Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

NotZilla: Ice Cream Vendor

by RisingPixel - Jam Entry

[English]

You are NotGodZilla, and your life passion is to sell ice cream.

The only problem is that, with you being a monster of colossal dimensions, any strong or fast movement can result in death and destruction, which usually aren't good things for your clients.

Controls:
Xbox360 Gamepad is recommended, left stick to move the monster and the right one to move the hand. You can also use keyboard with WASD and arrow keys

Don't be rude!



[Spanish]

Eres NotGodZilla, y tu pasión es vender helados.

El único problema es que, al ser un monstruo de dimensiones colosales, cualquier movimiento demasiado brusco o rápido puede resultar en destrucción y muertes, que no suelen ser buenos para tus clientes.


[Credits]
Luca ‘Tato’ Contato (www.risingpixel.com) - Programmer, Game Designer
Daniela ‘SbaDany’ Arienti (www.risingpixel.com) - Artist
Miguel Rosso (www.felinestudios.com) - Additional programmer, Game Designer, Sound Effects
Fernando (www.imaginabit.com) - Web Programmer (Highscores)
Esteban ‘El Benevolente’ Rivero (www.twitter.com/pastortebi) - Music, Sound Effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#5Humor(Jam)4.69
#6Theme(Jam)4.49
#14Innovation(Jam)4.24
#20Overall(Jam)4.20
#43Fun(Jam)3.97
#53Audio(Jam)3.99
#71Graphics(Jam)4.40
#115Mood(Jam)3.82

Comments

Lynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really superb entry! Everything about this game was flawless. I like how you took the concept of being a monster and gave the play the illusion and frustration of choosing to do good, but being forced to become a monster constantly by accident. Very well done!

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:01pm

This. Is. AWESOME!

bonnup says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Woah.

Aiursrage2k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Nobody loves melted icecream.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Oh my, this is a funny entry. Very innovative gameplay and funny graphics. Excellent job! Also I'm was way too rude for everyone and sucked at selling ice cream..

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Wasn't too happy with the controls. Felt too frustrating to hold my interest for long.

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:08pm

SO GREAT! Had me laughing!

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

A bit hard (especially when you have clients on your back) but very well executed !

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Amazing, love the reversing sound, quite difficult to hand an ice cream to someone. but that's the point

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:38pm

The real monsters are those people who change their minds about icecream!

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Great entry! I love the idea and the controls were frustrating in a good way because that's how Notzilla must feel haha. Love the music and especially the reversing noise and look on his face when you try to go backwards!

jcsirron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:25am

This was hilarious! I love the beeping when you reverse. It was brutally difficult, which was interesting.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

There is so much GLORY in this game! HAHAHAH
The beep sounds when you go back, the awkwardness of it, the game over screen.

5/5 buddy.

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:09am

Laughed so hard ! Amazing entry !

Virtualwindow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:09am

Awesome!

Sicilica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47am

Absolutely loved this game.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55am

5 starred it all!

This game is super smart and very funny.
It feels very polished!

I did play with keys which isn't too bad but I can imagen how the game will be even better when played with 360 controller (didn't had the time to plug it in).


Cool stuff, I'm curious if you will do something more with this concept! :D

yetim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Awesome! :D

bytegrove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Love the art style and how you used the theme! Poor Notzilla, haha! :D
The game was too hard for me though, I had a hard time trying to get to the "zoomed in" state, to hand over the ice cream, and often when I did things went by so fast and I was always deemed too rude. :P
Overall really, really nice work! :)

m3_on says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Holly cow this is great! The idea is perfect and I love the awkward controls, it's like surgeon simulator...but with a dinosaur...which makes it better! :D Great job!!

the-arrival says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

very awesome. Good use of the theme!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Awesome, hahaha!

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:28pm

MELTED

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Awesome !

dregamr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Wooohoo!!
It's fantastic!!

I've killed everybody by running and at the end the ice cream melted :S

I love it. Really good job!!

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Well, this game shows me how bad I am at selling icecream... Great game and nice Idea, but a bit too hard.

Kalm004 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Great work! I love this game!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Controls were insanely difficult (especially on keyboard) but I found the concept to be absolutely hilarious (especially the little reversing sound NotZilla makes).

The only problem I have is that control sensitivity needs some adjustment (I literally had to hold the key down for 3 seconds to move so I ended up doing short hops instead to move across the level faster). Gamepad controls weren't working for me properly as well (although it might be because I was using InputMapper with a PS4 pad rather than an actual Xbox controller).

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Featured Here -

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/25/my-favorites-5/

:D

justthestudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

That reversing sound made me laugh so hard! I love this entry since the first screenshot on LD blog. It has not only very funny and well theme-matched concept, but also surprising nice gameplay. But as you said in description - playing on gamepad is the only option if you care about your clients. [T]

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:30am

Absolutely hilarious and very well done!

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:42am

One of the funniest games I've played so far. Controls took a little bit of getting used to, but I guess that's the point. Really makes you feel clumsy and not in control, just like the monster!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09am

This is hilarious! Awesome game! Thanks for not having a replay button, or else I won't have time to play other games.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09am

so much fun!

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01am

awesome work! with a good and not copy as pasted gameplay and a very high sense of humour =D

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:46am

Great game!
Fresh humor, good polish and great gameplay!

OadT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:11am

This is so awesome! The audio (especially walking backward), the cute NotZilla graphics, the humor. Great work!

Chris M says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:01am

Made me laugh a fair few times! Loved the juxtaposition of the zilla's kind temperament with the destruction being caused.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Really clever interpretation of the theme. It was a little short, but it was a lot of fun.

mortus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Very nice entry and lots of humorous stuff! Would recommend to friends (not that I have any).

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Really fun game and loved the look of it. Really well polished entry.

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:08pm

This game is HARD but the humor makes up for it all. I love it!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Hahhah, totally hilarious (and awesome) game!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Haha.. Not easy being a monster! I keep killing my customers with their ice cream.

jtpup0 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Absolutely silly and amazing, keyboard control was very wonky but much better with a controller

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Nice idea, but it is not quite playable due to the controls

mubox says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Very hard and funny game. Nice audio and good graphics. :)

AdayMC says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice idea but I was unable to sell any ice cream. I tried with keyboard and with controller but it was impossible for me.

I really missed one "Retry" button because I had to refresh my browser many times :P anyways, good idea and sounds :)

Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:44pm

I lost because and ice cream melted, awesome!
Couldn't get the controller working so It was a bit hard to play, but the concept is amazing

jojocanard says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:00pm

funny AND smart !
The way the controls are a bit awkward perfectly fit the theme in my opinion.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Very nice concept! Too bad I couldn't get any ice cream sold to the customers (they kept getting in the way for some reason).

Josh Riley says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:53am

I'm so bad at this!

danialias says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:09am

Hilarious game (That reverse sound! :D), and one of the best I played so far! Superb idea and great execution. Top score for this one!

Apostrophe says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:34am

Interesting concept. Character moved a little slow for my taste, and I found it a bit difficult at first, but become a lot more fun once I got the hang of it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]