Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

There are Tourists in my Castle

by Solifuge - Jam Entry

A Vampire Sandbox Adventure, for Ludum Dare 33:

Somehow, your castle became a tourist trap while you slept. This is a problem. What's worse, your bat friend has been scared away, and you've got to rescue him! What's a Vampire to do? You could avoid the sun and keep a low profile until you find your friend, but that might be hard. You could try to scare them off, or even make them into a quick snack, but that could make things even more hectic. Or you could just go find some dark corner of the castle to nap in until this blows over... I'm not your boss.

CONTROLS:
- Move: Arrows, WASD
- Jump: Space
- Descend: Down + Jump
- Interact: Enter/Up/C/Y/Z
- Guard/Hide: Down
- Feed: V/X/F
** Gameplay Demo: http://bit.ly/LD33HowToPlayTourists

TIPS:
- Find your bat friend somewhere in the castle to win!
- To fall through some platforms, crouch and press jump.
- You're a Vampire, so stay out of bright light unless you want to be dust.
- You can turn into a bat to jump in mid-air, but this will startle others.
- Scaring or hurting other characters will cause panic to escalate, bringing in new and more dangerous NPCs. But it is fun.
- Feed on other characters to recover lost health, and make a new friend!
- You can change some background objects by pressing Interact near them (try this on curtained windows).
- If you're in danger, you can hide in closets by crouching in front of them.

CREDITS:
Marius (MagmaMcFry): Game Design, Programming
Day (Solifuge): Level Design, Art, Audio - https://twitter.com/Dahold

Special Thanks to Janelle Monae's Hair, for help with character design.

===============================================

WHAT TOOLS WE USED:
- Graphics: GraphicsGale, Tiled
- Audio: Bosca Ceoil, Audacity, BFXR
- Code: LWJGL, Eclipse

SPECIAL FEATURES:
- The characters in this game are driven by light AI. Together, they form an ecosystem of unique behaviors and interactions. If you like, try quietly watching different characters interact sometime!
- The game contains a simple level editor (currently enabled by hitting Quit). This and Tiled are what we used to make the levels.

EDITOR CONTROLS:
- Left Click: Place a Walkable Path for all characters (Yellow).
- Ctrl + Left Click: Place a Walkable Path for the player only (Green).
- Shift + Left Click: Place a Vertical Limit/Ceiling (Cyan).
- 1-8: Place object type. Hold Shift to mirror object.
- Tab: Test Game
- Enter: Save Edited Level. *WARNING* Overwrites Local Level Data. Proceed at own risk!
** NOTE: If you overwrite your local game data with a broken level, you may need to delete the old files and download them again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#39Fun(Jam)3.98
#40Audio(Jam)4.08
#43Overall(Jam)4.05
#52Theme(Jam)4.17
#70Humor(Jam)3.92
#77Graphics(Jam)4.39
#88Mood(Jam)3.89
#129Innovation(Jam)3.63

Comments

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

This is awesome, i love the concept. Had to go back and replay it after reading the description because i couldn't tell if there was a goal, though. Didn't feel to me that exposing myself as a vampire had much effect on the world, either.
I would love to see this broken down into several smaller levels, you have a lot of neat mechanics here that could be explored further. Impressive level of polish, too. Great work!

plusultra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:38am

Extremely cool and cute! i would love to see a more complicated version of this!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

I love it <3 Very cute little concept. Sprites and animations were adorable. Amassing an army of vampires was loads of fun. Fantastic work!

gillenew says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:32am

Very nice game, I felt a little weak against those damn windows :D

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:36am

So cute! I agree about that it would be cool if it were broken down into smaller levels of sorts.

Waynetron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:47am

The links seem to be broken at the moment.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:15am

Dropbox's servers seem to be having some issues today. It might even be Ludum Dare related, being the first evening after, when everyone's downloading and playing games en masse. I'm setting up an itch.io link as an alternative, in case it doesn't clear up.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:33am

I couldn't really figure out what to do. :( It was cute, though!

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:57am

Very interesting interactive game. Multiple endings or titles for different types of runs would be cool.

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:05am

Great game with a very nice concept!
The art is very nice and the music is catching :D

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:27am

First time I played I tried to turn everyone into vampires but then I speedran it, it was quite easy :) But fun game, I think it has a future if you make series of levels.

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:02am

This is incredibly fun! I like the integration of the theme too.
It took quite a while until it got dangerous to walk around, even scaring and feeding on everyone.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:19pm

This is great. It's a complete game, and it's cute, and it's funny, and it's fun to play. I could definitely see this being expanded into a more complete game. This is a perfect Ludum Dare entry.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:17am

Awesome graphics and certainly really fun. The attention to detail in this entry is astonishing.
Quite polished overall, although the game (Java build) crashed on me suddenly while I was playing :/
I also agree that it would benefit a lot from smaller levels with clear goals, if possible.

It's still a quality entry which is REALLY fun to play. I'd probably come back later to have my revenge on those pesky tourists!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:36am

Wow, this is really great! Probably my favorite game so far! The art and sounds are both great, and I love all the little details in the game. The NPCs seem pretty complex and interesting, which I found awesome. (though I wish my vampire minions wouldn't walk straight into the sun XD). Just a great game overall, though I did feel like a bigger reaction would be appropriate when others saw me feed. :) Very nice!

purenickery says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:03am

Pretty awesome game! I loved the animations and music. It took me a while to figure out you could walk on the rafters and accidentally walked into the light way too many times but that's on me. Overall it was fantastic

kidando says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:46am

I really enjoyed this one. I couldn't get passed the big window though :(. But this was fun. Great work. I loved the graphics especially. Congrats on submitting your entry

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Exelent game, loved your game so much!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Awesome entry, had a blast. Frustrating when you get too comfortable and forget about windows... :P

yuigoto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Great concept and use of theme! Nice work with the graphics and soundtrack too, SFX also nicely blend, I think. :)

The controls are easy to get and the overall gameplay feels really nice. Though I feel the game is a bit too open.

Some challenges and puzzles, together with this mechanic you build, would bring something really nice, I think, but it's already fun the way it is. :3

Congrats! :D

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Except that controls are weird and difficult, really cool game. Close without reason twice... but I re-open it quick!
Nice graphics music and physics!

Simonaiso says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:58am

Great game! Absolutly love the artwork and music. Did not understand my goal in the game outright, but loved feeding on those innocent tourists.

pavel_insight says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Funny and cute game with high dynamics and a lot of possible interactions.

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Cute, beautifull and nice concept ! Thanks a lot !

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:30pm

I loved it! It had so much charm, especially with how bouncy everyone's running animations were. They fit well with the already great music. The mechanics were simple, but felt engaging and the story and humour was nice. Overall, one of the best this LD!

Zccc says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I found the bat :D it was kinda hard to know what was light or not, I died a couple times forgetting that I shouldn't walk in front of windows.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]