Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Rush

by miro662 - Compo Entry

You are the monster - alien general which is commanding invasion on Earth.
The game is simple 2-dimenisional RTS with platformer physics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#287Mood3.25
#292Innovation3.28
#367Fun3.16
#506Overall3.08
#566Theme3.24
#600Audio2.33
#617Graphics2.80
#668Humor2.25
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:39am

Great Game there! Fun an awesome well done :)

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:01am

great idea, I liked it :D
well done

sapermysz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:12am

Nice game!

note: this is not warcraft in space!

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:15am

the mechanic is interesting.
but it's hard to play, because i can't see where my guys are going to. it's frustrating me
also the game needs a balance

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16am

I guess it's just not for me? I couldn't kill more than a couple of humans before I ran out of DNA and had to watch them slowly destroy my base. Graphics are good though.

miro662 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:19am

@Slashee the Cow: you can get DNA from killing humans and infesting human bases with infestors (last unit in menu)

LewisChaplin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22am

Great Game!!!

Aelius says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:29am

It definitly needs to scroll faster(or the addition of a trampoline or something), if the player needs to make every unit jump over an early control point and do something on the front. The y-dimension is a great addition to those types of games though.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:11pm

There are loads of good things about this game however I found it too hard to make money even by killing humans/taking over their buildings. Other than that I really enjoyed playing the game and played it far longer than I needed to.

Mantlair says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Invasion succeeded! Nice game. I loved the idea of they are backdooring your base while you destroy theirs. But i think that Infestor should not block your troops. Besides that game is totally good!

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Fun game! Clean graphics, decent sound. I love the idea of commanding monsters to jump over other monsters/enemies. Nice job overall!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Found it hard to play, but nice idea

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Damn, it's like simplyfied 2D MOBA, love it!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:38am

Great idea, needs a little bit of polish. But it's good! Great job!

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Simplified MOBA is really interesting idea, however I'm not sure about the monsters use - theres no guidance. It's pretty difficult and no learning curve.

I had fun on the choice of the characters but I don't know how one differentiates with one another.

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:28pm

I love the graphics, and the concept! One problem I ran into is I don't know how to scroll, so most of the action was happening off-screen!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I see what you mean about balance. The core mechanics are at a very good starting place, but the balance was off, something I struggle with too :(

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:48am

classic gameplay. the sound is a little annoying. funny choice of colors :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]