Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

"Real"

by callmemonamiral - Compo Entry

"Real" is a game about reality, existence, and being wrong.

Do you think creatures from other worlds, like ones in video games, exist? What makes you different from them? They have a body, a brain, just like you. And if it tells them they exist, wouldn't it mean it is true?

I really love this subject, and I had a lot of fun making this game. It's far from perfect, especially gameplay-wise, but I managed to make a cinematic for the ending, with an explanation of what I think, so I'm pretty happy with the prototype.

If you don't like the gameplay, please at least take a look at the ending cinematic, it's what makes the game stand out, and it's where the theme and the things I want to talk about are.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#197Mood3.42
#199Graphics3.67
#365Overall3.24
#408Theme3.48
#671Innovation2.67
#700Fun2.68

Comments

Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Feel free to share your point of view on the subject here! I'd love to know what you think of the game, but also what's your opinion on "what is real"!

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:03am

Had to change config in chrome as it won't run the unity web player (but that's ok). The eerie mood is there, however it could have been better with different textures used in the rooms as everything is the same. Didn't manage to figure out the controls, I see the player has a sword but how to use it? There is no HUD information. When I want to exit the pause menu doesn't work (click on buttons and nothing happens, if I try to select them with the arrow keys they are fuzzy). I've seen the end but could not select the answers. So yeah room for improvements, don't know how it match up with the theme though.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:05am

Couple of things I liked about it:

- The 'monsters' had pathfinding, and wouldn't just fall into pits (or rub themselves against walls).
- The bright blue shadow made platforming much easier

The main problem I had was that I couldn't click on the Yes/No dialogue options so I couldn't progress, but it's clear to see where the theme was going to take it.

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:11am

Since in my game theme also kicks in in the end I decided to give it a try. I really like the atmosphere, it combines the feeling of roguelike games with that of titles like Dark Souls. I love how creatures start to behave later in the game. Sadly I couldn't pick any of the option at the end, I tried mouse and keyboard - didn't work. I don't know if that's the problem on my end or not, but I'll try it on different pc later because whole game is appealing.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10am

Thanks for the feedback, I updated the description and will fix the issues soon!

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:41pm

works fine on firefox. looks great. I always dropped to the abyss on the 2nd moving platform. Couldnt figure out how to jump in sync to the other side.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Looks great, the maze section at the end was pretty challenging - good job!

MaesK says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Nice atmosphere and graphics! I just killed one or two and I'm evil! Oh man... Great work with the light, it gets darker and more dangerous every second. I feel Dark Souls had its influence here :P

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Combat felt a little clunky but the rest of it was nice, audio would be nice but eh, its alright without, the graphice were really nice and that ending was deep

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:13pm

While playing, it kind of bothered me that the average light level was so dark that I had to turn my brightness up to max to see anything. Other than that, pretty good.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:44am

Brilliant... The knight was not the monster, it's me, the one controlling it that is the monster. There is no role for me to hide behind...

As to the reality of digital beings, I think the reality of AI game objects are on par with basic multi-cellular organisms. Like basic multi-cellular organisms it belongs on a spectrum going up to worms, ants, reptiles, pigs, dogs and humans.
Morality is a different issue, however. Moral consideration toward something which we cannot have two-way moral interactions with is problematic.
A pig may potentially reciprocate the moral good I do to it. Dogs almost always reciprocate our moral good. Ants lack the capability to understand human moral action, but do have the capacity to understand that of their peers. Worms understand nothing.

But I don't really have a conclusion. "Ought" is well and good, but we will probably choose not to act the way we ought to anyway. Knowing eating pigs is wrong does not necessarily prevent me from eating pigs. Most human actions are immoral simply because how little weight we place on morality when other considerations are absent.
I will usually choose not kill game characters I empathize with for my own psychological well being, but the decision cannot be applied universally.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:08pm

"You are free to leave this game." :D
That dialogue system is awesome. Thank you so much.

The game would be okay if attacking and hitting were more fast and responsive. It was also very hard to hit enemies because of the fact that you have to face them. I speed ran after a while. Good ending and nice graphics though :)

Hegback says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:54am

The gameplay and graphics looks fine, but why is that the player's animation kind of slow and that there is no indicator of score or whatsoever? Is that intentional?

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:17am

The darkness is the real monster! ;P

LittleThor says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:16pm

It's pretty sad you didn't have the time to make some sound like monsters cry, the mood would have been so nice!
The visual feedback under the avatar while he is jumping helps a lot! It's a very good idea.
Good job, as always :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Wow, awesome enrty! the controls are really smooth... the platforming is welcome and the mood of the game is perfect.
The combat feels week comparing to the other system.
As for the ending, I always question the same thing, but not only with videogames, but also with fictional characters, paintings, songs, its a really interesting topic. Great job!!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:52pm

It's a technically very impressive entry, especially for a compo game. It was a bit dark, but the game was playable with some nice platforming sections. Well done!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I played through the game without killing anything and I still got the ending. A part where the player is forced to kill an enemy might help to make the end make more sense, even in circumstances like this. As for the actual subject matter, if an enemy is trying to kill me, and they obviously are, then I'm going to kill the enemies.
As another little side note, the lighting is way too dark. Consider trying out some ambient lighting to make sure that there aren't any places that are too dark to see.

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Lovely game to play. I went through it without killing any of them however got blamed for doing so at the end within the speach. I noticed a little taring but nothing too serious.

Louspirit says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Nice efforts ! I assume that the darkness is part of the game, but personally I barely see nothing even with brightness at max. Good cinematic anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]