Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bombster

by DesignerNap - Compo Entry

SCRAMBLE TO ACTION IN THE LATEST HIGH TECH BOMBER TO DESTROY THE MONSTER THAT IS CURRENTLY OBLITERATING DOWN TOWN!

But beware... you may learn something about yourself!

CONTROLS
A and D = Turn
SPACE = Fire
W - Boost
C - Credits
ESC - Quit

A NOTE ON THE THEME


*SPOILERS*
The end screen explains that as you have destroyed more of the city than the creature, in a cruel twist of morality, YOU are the REAL monster here. Just in case people don't play to the end and miss the point.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#179Audio3.36
#229Fun3.38
#278Mood3.27
#351Humor2.96
#354Overall3.25
#354Graphics3.30
#457Innovation3.00
#629Theme3.13
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

Gaga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44am

Nice presentation

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:50am

very very fun to play and graphics were not bad either

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Haha very funny game , i killed godzilla :D
But its not "you are the monster" but "kill the monster" whatever the game was cool

TagliatL says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Launching bombs is really fun :D

fraanns says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Fun to play, but the theme is "you are the Monster".

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:58pm

...For those who are saying the theme is "you are the monster..." if you get to the end screen, it explains that! ;)
Destroying so many building makes YOU the monster...

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:46pm

I enjoyed bombing the goofy monster! It was a bit tricky to get the hang of landing the shot, but I managed to get there without destroying toooooo much of the city.... :)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Tlansdale! You MONSTER you!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

That's what i call collateral damage at it's best! Very smooth idea overall. fun to play. Kill godzilla, but killing everything else in extend results in something. Had fun playing it

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Those building destruction effects! So cool!
The intro cutscene was awesome as well.

I ended up winning with only 60% of the city destroyed XD. That was really fun!

tayl1r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55pm

I did it 90% first time but after that things started exploding more. Is there some fail safe so you can't damage him below 25% health at 100% buildings standing? Seemed to stop taking my bombs... But anyway, I liked it! A+ Would play again.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Thanks everyone! I have found a bug that seems to occur occasionally where the creature stops taking damage and I am not sure why. Script all looks fine so I am going to dig into it a bit more. Thanks for playing though and glad you all enjoyed it!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Unreal is hard for the graphic card...

Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Super challenging game, very nice looking though! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aXZw1Jpw2JA

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:27pm

I really liked the intro screen on this!
Really well put together, good job!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Haha as the intro rolled up, some buildings exploded, and the monster looked straight at the camera! Spooky!

I did have some trouble aiming at the monster, but got the hang of swinging round the city for further attempts.

Turns out I'm a monster and destroyed 45% of the city.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]