Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Eater

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

A lost soul missing parts yearns for freedom from the tyranny of the Gods.

WSAD/Arrows = Move
jump/doublejump/glide = space
left/right click = attack/dash
,/. = attack/dash
Escape = respawn (if something breaks)

--------
HTML5 build takes a while to load, unity crashed on me leading up to submission when exporting with high optimization :( will try again soon.
--------

CREDITS:

Programming - Aaron Baumbach
Art - Greg Lee

"Dub Eastern"
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

--------
Updates:
25/08/2015 - Fixed dash and falling through floor bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#209Graphics(Jam)4.04
#251Fun(Jam)3.45
#274Humor(Jam)3.29
#302Overall(Jam)3.49
#370Audio(Jam)3.15
#396Mood(Jam)3.31
#558Theme(Jam)3.41
#785Innovation(Jam)2.68

Comments

Zyrconium says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14am

Dash seems to break double-jump until I respawn.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Thanks for the feedback :) fixed that this morning alongside a collision issue: I forgot to stop the player's ragdoll from colliding with the character controller, making the controller explode on occasion and the player fall through the ground! :P

You may need to clear your browser cache to see changes

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Falling though the ground still happens. There's also a spot near the beginning where you can get stuck in a corner of the caves. When you first jump up/right. Other than that it's a solid entry. A way to heal up would be nice

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Played until bugged out, then lost interest.

Well made, glitchy jump motion was also very neat in the end. The hits that lower the health need to be much more visible. How did the monster acquire arms before the sword?

Almax27 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Ah crap, I'll look into it, seems to happen after a period of time so maybe a accumulation value isn't getting cleared correctly. And it's not very clear to be fair but the sword is held up by a pair of arms.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Really like the games... until I felt under the map :/ Had to relaunch the game to try to get the dash, but felt in the same way near the trees area >.<

Almax27 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Hopefully that's it fixed now, please let me know otherwise :D
I fairly sure it's a bad tangent vector from a cross product. Normalizing cleans it up.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:57pm

This was one of best looking games that I've played so far. I love the visual style, with the flat-shaded polygons and saturated lighting. I also enjoyed the main character's sarcastic humor. Nice!!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Really nice looking. I think thnis mechanics have a lot of potential! A bit buggy, though :/
I loved to leave a skeleton behind whenever i used ESC. Pretty funny detail :-)

StrideWide says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:31pm

You know you have done something right when just moving around is fun. Would have liked more notice when I got damaged.

Toccio says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Nice one =D

Flix says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Boreeeeeeeeed... jk nice game and concept tho :P.

Hectigo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:52am

The game looks and sounds good, but more time should've been spent on gameplay. The controls are glitchy and feel floaty to me when doing anything else than just running on flat ground. The camera should zoom out further and maybe follow the direction of movement more, now it's hard to see what's coming up ahead. Combat is glitchy and fairly uninteresting too, and there doesn't seem to be any reason for collecting the glowing thigs, as nice as they look. I think the basic mechanics of avoiding enemy shots and getting close to hit them with melee have potential, but it needs work.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Such a great entry! Graphics are great, the gameplay is the best I've tried so far: double jumps, glide, dash, attack, dash while gliding... it's very complete, it only requires more levels to become a full game, very good job.

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:25pm

That is one bored monster.

Felt pretty smooth to play and gradually getting more abilities from the powerups was satisfying. Kudos for 2.5! :)

MFEP says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:37pm

+unique visual art
+nice animations
+music
+satisfying controls
-no point of gathering the "coins"
I also didn't really like that the combat mechanic. Killing non-respawning enemies while dying again and again is frustrating. I'd suggest the enemies to respawn and some way to dodge their attacks.
Still one of the best entries played so far :)

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Worked great for me. Lots of fun. I never got the hang of killing enemies without at least dropping one HP. short, but fun game. Nice work.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:44am

The graphics are great! Everything contributes to a really nice, but simple aesthetic. I'm confused by why I'm collecting the little glowing things, but I love their motion.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:34am

Thanks for all the great feedback! The blue collectibles (souls) were intended to be used to unlock each of the powers but we ran out of time to incorporate this. We left them in the game because they were fun to collect :)

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:09pm

fav feature: mashing esc to build skeletal mountain

Xanjos says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:22am

This was a very fun platformer to play. I like how smooth the animations are and I loved the lighting in the darker cave sections.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:10am

The graphics are very neat! The movement (jumping in particular) is strange though.

Simonaiso says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:10am

Nice game! Love the atmosphere and the added story/background. Running and jumping around feels nice and fluent.

JoJoX says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:48pm

One of the best i played so far. Cool upgrades, funny character, level design is good and graphics looks great. Very nice.

Louspirit says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Whao, I really appreciated playing this game. The graphics are beautiful and the controls pleasant. Very good job!

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:52pm

I like how the mood is set and the controls are surprisingly comfortable and refined. I really enjoy playing it, and I like how with simple elements you guys managed to impress quite a good mood.


Also that name is likely to capture many manga and anime fans, eh? Interesting for marketing. The giant enemies also were pretty scary, and the ending ironic and cyclic.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:59pm

The controls are very feel very heavy but at the same time floaty, also i can stand in front of an enemy and slash at them without getting any damage Good job though. Also make the music a 2D sound it'll fix the Doppler effect

eddynardo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Man.This is what i call a good game!Really nice work.Brilliant!!5 stars!

Zeriver says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Whoaw nice game i really like double(triple?) jumping and flying mechanics, it just feels good to move in your game. With some more polishing and new content i think it could be real, fully developed game.

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:23pm

wow, this was really well done! fun to play, music is great! top entry!

Darkflint says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:17pm

GREAT! Best Entry i saw so far!

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:18am

simple but nice platformer. lot of work. good joob.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:13am

Very nice work, the art was good, the commentary was great, the advancement was well planned out, great job!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:04am

Nice looking platformer and the addition of extra moves to collect worked well. Liked the run animation thought it conveyed the fast movement and the orbs chasing you if you ran away from them was a nice touch

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]