Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Arachnoid

by nicotuason - Compo Entry

You are the Arachnoid. No facility can hold you. Soon the people up above will know your terror.

CONTROLS:
1. WASD / Arrows to move
2. Hold Left-mouse to aim and release to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#47Overall3.90
#72Fun3.79
#107Mood3.63
#123Innovation3.62
#146Audio3.44
#160Theme3.88
#177Graphics3.74
#593Humor2.41

Comments

petitpois says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00am

Like the concept and core gameplay. Great game!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:10am

Not bad, the spider got stuck some times and there were some roofs that you could not cling to but otherwise a cool game

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:47am

WoW!! The Greatest entry
Sweet graphics, mood (by music) and gameplay.
Really enjoyed to this game, i love the spiders!

ps. I AM FREE! :P

Hurlenuit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:49am

I like this game. I feel like movements could be better but I really enjoy playing it.
The difficulty level is good and some "level" are a bit tricky, it's fun.

Good job !

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:30am

Nailed it :)

Great, simplistic set of mechanics that's intuitive and is fun. The sounds are great, the game plays well. Things all react as expected, which is a great thing.

The only gripe I really would have is that moving around corners is almost impossible when it should be easy, but that's a physics engine thing.

Great stuff! :)

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

The core gameplay is really well implemented. You just need to iron out some small movement bugs. Well done.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:36am

The controls were a little difficult, but anyway good looking game...

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:37am

Very cool and innovative game!
Keep it up!

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice job! Really satisfying to pounce on someone! Good mechanics. Sweet!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:56am

This was really nice! Very good level design. The movement was a bit glitchy in places, but impressive overall. The vertical room near the end was a pain in the bum, but I finished just before I started to feel frustrated.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52am

Just awesome. The collision on the walls was a bit awkward at times, but the mechanics were solid, the music made a great atmosphere, and the pacing was awesome.

DarthThomas says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11pm

I see only black screen. :(

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:19pm

I liked playing it :) The core gameplay was very well done.

Good Job !

orange08 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21pm

This is so, so good. I really enjoyed all the mechanics... kinda reminds me of gunpoint the way the player jumps on enemies using the mouse to aim the jump and kill them... quite fun & entertaining. A very nice stealth game. Best game I've played from the compo yet.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Interesting concept!

bumbu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:56am

Really neat game! The sound effects are awesome and the kills are very, very satisfying. The checkpoints aren't frustrating and the challenge is there. Lots of fun. I found myself playing it for much more time than I planned to :)

LET THE PEOPLE UP ABOVE KNOW MY TERROR!

tMalicet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Great gameplay! It's incredibly easy to control the spider as you quickly dash around. Technically, it must have been a pain but bravo!

Jimjam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:05am

Oh wow, I made something uncannily similar to this for the last LD, but your implementation is about a million times better! :D
This was a lot of fun to play, the level design flowed nicely and I got a great feeling of power from controlling the monster (especially dropping down on guards from above). My only gripe about controls, was that the mouse seemed to be unlocked and dragging to jump would sometimes take it out of the window. This is something I bring up because had an unlocked mouse in my own web build and it made controlling very difficult.
It might've also been cool to be able to take out an armed guard by just touching them, especially in situations when you land right next to one, but have to jump again to take him out.
Awesome entry overall! Would love to see more of this.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:22am

Guess we made more or less the same game :) Great job on the level design. You got a lot done in 48 hours!

mat1er says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Well, I will not lie, I played this game because it looked like LadyBug which is my favorite of this ludum dare, but I'll try to be fair in my judgement:
the game, level design, and everything is great excepted the gameplay. It's a good gameplay, but it's somehow hard to control and not really... "smooth"? Let's say not really precise, which sadly make the game a little more frustrating than it should be. When you die, you don't blame on random or on yourself, you blame the game play, which makes the game hardly as fun as it could be. Great job, thought!

Thorig says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:52am

This play great. Really like the controls and look of the game.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:13am

The difficulty was high for me but that checkpoint system made the difference. The room layouts were varied and creative which allowed for lots of different challenges. You really captured the feel of being a spider. The movement system makes the game unique. As Braveheart would say, "FREEDOM!"

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:28am

Truly awesome. You got some very difficult controls working very well. Amazing level of polish. Definitely one of the best games.

liquidmedia says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:25am

Nice game, sometimes it seems to get stuck not sure why.

andreymust19 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:16am

Glitch controls, but it's been fun.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:24pm

The title seems sort of like a spinoff of "Arkanoid" the old brick breaker game. I liked the jumping mechanic although it was kind of hard to get around at times.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:55am

solid entry. This game is one of the most fun I played in this LD.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]