Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Hunt

by Awpteamoose - Jam Entry

WASD to move, 123 to switch view mode, Space to jump.

Reach your prey before the time runs out.
Avoid making sharp turns for they slow you down.
Jump off trees and rocks to keep your speed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#83Mood(Jam)3.90
#91Innovation(Jam)3.76
#218Theme(Jam)3.83
#291Overall(Jam)3.50
#425Graphics(Jam)3.59
#643Fun(Jam)2.90

Comments

Mikhail says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26am

Alright game. Didnt really like that you had to constantly be switching viewing modes but thats what makes the game a challenge so good job overall!

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:20am

Very polished entry, I really like the simple but atmospheric visuals!

Novaki says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:20am

Great game! The only thing I've given 5s on everything. I could see this turning into something bigger if you kept working on it. Very innovative and great idea. Good dark ambient sound. I loved the predator feel I got from the game. I had to play it twice. Amazing job!

Chris M says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:24am

No OSX or web build?

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Great entry !! Why is there so few people try this one ?

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Hey, Chris, OSX build will be available soon.
Thank you guys for your positive reviews!

RisingPixel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:47am

Awesome! I really like the concept of the view modes, you really feel like a predator looking for its prey!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Great what you did with those shaders. Sadly it was way too hard for me. I think even combining all 3 senses into one would have made a decent game.

Thank you for making this!

JoshCJohnK says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I really enjoyed the concept and the different views you can use to track the prey. It was difficult to know if I was making any progress however.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Great idea! Would be nicer to switch between views using the mouse wheel, as 1,2,3 are awkward to get to when using WASD.
BTW, seems like your web link is bugged? The first time I got a page which I assume would be what a unity3d file looks like as text, while the second time crashed my browser

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:28am

Great job! The game really made me feel like a predator. It would be interesting if you decide to develop it further!

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:29am

Really like this. View switching is a little annoying at first, but makes sense once you get used to it. Really good atmosphere. I actually jumped when one got away. Great job. :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:56am

You games seems very moody and atmospheric. I did find the various views a little frustrating, especially if you ever lost the trail. I kept losing the trail and was unable to pick it back up again until I lost. I think this has a lot of potential for a full release, but if you do, perhaps you can re-design the various views such that it's a little easier for the player to track the target/know where to go?

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:43pm

At the end we figured out a way to do the views properly, but it was too late to change it.
I'll make a post-mortem on the frontpage sometime on the weekend for anyone interested.

ghostlyguru says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:14pm

enjoyed it. was attracted to it because the main pic reminded me of my entry.. haha

Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:31am

The idea of multiple views needed to track the 'prey' was good but the pace was a little too fast to really feel close a lot of the time. Increasing levels of speed or different difficulties could work. All in all, an immersive and atmospheric game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]