoyed me about this game is right click to walk.

Other than that I thought that it was pretty good. Great job man!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Another sasquatch game! Very cute art style, and I really enjoyed stuffing all the food in my sack (I didn't stick to the list he he he).

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:22pm

This game is incredible. I felt like the hitboxes for the food were slightly misplaced, but other than that there isn't really much to complain about. The graphics and animations are solid, the audio is excellent (its a shame you guys didn't make it, that would have been another 5/5!). Awesome level design, overall super game. Well done!

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Very nice mechanics! The manual opening/moving of food led to a more immersive feeling, it felt like I was the one frantically trying to snatch those sausages... A small detail: The food moving mostly went well, but sometimes felt slightly of (in particular for the sausages) which led to I failed to move them several times.

Overall, I am highly impressed of this entry, both sound, movement, visuals... You know what you are doing!

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:46pm

It's fun, it's challenging, it looks great. The whistle get's super annoying after a while.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Nice entry. Art style is great!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:00am

Excellent entry. The art style is great!

-Loi LeMix

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:14am

wtf? I tested your game several days ago and it seems that the rating desappered... Ok Just rating it again :) This is a really nice game with solid gamplay and above average graphics. very good job.

scorched says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Very polished and funny, thanks for making this:-)

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:12am

I really feel so hungry when i grab these food ~ what a immersive feeling! but i think these black mask (which hold my view )may so solid(too sharp edge)...
if it can be more blur~~ the feeling maybe more great and fit the feeling better~☆゚

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:13am

oh~~by the way,
I know your game at this link~:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/09/07/500258/

zatyka says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:17am

Great game. Well thought out controls, and lovely visuals.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Very cute monster! Excellent game. I really liked the mechanics. Would have loved more levels and a bit of an increase in difficulty. :)

adsilcott says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:37pm

This is just phenomenal, exceptional work! I love the sasquatch hand writing and the way you grab things.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:16pm

The art is simply mesmerizing <3

Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Cute, fun, amazing game! I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/hHQb1uxX9tA

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:34am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]