Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Creature from East Second Street

by emmelineprufrock - Compo Entry

A short (very short) FMV style visual novel put together on YouTube (using mostly the annotations system). Inspired kind of by the playable Until Dawn and Mad Max trailers, I've only tested it in Chrome but it should work in other browsers.

The story follows a Blob trying to go on a date with a sweet girl named Hana.

For best results, please enable captions and disable autoplay.

Thank you to my main character Gingy Gibson, for letting me take her on a "date" to a local food festival.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#20Innovation4.20
#166Mood3.50
#261Graphics3.48
#493Overall3.10
#565Humor2.47
#574Audio2.44
#606Theme3.17
#828Fun2.42

Comments

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:32am

Fun little game. The only complaint I have was that the captions should have stayed on the screen for a lot longer. A couple of seconds is not enough to make a decision before the thumbnails appears at the end of the video.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48am

@Birke Yeah, I need to go back through and add a few more seconds on some of the videos (especially the first ones.) I'll probably fix them tomorrow?

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11am

Super cute game! It was equal parts cute and eerie. Very pretty. it made me smile :)

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:51pm

A+ for innovation, haven't seen it used like this before but then again I only watch unboxing videos :P When the clips are this short You-tube really messed up with the interaction ... I really think that if you hard-code the captions (I had to re-enable them all the time) in the video and add a bit of delay at the end of the video it will be much easier to navigate and decide where to click before Dr.Phil and other related videos show up. .. + Always fun to see something that's not unity-grey/pixel art. I managed two different endings anyway :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:45pm

@tanjent -- yeah, honestly the biggest hassle with this project was the YouTube integration. I'm going to give a few more seconds to the end of the first few videos, which should help. I might also do a post-compo version with the captions burned in.

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:10am

Cute story. Burgoo ending because burgoo ending. Buddy Jesus ending had some reflections of the cameraperson in Hana's sunglasses, and cameraperson was not a green blob.

That first choice, pretty/smile, had less than a second at the end to make a decision. That one could stand to be fixed. The others seemed okay. Some typos; unsure if that was an intentional homage to dating sim ports.

Captions baked in would make it easier to play, I think.

-mildmojo

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Interesting concept. More decisions would have been better, but it's good to see original concept like this.
Good job! I liked it!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:31am

Sweet little experience. Like watching someone else's fond memory.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Definitely interesting and innovative! Very different from any other LD game that I've played. With a few more choices and a bit longer to make those choices I think it would be great.

solarexplorer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:45am

The YouTube annotations let you down more than your idea/ability, just made the whole experience feel clunky.

ohsqueezy says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:26am

Sad atmosphere. I'm sorry I didn't mean to turn you into a pile of goo.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:33am

Interesting story. captions needs to be longer, other that that - beatiful little game.

Team Myopia says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:44am

Interesting take on the concept. It's hard to make the split second choices before the video ends, there also seems to be many dead ends.

I also didn't know what my condition was? Hugging her kills her? Some more exposition would be good to make this work.

ehtd says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:22am

Very cool idea,, good job.

daveh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:30am

I like your idea of FMV visual novels -- haven't played anything like it before myself. It's pretty innovative. I think embedding the videos in web pages and linking between pages would be more flexible than using YouTube's annotations. Good video editing and a good sense of mood.

m3_on says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:59am

Haha, this was a really awesome idea!! I played through once and got Hana BBQ but then I went back to give her a hug...and turned her into a pile of goo! A really fun idea and fun experience, reminds of the indie game Her Story.

OFF says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:20am

Not the first interactive video is saw on youtube but you have some mood like an independant american movie but... (there is always a but.
The interaction with youtube is really hard, and even using game maker could allow to make a smoother game.
You could have also add caption inside the video.
The effect of the voice is nice but i think that with an human voice it coule work but you have to make the text and scene more clear about the natue of the player.
You could add music but by simply putting everything in a one time moment (with no cut from Youtube) will create already a full mood.
One of my favorite game so far...
(i was an hardcore fan of old interactive movie game! ;) )

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:25am

I think I've never seen an interactive video like this one on YouTube, so the experience was great. Congrats on the entry!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:24pm

This is so cute I love it :D

It did a good job of building the tone and I felt bad when I turned her to goo :(

I'd love to see more like this!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Great idea. I think with more time it could have been really fun. I didn't feel like I had a reason to choose one option over another, and didn't see any real results from my choices.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:51pm

@Archon, I'm a bit surprised by that response on the lack of options. There are four different endings, two good and two bad.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:29am

Well that was interesting. Definitely the most innovative game I've seen so far.

I've played some interactive YT videos in the past and I like them a lot. It's a sadly under-used format.

Some clips definitely need extra seconds for decision-making but it's Ok, no big deal.

Anyway; pretty well made entry, kudos! I had a really hard time figuring out a score for "Graphics" xD.

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:01am

I liked the idea of using youtube to create a nearly text-based game, but not text based, and video based. Innovation 5/5.

Mothdan says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:42am

Just follow my lead, Creature. We got this.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Very nice and cute ! I like the mood induce by the filming, the sound could be a bit more complex to me but works anyway.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Very creative, good job!

eric777 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Loved the concept. I found Blob to be a compelling character. I played through all the endings twice trying to decide which one was my favorite. I'm tied between the melty pile of Hanna-goo and the unromantic pot of burgoo. Great job on blending cute and creepy!

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:15am

Pretty odd game- I think you hit the "uncanny valley" of storytelling, (maybe unintentionally?) Seeing the girl go through a date with an ostensible blob monster, overlaid with Pacman-esque (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SEYxgqnK27c) voices and an overly-attached dialogue really sort of weirds ya out. Though that might be what you were shooting for.

Don't get me wrong though it was interesting as well (and one of the few "visual novels" that is actually videographic).

LeoM says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice mood in this.
Just the youtube experience could have been better with longer delay for captions and auto loading subtitles. (first row I played I didn't see that subtitles for the monster was here)
Poor Hana, I just fried her...

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:28am

Interesting take on the theme and 5/5 for innovation. Very creative!

Brightstar says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:56am

This is great. I love it.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:26am

Very fun idea! A little bare bones, but very impressive for 48 hours

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Was cool to see something aside from the norm! Nice way to keep it original, would've liked to have seen more options, but limited time, sweet!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:50am

How do humans fall in love? Because for blobs, I think it might be all at once... That's some real feels..

Nice entry, first YouTube entry I've seen so far, agree about the captions but you already know that one :) Overall had a very good mood, good job to G Gibson for letting you film her! :D

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Ah, yes, finally the captions on Youtube is useful for once! Glad to see an online tool used for these experimental reasons. Liked the game a lot! Definitely a wonderful evolution from visual novels.

The music was kind of repetitive, though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]