Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Perspective

by ChuiGum - Compo Entry

*Headphones Recommended*

This is my 7th Ludum Dare. If you were here for the last Ludum Dare, I made 'Frisbee Training' for the theme: An Unconventional Weapon. I do feel that I improve each time. This time, I kept everything very simple. I feel like this game is missing something but I'm not sure what. The best part about this game, is its concept, its mechanic. It's an Endless Runner I guess. It's not just a Side Scroller, and it's not just Top Down. It's both. You'll figure out what I'm talking about when you play.

Instructions: Z to Jump, Up and Down Arrow Keys to Move (When Top Down), and P to Pause.

As you can already tell, I didn't care for the theme this time. I usually do, but I already had an idea before hand.

I am still going to work on it. I especially need to work on the platform design, and the randomness. Make some more structures. Maybe I'll make levels? Maybe I'll add another endless mode where you manually switch the perspective? Who knows?

Either play it on the web or play it here, but put it in full screen if you're going to play it right here.

*Some people have been having problems saying that the Z key won't let you jump. I've tried it on multiple PCs and it's been fine for me. I'm not sure what the problem is though...? If that's the case then let me know exactly what kind of PC you're using.

And if you streamed this game on Twitch, let me know in the comments!

Follow me on Twitter: @ccolongames

Check out some other LDs or other games I've made at my Website: ccolongames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#21Innovation4.14
#103Audio3.56
#381Fun3.14
#558Overall3.03
#563Mood2.85
#700Humor2.17
#735Graphics2.54
#952Theme1.32

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Input doesn't seem to be working on the web version. Enter works at the beginning, but if I die, Y and N don't work. Z for jump also doesn't work. Cool concept!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:10pm

The download version seems fine with the input. Good game! Kind of confusing. But I might just not be smart enough to understand it. Haha. Keep it up.

lancemaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:16am

Seems great, but the Z isnt making it jump.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

Awesome concept and very polished!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:41am

Love the idea - really interesting, would like to see it more polished!

guoboism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:17am

The game is unique! Playing this game is like walking into a strange bar. The sound and music really bring me there!

Chris M says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Had problems manoeuvring when in top down mode. Really nice feel when in side mode and skating along the platforms, although I'd have liked the game to be more lenient to errors (eg crashing into a wall)

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Very interesting ! I really like it! Good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06am

That a personal and innovative gameplay concept! Too bad the input doesn't work (the web console says: ReferenceError: event is not defined).

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:35am

Amazing concept, it's really, really innovative and inspiring ! The minimalist artstyle reminds me Terry Cavanagh and that's a huge plus for me. The gameplay is really nice and the mood is good thanks to the music ! Take a nice score, sir :)

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Yeah, the jump button isn't working for me, either. Additionally, I fell through the floor and died during the tutorial bit.

No idea what the cause could be.

Marjie62 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Very nice concept and fun to play! I don't see the connection with the "monster" theme though ...

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:19am

Like the concept. You need to work on the feedback loop to reinforce the mechanics for the player. I died in the tutorial once and then the tutorial didn't show up again, I was sent to the game directly every time. I couldn't find the perspective switch 'Bar' that the tutorial showed me again in the game.
You should remove the 'Theme' rating parameter from your Rating entry. Since you are aware and have declared the game is not made to fit the theme, it will only help you improve the ratings for this interesting little game.

Shaw says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:44am

Fantastic concept, lots of fun, graphics are clean and fit well. Nice work.

n8b says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Can't jump!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:49am

Really interesting way to go about this perspective change -- like mechanically it's quite interesting.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:51am

Loved the mechanic. And great job explaining such a complicated mechanic without making me leave the game. (also bonus points for not having the user watch the tutorial each time they died) It kept my attention way longer than I expected. I loved playing this one. Great job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice concept!

Ulydev says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Great idea!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:19am

Really cool idea! unfortunately its a bit buggy on safari. sometimes i glitch through the ground and die.

block97 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Cool game it was hard to transition some times between different perspectives. Really liked the music

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:47pm

I finally got the game working (unlike what appeared on the stream)! Just had to use Chrome instead of Firefox.

I had a tough time figure out that I had to jump off the platform when switching from top-down to side-scroller. As of right now, it looks like the level is generated regardless of where your meter of switching perspectives is at, frequently leading to unfair level designs. Additionally, I'm not a fan of the fact that in side-scrolling moments, hitting the side of a platform is an instant game over, despite there being a ground to land on below the wall. And the jump heights are not controllable in either mode, so I bumped into a lot of gaps that forced me to trip. It's pretty rough on the edges, to be honest.

I hope you work on it, though, because it's a neat idea. Just needs implementation tweaks.

Tselmek says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really nice concept and nice music. It looks like the levels are randomly generated, I wish the whole thing was designed to give us some mini panic attacks and intensify the needs of keeping an eye on the bar. In the same idea, some obstacles, spikes or something of the likes would have been nice and spicy. Great game nonetheless that I'm eager to see further development of.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Really neat concept. I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/s8htp2RZS7I

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]