Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sweet Dreams

by hitchh1k3r - Compo Entry

^_^ IT'S NOT SCARY ^_^
Sorry if the title image mislead you...


Sweet Dreams is about the Bogey Man influencing children's happy dreams, and turning them evil. You will need to find a way into their dream, and then create a shadow on the wall that will frighten them into a nightmare.


CONTROLS:
- WASD/Arrows: Move
- Left Click: Interact


HELPFUL TIPS:
- After entering the dream you will have to create a shadow from the things you've collected, try to make a shadow you think looks cool. The controls to move the objects around are a bit tricky (but that is the nature of manipulating objects in 3D space). After you finish your shadow you will get a chance to name it and share it with everyone else who has beaten the game in the Hall of Shadows.


CHALLENGES (if you can't think of anything else to make):
- Make the scariest shadow you can think of.
- Make your favorite video game character.
- Make a self portrait?


NOTES:
- I lost an entire day of timelapse footage so I probably wont do a video :(
- I built a WebGL and WebPlayer version but they crash/reboot'd my computer, :( so there is only download links (for now)


TOOLS:
Unity 5 - Game Engine (C#)
Blender - 3D Art
Inkscape/Photoshop - 2D Art
Otomat/Audacity - Music
BFXR - Pickup Sound Effect


Let's see who can make the best shadows! ^_^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Innovation4.10
#182Graphics3.73
#203Mood3.40
#241Overall3.43
#296Audio3.09
#386Theme3.51
#427Humor2.80
#514Fun2.95

Comments

Chunck26 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16am

Dude!!!!! This is so cool. Ya, it's a very simple idea but the idea.... Oh man. It's such a sweet game. I also really like the graphics. The controls are a bit difficult, but it makes up for it with the sweet idea and graphics. Very nicely done.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:18am

interesting concept with the shadows

keyle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

I couldn't jump. Sad cause I loved the art style. Space bar did nothing. Impressive 3D work & on the dinosaur in the time allowed :)

bradur says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:26pm

This game had awesome atmosphere, and the Hall of Shadows was so cool!
Good models and lighting as well.

Moving the items about was a little hard, but I managed to make a formation that resembled something at least.

Very nice work in such a short timeframe!

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48pm

awesome ideia! some hard controls but an awesome game ideia

Josho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:09pm

very conusing had no idea how to play

awesomerex says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:14am

Cool Concept! I liked the hall of shadows.

Aun says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:23am

Great idea, I loved the graphics. Sometimes it is a bit hard to control (that is the problem with 3d). A tutorial at the beginning would be nice. Maybe a system of ranking at the end could be a good idea (trying to replicate an image for example)

neuroaktivo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:26am

i liked it! nice idea!

corupta says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:08am

Wow, very original idea, fancy graphics and nice music.

Zed says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:52pm

It's SO clever. Maybe a couple of extra instructions would've been nice, as it took me a while at the start to even figure out how to get anywhere, but the idea itself is so original and brilliant.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:51pm

This is the coolest thing! =D
Creating a game based on community shadow puppets sharing and giving it a "plausible" setup, genius!

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:26pm

At first I thought it was a very bad cover picture on this page. Then I played the game and realized this is the BEST game this LD. Very very very well done. Lot's of stars from me. I hope you win :)

Solifuge says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:53am

I have never seen a game like this before; it really is a great creative game, and a clever take on the theme. Also, props to whoever Mario was; that Koopa shadow puppet was excellent!

I really liked the low-poly models, and the simple ambient music chords in the BG were a nice touch; it helped fill the silence when getting my shadows turned around right.

I went back and made another for fun. For a post-compo or expanded version, it might be nice to have a rating system that let people tag or score their favorites, or flag the broken or empty entries; there's a fair number of shadows that seemed to be single objects or all defaults, and it'd be nice if the community of boogyfolks had a way to curate and clean up this Shadow Art Museum we're building together!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:21pm

A really great idea and a great game.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Loved the idea, I couldn't get into the dream though. The modeling was well-done and the movement/interaction controls worked well. I just couldn't interact/jump into the dream, so I missed what sounds like the best part.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Wou! Very original game, de controls are not very comfortable but the idea is cool for creative people.

mahalis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:03am

Really cool idea! I couldn't come up with much, but I was impressed with what I saw in the gallery, even more so since those were user-created. It'd be interesting if there were a challenge mode where you had to figure out how to fill out a given silhouette.

Anvil0008 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:19am

This is super fun to mess with. It took me a while to figure out how to get in the dream, but once I looked around it made sense. And seeing other peoples' stuff at the end was sweet. Great job!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:49am

Very cool. You're right, the manipulation controls while in the dream are a bit confusing. I just wish it was more of a game, like we had to figure out what the kid was afraid of and then got a rating for how scary the shadow is or something - but I digress. What you've done is awesome for two days' work (and I wish I could do this much in two days).

colinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Gallery at the end was fun

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:42am

Very cool idea! But the "hall" did not work for me. Overall, you did a great job!

Demy says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Nice concept but a little bit a lack of a gameplay.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Fantastic idea with hall of shadows, spooky! Very unique and cool entry!

alienart says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Very nice work.

jwin says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:32am

Very cool idea! I liked the little art gallery at the end!

It was a little hard to figure out what I was doing until I entered the shadow mode, but then I couldn't go grab more toys.

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:31am

Great game! Love the idea.
Personally I love the title art more :)

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Fun game! I love how you can share your shadows, I created the Unity logo. The object requirement isn't really all that helpful, especially if you just want to design something detailed. I restarted the game a couple of times so I didn't have to include the dinosaur in the shadow. I love this concept, 5/5 for innovation. Very well done, I would love to see more of this! Nice job!

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Very very cool concept. :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Good concept !
Maybe one concept of the next Mario paint ;)

Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:10pm

A lovely idea, very original. It's nice to see a creative game come out of the theme. It would benefit from a little more instruction, and the controls are tricky but it is very interesting.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Great entry! Adding a galery at the end is really cool!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:53pm

The metagame is even more interesting than the game! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]