Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Obamapology: Term 2

by El Cabaro - Jam Entry

After the events of Obamapology, Obama is called back to the Mystical Meadow to return peace to its denizens. They don't like it.

Our game is about good plans backfiring on you, and who better to convey this than poor Obama who gets ridiculed for everything he tries to do / doesn't do. Play the Flash version on this page!

Link to Obamapology 1: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=11035

All art was created using an old Epson scanner, felt, crayons, cardboard, paper, and whatever else we found laying around (like socks).

The ending is heavily condensed and we plan on releasing a post-Ludum version. The link will be found here once voting is over. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#27Humor(Jam)4.18
#174Innovation(Jam)3.50
#179Mood(Jam)3.62
#231Overall(Jam)3.59
#279Fun(Jam)3.41
#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#419Audio(Jam)3.04
#888Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:55am

Cons: unless Dick Wolf was two game devs in a trench coat, I can't give you credit for any of the audio in this game. Which is a shame because it's very nice audio.

PROS: Everything else! The graphics are incredibly charming, the Ninji is cute, and the political humor isn't even remotely biting but it is funny. The ending is inane but in the best possible way.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:59am

This game is absoultely hilarious!

QuexD says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:12am

Meh I give it a 8/8 at best

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:15am

This looks fun, any chance of a web or mac build?

jk5000 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:01am

Obama + Monty python + 80's music video = Obamapology: Term 2. Great and hilarious game. Well done.

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Awesome loved it.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Really great entry! Loved it. Lots of stars from me.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I don't seem to get American political humor in this form.

Frozen Stick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:29pm

This was really cool!Pretty nice idea!The art style was excellent.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:55am

Very fun, lots of great personality and imagination.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:59am

This was great. I loved how you used all kinds of media, felt, cardboard, crumpled paper to make up your world. Nothing was static, everything had a fluffy bounce or wibble wobble which felt great. despite being a paper cut out whose walk animation was just tilting left and right, the controls felt great, and none of it felt out of place. Hilarious too. I was delighted every time you made another reference to an old school game. This game made me very happy. Thank you so much for making it!!!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:11am

Hilarious. :V

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:58am

This is awesome! It's a must play. Great job on scanning ALL of that.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:09am

Insanely hilarious game! hahaha. Pretty well done. Loved the textures and pictures.

It's hard to give you a score in graphics though, as there was a bunch of real photos that you probably didn't took yourself :/ Same with music, a lot of tracks obtained from different sources (although properly credited at the end).

Loved the humor in the game and it's one of the few entries that has managed to make me laugh so far. Awesome job! :)

TL;DR: THANKS OBAMA!

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Indeed you used papercraft to make your game also, but you're way crazier than me haha, it was very fun, congrats for your crazyness

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:19am

I love the graphical style, I am definitely an advocate of applying different design techniques in order to building the aesthetics of a game. Pixels and 3D aspects are obvious choices, but we can shoot for much higher and diverse like you guys did. I love the touch on politics, and I feel games as a medium should discuss and satirize any themes, including politics. Oh and a final feel. I feel the game is pretty cool and one of the games that made me laugh the most here!

Nurbs says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:24am

WHY, OBAMA, WHY?!
Charming game, I shed a single eagle-shaped tear. The "random bits of tat" look works out well.
Also, nice Bubsy reference B3

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:59am

Excellent game, really fun!

With the web player, the game stopped after finding the only collectible in the level where we responsible for global warming... freezing on the rebel people.
I restarted the game to see the real end!

I recognized the sound effects of RPG Maker! : D

WHY, OBAMA, WHY?

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Interesting game, I like the hand made graphics. I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:31am

This game's design is so good it deserves an endorsement from Congress.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]