Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monsters Rescue

by palsina - Jam Entry

Help Picopi to save his fellow monster friends from the annoying space tourists!

Instructions:
WASD - movement

catch your friends and they will follow you, create a group as big as possible by the end of the game!


Art by Alicia Pereira
Code by Pere Alsina

Done with Unity5.1, lots of cofee and three dogs!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#10Graphics(Jam)4.75
#88Mood(Jam)3.89
#92Overall(Jam)3.86
#156Fun(Jam)3.61
#176Audio(Jam)3.57
#185Humor(Jam)3.51
#218Theme(Jam)3.83
#510Innovation(Jam)3.03

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Really, really nice and coherent aesthetic.
In gameplay terms, a minimap might be nice to help find monsters and know the limits of the gameplay area without bumping into it.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

So cute! The creatures remind me of Adventure Time and some Studio Ghibli, they're really cool. Oh, and together with the scenery visuals, I love the way music also blends with the game, it all defines a great atmosphere.

Controls feel smooth, too, my main suggestion would be to give more feedback when those #%&aN$!· space tourists are going to screw the group. Oh, and some occassional animation glitches.

An impressive entry, I hope you both enjoyed making it, great job!

PS: I've had the debug console pop up with a NullRef. exception, but couldn't see what exactly caused it. I'll see if I can find something else in future runs.

PS2: Any possibility of releasing an android version? It looks like touch controls would definitely fit with the game as well 0:-D

Polith Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Really nice game!
Things really have a good harmony in this game. Really fun!

Good job. :)

Algerator says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:57am

The most cute thing that I've seen in months :)
Congratz team!

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:00am

Very well done art. Good match for the theme.

Snippety says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:04am

The game looks beautiful. Sound design is also really good. Gameplay is solid. I really liked it.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:13am

The art and design of the monsters are just incredible. The controls are a little clonky though, and the gameplay gets quickly repetitive. But it's incredibly well polished, well done guys!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Amazing!
I love the art style (cute and modern) and the perspective of the camera.
Also the finish counting friends scene makes it feel very polished.

The only problem that i found is that the map navigation sometimes is a bit fustrating, encountering obstacles that won't let you move as you wish.
Also the boundaries of the mapa are too artificial.

Anyway, I liked the game a lot.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Really good game! Great job. Love the art

Zener says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Good job! The art style fits perfectly and it's fun to play. Music is also nice, overall a very polished game!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Yay! So many friends! :D
The game graphic is great and the idea really nice!
Well done! :D

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Cute little game. Got hung up on the environment quite a bit though.

Dianouille says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:09am

awwwww <3 that's really cute. Very well crafted ! It would be cool to have a tactile version :)

lemer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:22pm

This game has awesome graphics and nice gameplay. Good work!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Nice work on the art style and depth sense. The only problem I had was that passing under some powerups without getting them was a bit frustrating.

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Great monsters and good use of the music to create the sense of urgency, the fonts looked great, the timer was helpful I wish it could had some stun mechanic for more interaction, overall it played well.

Cheers,
<Alin Putinelu> (of Los Pixelados team)

sergicollado says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Amazing stetic, I love art and mood

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]