Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Who is the Monster?

by smotko - Compo Entry

The zerglings are attacking a mining drill, but who is the real monster?

How to play:
1. Click to move
2. Press (A) to make an attack move
3. Press (Q) to gain a temporary shield
4. Press (W) to make a multishot

You can restart the game by pressing (R).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Graphics3.95
#309Overall3.32
#380Mood3.11
#457Innovation3.00
#500Humor2.63
#522Fun2.94
#663Theme3.06
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

mungoman1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09am

Not too shabby, I liked the multishot and temp shield, both saved saved me a few times. I'm a big fan of the pixely art style too

smotko says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:14pm

@mungoman1 thanks for the kind review. Unfortunately I ran out of time to fix some of the quirks with movement/enemy ai and end conditions :/

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Great graphics!!

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:45am

The animations and the cursor are pretty cool! I would have loved having some audio feedback, and maybe a UI of some sorts. But it works well, didn't notice any bugs! :)

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48am

Nice twist at the end! Temp shield saved my skin plenty times. Wish I had a way of getting back some health by eating the younglings :}

Also, thanks for using WebGL for Unity, means I can play it on Linux :}

goodbadokay says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Funny appearance, but so bored without music. Also control a bit weird.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Fantastic work on the graphics. Simple and sweet game. Would've been great to have some UI and possible more response as to what's happening in terms of a menu.

terop2 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:06pm

nice animations.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Nice idea. some Sounds would have been a good idea. Otherwise solid implementation. Some kind of levels or waves would have been interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]