Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Constrained

by oyster_crusher - Compo Entry

A little arcade game. Mouse to point + arrow keys to move. Enjoy!

I admit, the theme got obscured along the way. The grand concept at the start of the weekend was for the player to somehow control the actions of both themselves and the monsters. This got stripped back further and further until all that was left is an arcade game where your ship continually fires bullets that bounce around the map until they hit something.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Innovation3.45
#199Fun3.43
#322Overall3.29
#405Graphics3.20
#455Mood3.00
#583Audio2.40
#945Theme1.61
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

Reminds me of space invaders somehow in a good way :) easy as first but keeps challenging the further you go. Addictive! Love it!

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:42am

Elegant concept and stays fun surprisingly well! Could well imagine a bunch of levels with this mechanic so keep working on it. Shame the concept got scaled back but glad that the end result is fun. Could really do with some kickass retro music.

rotpar says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Really fun and addicting! It's an interesting take on asteroids and it had me hooked for a while. Although it doesn't fit the theme that well, I'm giving it a high rating!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:31am

Well it got some challenge and I enjoyed trying to stay as long as i could dodging enemies + bullets, it is not easy. It become a mess relatively quickly. I think it is nice and kinda cool for passing time.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:34am

A nice little game that reminded me of the old star castle arcade game. I found that this game didn't require much skill until I figured out that you can move around... after I had closed the game. I'll give you an extra star overall as that was my mistake :P overall, an addictive little game! well done! :)

mokujin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:46am

Good idea with bullets that can come back and kill you. But better would be have control over firing them.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:49am

Oh, your own bullets can kill you, that explains a lot! Definitely doesn't fit in with the theme, but it's good for what it is!

nwdg says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:51am

Pretty neat! Like the autoshoot thing, you gotta focus! Well done!

jofra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:14pm

53.8 highscore! and i was realy trying!! X) Not sure if it fits the theme but an awesome game! 5* for inovation, very cool and simple gameplay.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Well, not much to do with the theme but the game is very cool. The shape of the field is a bit strange though, why not a regular hexagon? Very fun game.

arzi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:56pm

The mechanics work well and the game is actually quite fun. The minimalist art style works well with the gameplay, although it is a bit light on the theme.

Demy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I like the clean interface, but the game is a little bit too hard.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I really liked this! Reminds me of all those old-school shooting games.

Actually, I think you did a pretty neat take on the theme. Because the bullets you shoot end up killing you, you can say that you really are the monster! =)

Miltage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Interesting choice to make the bullets kill the player. Couldn't figure out why I was dying.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Rad game and well executed, unique idea, really good job!

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:02am

A survival asteroids style of game? :P I can't see much of the theme here, but I can see a nice and fun retro arcade game! :3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]