Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

MOTHERTONGUE

by dmcfarline - Compo Entry

Mother can fly through the sky

Mother has a long sticky tongue

Mother is good to her children

Mother likes to eat crunchy humans

Mother hates spicy food

MOTHERTONGUE


Made for Ludum Dare 33 compo

Font by @Somepx

Uses sounds made using sfxr by DrPetter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#31Innovation4.03
#45Fun3.92
#51Overall3.89
#95Theme4.00
#166Mood3.50
#190Humor3.36
#439Graphics3.14

Comments

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:59am

Great stuff!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:03am

Solid game, kind of creepy!

hexabeast says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Graphics aren't amazing but the gameplay is really original and fun :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Very good gameplay

Boehrsi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Nice one!

ronsap123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Really good

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Awesome! loved the change up with feeding the children great job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Nice!

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Creepy but wonderful game!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:53am

Creepy graphics, gameplay is really fun! Amazing work for 48 hours. Congratulations

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice game fun to play. Good job!

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26am

Great game. The only thing that I would suggest is making the "containers" lighter so that we can see them more clearly, I kept trying to understand why my tongue gets stuck top right on level 5. Mmmm guacamole human babies ... Glad all the monster babies got to have a happy life :P

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19pm

This is a very good idea, it's probably the most original idea I've seen so far. The physics in this game just make it that more enjoyable. The only bug I've found so far is that sometimes I start the level off with the tongue thing stuck to the environment statically. I do wish the mom would collide through the wall though. Possibly if the humans were to run around it would make this game better.

Level 6 and 10 are very stressful. There seems to be a new mechanic in every other level, unfortunately in cases like level 8 they aren't taking advantage of very well. The tongue mechanic seems to run pretty OK but that it's so stretchy makes it very likely that you'll end up eating the babies when a stretched out tongue becomes unstretched.

The graphics are a bit lacking but they do not bother me at all, Specifically I like the head tilting when the mom is just sitting there or when moving. The text effects are very nice as well.

A very original and fun game that fits to the theme perfectly. Albeit the mechanics needs some tweaking to be less stressful.

celisoft says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:23am

Original & funny game !

Silverfyre says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:31am

Creepy indeed, very nice game nonetheless.

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:45am

This was great fun! Definitely my favourite entry so far. Flinging around humans with your tongue never gets old...
Sounds got a bit annoying after a while and the Game Maker standard particle effects were somewhat out of place imo, but apart from that I very much enjoyed it. Good job!

Eleneas says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:48am

Great Game, nice mechanics.
But all the levels are pretty easy ... the only challenging one is that one where you have to feed 3 of your babies with normal humans but where you have to throw them to reach the babies ... especially the middle one was really hard to get working :D
But overall really nice ... i´d appreciate it if it was at least slightly harder but the ideas and references to mexican food are funny :D

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:53am

Great gameplay! Art falls short of our expectations, but it's very funny and creepy, so it compensates xD
Good job.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:23am

You know this game is good when every time you die, you say to yourself just...one...more...try...

Unique idea, found it surprisingly challenging (in a fun way). Well done! :)

reiknight says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:05pm

One of my favourite entries until now

Zeffi says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:44am

Great game! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:18pm

This was surprisingly ingenious and skill-intensive! My only complaint is that the sfx are really grating in the high-end frequencies; I know they're made using sfxr, but still! Other than that this was quite entertaining, bwahaha...

DalaiLlama says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:29am

MY GOD! That creeped the fuck out of me. Loved it!
Well-executed concept, good level progression. Keep it up!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Cool game!

OadT says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:29am

Great entry! The mechanics work great together and your leveldesign is cool. It gets quite difficult in later levels, but makes fun

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]