Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Elemental Monster

by Zampi - Jam Entry

The protagonist of the game — it's a bundle of pure energy. The feeling of loneliness caused him to go to the human world. But he waited for a cold greeting, the destructive force of his presence was burned down villages. People were up in arms against an unknown power and willing to do anything to win.

Use WASD keys for change aspect of yourself and protect from enemies attacks.


Team

Code & Gameplay
Aler Denisov

Music
CustomPhase

Modeling
hi4C0CK
GreaG
OttoMoto
SiinceRe
asert1994
ktlle
mrpoox
Gandyrac
Sashchopko
OleksSit
AlerDenisov

Ideas
Shirlim
Jare
MrFallen92
GooV
Sacrd

PainInMyAss
Grib04eg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Graphics(Jam)4.40
#344Mood(Jam)3.36
#346Audio(Jam)3.21
#361Innovation(Jam)3.23
#413Overall(Jam)3.35
#544Fun(Jam)3.03
#675Humor(Jam)2.53
#853Theme(Jam)2.98
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52am

Nice idea.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:01am

it doesn't work here.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04am

Great idea for a game, graphics are nice, had a bit of trouble with the embedded web version.

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:07am

Web version won't start...

jeapple says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:39am

Nice!
But internet explorer stuck at blackscreen,
just see the yellow elemental menu ring,
nothing can click, nothing can press,
forever------so we just back here...

Comments just becomes
tester review.

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:06am

Plz check de windows version link, it's a 404 error, and the web version not working either

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Your game has some graphical issues.... the web version loaded and then glitched out. http://imgur.com/Pc4yFJ0

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Having a bit of a trouble loading, but it's pleasing at the eye.

Dell says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Web worked fine here(didn't try the embedded version). Nice polished graphics, took me a few goes to figure out what I was doing but good job :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Cool idea, incredible realization but guys... I've restarded 10 times the games, read the description, can't figure the RULES :D I don't understand what elements is strong against what. Please help me with a short tuto. Or at least, don't make people shooting at me, killing me 2 seconds after I spawned, so might I have the time to figure out what the hell is going on ^^

terop says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Seems to work nicely, and graphics looks amazing. The main problem is that it's unclear what the controls are actually doing/which mode is best for each situation.

eLLectron says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I loved the graphics :D
Great entry

Matzigon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Controls would have been easier if the UI is not rotating.
The visuals are pleasing but sometimes glitching, chunks disappearing from the left.
Good job otherwise! :)

loesch94 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Was confusing to start, but once I got what was going on it was fun and I could see this game becoming addictive. Perhaps the spinning dial did not help initial confusion :p

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:15pm

the controls are a bit hard to get a long such as the mechanic. But i liked it a lot.
The mood and the colors looks amazing!

monetai says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Graphics are goods but the game is difficult and there are lot's of glitches.

monetai says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:31pm

... however the music is extra and really contribute to the cool ambiance.

Warxen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Good visuals, but I find the spinning mechanic quite counter intuitive. When I press up, I expect to get the element I see above, same for right and left and so forth. It would have been easier if the spinning was limited to A and D, also with a pointer or highlight to indicate what element you currently are (and something to indicate enemy element), because it is very hard to get familiar with a whole game in 5 seconds, in which i had to die 4-5 times before I understood the mechanic. Sorry if I sound hard on you guys, hope you can do something positive with it, keep it up!

ohsqueezy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I think the way the controls work is counter intuitive, and it really made them game frustrating to play for me. Element selector dial makes me think you can push A or D to rotate right or left but that is not the case. You should make the dial stay stationary and have a visible indicator move over the dial to show which element you have selected. -Otis

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Simply amazing. Especially loved the soundtrack!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Excellent graphics and audio, overall presentation was fantastic! Would like it to be a bit more difficult :D

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The graphics are awesome, and the game is really fun to play.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:22pm

5,650 score :P
Fantastic entry, love the graphics and the music.
Good job!

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Great art style! For some reason I felt a bit of a motion sickness when my score was around 3.000. But other than that I liked it!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:31pm

You know the game is going the right way when all characters jump with the music :D Awesome graphics, awesome song!

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Very nice visuals, and great art style. Exploding animals are always nice...
Gameplay is solid, but the rotating elemental signs made it really hard to keep track of my lives.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Pretty, but confusing, and ultimately too simplistic for my liking.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Quite a fun idea, although it gets hard to focus as the stage gets faster. I think the game would look a bit nicer if you increased the draw distance a little - the blue fog is a little annoying. Apart from that, enjoyable entry, well done!

Shackhal says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:08am

The game looks great. Very simple and easy to understand.

But, there is a problem with the HUD. I expected to rotate the "element circle" with the WASD, but not to press the correct button. I get that in the second try. But anyway, the HUD must be changed to support that idea.

Overall, the game passes.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Great graphics! Pretty simple and fun gameplay.
I wish I could see more of what is ahead.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:05am

I liked the graphics style a lot, i would love to play in a game with that genre and the same tone, and I'm not talking about minecraft here :P

The idea is nice, and it runs smoothly even even when it goes really fast! i made around 9330 on my second attempt, liked it! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]