Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Minion Factorium

by DaanVanYperen - Compo Entry

The world needs minions, and fast! Luckily there are plenty of cuddly animals around to get started... If only your factory construction wasn't rushed!

A short little puzzle game. Drag and rotate the pieces of conveyor belt to finish the assembly line on each level.

Controls: Click to rotate, drag to move tiles.

Components: LibGDX, artemis-odb, artemis-odb-contrib, libgdx-odb-quickstart!

Edit 1: Fixed support for other browsers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#182Audio3.35
#223Humor3.27
#299Graphics3.41
#354Overall3.25
#448Fun3.05
#485Innovation2.96
#570Mood2.83
#797Theme2.73

Comments

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:01am

Fun little game

FlashMonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:05am

I like the graphic style and the game concept but it was a bit too fast for me

Split82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:05am

Crazy sounds and nice use of theme. I played through few levels but wasn't completely sure what was the goal. A little bit more instructions could help. Good job anyway.

NexusBreaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06am

its a cool game principe but a little bit difficult ^^

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:15am

I love these kinds of games, you won with good level design.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:34am

There is a good idea behind this I think, but the result is just a bit too short on some aspects...
More explanation would have been great (first time I thought I had to kill all of them, since the theme was You are the Monster, so I killed them all, and then... nothing happened, not a "you lost" or what); on second level I didn't really know what I had to do with those 2 kind of animals, so I just went for the chickens, which seemed like the right thing to do.
So the game could be really nice with a little more polish/UI and a more progressive difficulty ramp.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:42am

Difficulty ramps up a bit too much perhaps. Fun nonetheless.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45am

Haha a really neat little game.
Great graphics and a very good core mechanic.
It's pretty hectic at start but that's where some of the interesting stuff is.

It looks like every level has just the right amoung of blocks to complete it.
I think some of them could be completed with less.
Maybe in the future you could have blocks in your inventory, and based on how many you have deployed in the end you get stars. (Current stars should just be a X amount of correct monsters in the right exit)

Very fun, I think you might be able to make a little mobile game out of this with more challenging levels <3

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:55am

good fun, very challenging

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:00am

Interesting concept. Just need some explanation to help understand the gameplay. Nice graphics

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:11am

wow, great puzzle game
so polish games here on ludum dare and you one of them!
But level is starting instanly, so some minions is being to killed ;[
good job! got nice game emotions! ;)

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20am

A bit to difficult.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:35am

Nice mouth sounds! Gets difficult fast. Several tries to get past level 3, gave up on level 4 with no idea what was going on.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

Nice concept.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Nice little puzzle game but was hard and i didn't know until i read the description xD Nice graphics though.

dmcfarline says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Nice graphics and fun sound effects, but a bit too confusing, tried level 3 a few times but couldn't figure it out

Arnage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Are 5 star ratings even possible on all levels? It seems impossible to respond fast enough sometimes.

Other than that I agree with most of the others here, nice concept, but initially a little too hard and confusing.

John Drury says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Cute graphics and hillarious sound effects :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice and fun

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58pm

maybe give a little time to read the level before sending the minions, other than that, fun

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

The game seems good, but the goal is very unclear.

Instructions should really be added in the description as soon as possible.

I abstained from voting in all of the categories related to gameplay.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Bit too hard, but nice idea. Good graphics & sound

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Awesome!!! Love puzzles!

wicht says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Awesome sound effects. Mechanics are nice and length is really perfect: Just as i thought: "Ok, enough know" it ended. Pretty good entry!

Robert says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Simple but cool game. Amazing FX ;3

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Cool game with nice sound and quite polished - I couldn't figure out how to get past 3th level, I got all the stars but the level didn't end?

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Good game concept and nice art.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Fun game! Agree with others that was a bit too fast, but other than that well executed!

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Very nice little puzzler!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47am

Neat liitle puzzle game. Graphic style is very eye appealing.

andyman404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

Hahaha! I loved the sound effects and sound effects.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:32am

I'd echo what some others said about not really understanding what I was doing to start. Each level required some trial and error to get, which isn't a problem. What made it a little frustrating was that it wasn't clear what each machine did. Maybe a quick splash screen introducing each device would make the game more accessible. Overall, it was really fun.

I also loved the sound. It must have been fun to make.

Suese says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:54am

Fun. There isn't enough lead time to analyse the puzzles before they start going which is a bit of a flaw.

ZXeno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:13pm

I really enjoyed this. The difficulty scaled a bit quickly, and could use some more instruction. Overall, this was really good. :)

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Nice puzzle game. Good graphics and sounds. Congratulations!

sydream says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Nice game, even though would have been nice to know what to do in each level. Who to save? Who to spare? Enjoyed it anyway

SamH says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Very nicely done, cute graphics, addictive, but too damn difficult and unforgiving! I’d love a “go back 10 seconds before” button rather than “start all over again”. Also, is it possible to rotate counterclockwise on the Web version?

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:22pm

lovely little puzzler. Graphics are nice and the sounds aren´t to badeither. I didn´t really find the theme `you are the monster` in here, although, yes, you are making minions.

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Cute game. I've played a lot of Manufactoria, so I can see the influence here. The pixel art and animation looks great, and the mouth sounds are pretty good. The music does get a bit repetitive. Good work, overall.

I think the levels could use a little more conveyor time at the beginning before the minions start falling off the belt and dying. I had a hard time just dragging and rotating the pieces fast enough to save them, especially in later levels.

I finished level 5 with four stars, but nothing happened. Not sure if that's the end or a bug. Played on the submission page in Firefox.

-mildmojo

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice compo! I loled when heard the sound effect

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Took me a few tries to figure out what to do, but then it hit me and I was off. It wasn't very clear to me when I needed to push the restart button. I kept waiting for more animals to show up. Perhaps once all the animals are gone there should be a loss screen or something. Also a pause button would be helpful to sort everything out at the beginning of a level as it sometimes starts too quickly for me. Great little puzzle game and I would like to see more levels.

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:39am

Gross in a cute way, and heaps of fun. The sounds are great!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:57am

At the start it was difficult to understand the mechanic of the game. Overall, really interesting game! Keep up the good work!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:42am

Music and graphics are really good!

bombjack says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:42am

nice idea.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:26am

Very clever puzzle mechanics, took it bit to figure out how to play properly, but very fun once I knew what I was doing. Good artwork and fitting sound effects, great work overall and excellent compo entry!

OadT says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:09am

Cool concept. Took some time to understand it completely, but makes fun. Maybe the animals should spawn a bit delayed, but apart from that great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]