Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Cataphilla

by Pomb - Jam Entry

A music-driven exploration game.

CONTROLS:

Arrow Keys - Navigation of the Cataphillah

You play a caterpillar on the journey through Peach-galaxy collecting pips and growing to become the longest/fastest/coolest larvae in the entire FRUITYVERSE!

Find all the golden pips to get the full track.

GOLDEN PIPS can be found inside the Peaches!

Join us on a magical experience through space and sound!

NOTE: Headphones recommended for the full auditory experience!

Programming: Brendon Smuts @BrendonSmuts
Visuals: Paul Lombard @pmlomb
Audio/Music: Ivo Sissolak @Mexicanopiumdog

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#10Audio(Jam)4.39
#51Graphics(Jam)4.47
#66Mood(Jam)3.97
#159Innovation(Jam)3.54
#236Overall(Jam)3.58
#485Fun(Jam)3.11
#810Humor(Jam)2.22
#1015Theme(Jam)2.48

Comments

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:36pm

web doesn't work

Pomb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Just finished fixing it. Give it another go!

sergicollado says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

It's so beautiful, It lacks music :(

Pomb says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39pm

@Gigarapto @sergicollado it seems the web build isn't friendly with fmod. Id consider the music to be a big part of the game, maybe try out the downloadable builds.

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Beautiful and relaxing :) Great job !

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Gameplay is a little to much repetitive and feedbacks don't help us to progress.
It's sometimes hard to determine distances and 3D positions of objects.
Else, graphics and sounds are good and clean :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34am

Visually looking good and nothing more =(

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Liked the visuals and "auditory experience". Controls need some work.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Great entry! Everything is well done here. Take some stars, son!! Just improve it and sell it!!!!

zuick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:18am

Interesting to look up, how music changes every time you pick item. Good work

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:40am

Wow! This one was pretty amazing! The focus on music provided a strong core to the game, and style fitted it to a T!

A little more accuracy to the movement would be nice (it's hard to tell if you're going to hit something or now), and a proper transition for entering and exiting peaches would probably make the game feel even tighter. I also had a bit of trouble with lag as my chain grew longer and longer, to the point I had to end the game before collecting all the gold pips. Was I right in assuming the peaches only beat if they have a pip inside them, though?

Overall, this is one of the most interesting experiences I've seen all jam!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:42am

Just wow. Two things I'd change: make music transition more smooth after eating a beat pip, and make the caterpillar boost for a moment after eating a grow pip, so that flying through the Galaxy culd be even more awesome.

What a great game.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:46am

Good idea. Only a bit tough and the controls need some minor tweaking to make it nice and smooth. Overall good idea and game

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:49am

Beautiful game and music. Really nice work!! :)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice, really fun and great how the sound builds!

jwin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Not entirely sure what I was doing, but I looked beautiful and sounded great.

It was enjoyable to just float around eating pips and listening to the music for quite a while.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:51pm

That was very interesting. Somewhat of a synaesthetic experience in a way like Rez or Vib Ribbon. I'm not sure I got the entire point of the game rules but I got the experience that was somewhat like playing a trippy softdrink commercial. :)
Could totally see that being played at a party on big projectors or made into a bigger game. Nicely done!

valid4life says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:05pm

The music is great, but the controls weren't very good. They felt clunky and somewhat confusing. It was very repetitive as well without a well presented goal.

Twinters says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Great graphics, really cool audio transitions linked with the game. Didn't really know what the goal of the game was exactly, but I didn't mind 'cause it looked and sounded pretty. Good job!

cottontrek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Amazing presentation and atmosphere; Unbelievable work in such a short time, great job!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Neat use of audio and fun to watch your character grow. Very colorful graphics and playful theme. A really enjoyable entry. Would like to see this developed into a larger game.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:57am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

block97 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:20am

Really nice sound and graphics. Not much of a game direction but still fun!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:21am

Really loved the music! Though it did got a little repetitive once I got to the point where it doesn't change from me picking up golden pips. I had a fun experience with this, great job. :D

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:41am

I enjoyed a lot!
Thanks for this audio-visual experience!
Too sad the (great) music has to stop like this after taking the golden pips, this transition was a part of the challenge I guess!

Pomb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:56am

Ah man thanks for the kind words everyone. Totally thought this was a fail, but happy to see some of you enjoyed the experience.

Atridas says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:55am

I wish it had a full menu. Graphics and colors are well chosen and gameplay is nice.

Saf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Fabulous looking entry! Cant believe it is done in such small time, great job there. If the gameplay evolves further, this can become something great!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Very pretty, but grows repetitive over time. The transitions when you pick up the golden pips are a little rough sometimes (music sputters, etc). I quite liked this, specifically the increasing layering of the music but there isn't all that much to do once the music is complete. Good work, kudos!

LeoM says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Really great experience !

Audio and Graphics are working very well together. Nice job.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:52pm

dude that shit is aaaaaaaweeesoooome! Really nice, really addictive - can'ts top. Great music, fantastic flow.

Tuism says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Such Production, so value! The prettiest and greatest sounding game in this jam. It really looks and moves and sounds amazing :D

Wishlist:

1. Wish there was a "game" in here, or at least something I could understand. I struggled understanding what was going on, and honestly I think I still don't understand what does what.

2. The controls... I'm not a natural inverted player. So that really didn't work for me. Plus I felt like I had no fine motor control - aiming at a specific thing seemed impossible due to the way you can't see what's directly ahead of you. I feel disoriented and unoriented.

3. There are apparently two different colour "pips"... I couldn't really tell. Oh I think you meant the ones inside the peaches, I think they might have been different, but can't tell. I think you need to show players them next to each other for comparison, otherwise it's difficult to understand.

Rad rad :D

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:35pm

When I intercepted a seed, I felt entranced. If you continue to develop this, when I wandered, clicked (?), around without seeing a beat pip, I felt confused about my goal. After getting a beat pip, I'm still unclear.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]