Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Shippening

by Lizzip - Jam Entry

The Shippening!

You are a dirty airship pirate chasing the rare Red Dragoon.
Chase down the dragon, align the ship and shoot him with the cannons.

--- Player Controls ---
WASD/Arrows -- Movement
Left mouse click -- Use cannon/ship wheel

--- Ship Controls ---
A,D/Left,Right -- Turn the ship
W/Up -- Gain more speed
Left click -- Stop using the wheel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#238Innovation(Jam)3.40
#529Audio(Jam)2.78
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#684Graphics(Jam)3.04
#795Humor(Jam)2.25
#799Fun(Jam)2.68
#898Overall(Jam)2.76
#1034Theme(Jam)2.40
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:36am

It felt great taking control of the airship. I found it really difficult to line it up to shoot the dragon though. :P Love the dragon btw

tc4mpbell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Hey, that was fun. Felt appropriately heavy to turn the ship, but maybe too appropriate? ;) Cool theme and game, though.

Halfbus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Nice, but will be better if more polished

MFEP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I think this would be better as a multiplayer game. Changing between stations is rather frustrating. It's difficult to aim, an FPS-like shooting mechanic would be more useful in my opinion. Liked the visual style, nice use of post-processing.

ovenchips says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I was promised dragons, there were no...
Oh wait. There was a dragon.
So this is really cool - well done. But wait, I'm the pirate. Shouldn't I be the monster? My strategy was to flick between one cannon and the wheel rapidly. I couldn't see a way to use multiple cannons and still win. Anyhoo, loved it!

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Rather difficult to aim, but a lot of fun being the air pirate. Good stuff.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:33am

I liked the sound of the cannon, visual style was cool. Felt like a monster killing that dragon. Fun that a lot of people are doing dragon games we did too.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:19pm

The game is fun and maybe a bit slow, but it has his depth. I like the dragon model and the ship. I think that this game is an original concept well done. The theme.. is another story :-D

adsilcott says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:19pm

It was really run to take control of the airship. Good job.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:23pm

This would definitely be more fun as a multiplayer game (coop), but not bad.

CrefossusJam says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:55am

I liked the contrast in sfx for the ship cannon explosion vs the dragon fireball. The lighting in the airship and fire fx were great. That also helped the mood.

I popped out of the ship twice while trying to win legitimately, but ended up editing a script to do win in two hits :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]