Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Late for the Show

by Gamepopper - Jam Entry

This is a game I made in a little over 24 hours, for the theme I had the idea of performing as a monster, and trying to get your costume ready before you head off to perform.

The aim of the game is to find five parts of your costume, which are scattered randomly around your bedroom. You find these parts by walking into the bedroom features and pressing to check under, inside or on the feature. Once you think you are ready, you go down the bottom of the screen through the door to head to the show.

Controls:
WASD or Arrow Keys - Move around scene
Z/J - Check underneath places in your room
X/K - Check inside places in your room
C/L - Check on top of places in your room

I have also updated the build to include fixes that should make the game a bit more approachable, since I'm posting this before the #LDJAM deadline it should be fine.

- You should now be able to check stuff while adjacent to objects. Previously you were only able to check stuff while walking into it.
- No input delay after checking objects. Text will still show for a period of time to provide info.
- Able to skip cutscenes and instructions.
- XInput Gamepad Support. Use Left Analog Stick or D-Pad to Move and A/B/Y to Check Under/In/On objects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#130Audio(Jam)3.69
#164Humor(Jam)3.55
#353Innovation(Jam)3.24
#444Theme(Jam)3.56
#528Graphics(Jam)3.39
#544Mood(Jam)3.09
#613Fun(Jam)2.94
#638Overall(Jam)3.08

Comments

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:44am

This was too hard. The controls are just not compatible with my butter fingers. I have to move towards the piece of furniture, then press J/K/L, correct? But if I want to check another part of the furniture, I have to disengage from it? Because sometimes I didn't find anything on a bed, for example, only to get 2 parts from it just by mashing buttons.

On the other hand, the frantic pace, the music and the retro graphics kept me trying. Thanks for the experience!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Pretty hard, but was really nice. I loved the music and retro graphics. I loved the intro too!

.
..
....
.....
O &%*$&%$&$&#&%&

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

I accidentally skipped the intro because I thought Space would advance the dialog box ahead a little bit instead of skipping the whole thing!

It's a fun, fast little idea, though if you just jam the buttons when you reach the areas, it's pretty easy. The music is cool, though, and the graphics remind me of an old Game Boy game (in a good way!).

mincrmatt12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Good idea, good game, but the controls are what gave it a low-ish rating. Options to change time and only one search control would of been better.

It does look good though, and did keep me trying. (I never did get it, though)

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

The Music and the Retro Graphics were amazing.

Thou I find the game at pace too fast.

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I dig whole concept, idea and execution. Love graphics, music and screen I got to see for completing the game.

Laddo D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:19pm

hella good music

D3giler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Loved the Intro! but controls were kinda confusing xD but I guess it goes with you being in a rush so great job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Nice idea, but the execution is a little short and awkward. The mechanic of searching 'under' 'in' and 'on top' things is limited by the fact that I could just mash the keyboard and get everything by hugging the edge of the room in a few seconds tops. I get the impression that this was a short, sweet game made for effect and I think it does that well.

Concept-wise, panic-based games that get you pumped are great. I hope you keep up with these ideas and refine them into fun and more fleshed-out games in the future.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Good fun! I wish it had a bit more replay value so I could keep going!

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51pm

It was bit too easy to bruteforce - move to every object and press all 3 search buttons at the same time. Maybe delay between usages?

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:21am

Well. It's hard to connect controls with the action. I just pressed all buttons and went to the door
I like the idea tho

Vladirien says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:40pm

The music and the mood are great but the game is a bit short, I wish there was more levels. The intro was pretty good also.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I liked how you made getting dressed into a high adrenaline concept. The graphics were good, especially having a variety of costumes.

Could have benefited from a more intuitive control setup, though.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:43am

HAHA, Awesome, Loved the intro, graphics, and music.
It feels a bit like a complex Warioware mini-game, but one I don't mind playing over and over again. The only downside is that you can pretty much button-mash your way to victory.

It's definitely one of the most funny AND fun things I've played so far! Good Job!

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Great job. Really like the music.

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:23pm

LOVED the intro, theme and music. Great fun :)

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Extremely hard, would be nice if it was easier, as well as more levels. Other then that, good job!

Maramasa says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Music was great and helped create the hectic atmosphere of scrambling to find your things. Retro graphics were cool too, good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:07am

My god this game is really hard! I like IT! :D
Nice graphic, smooth gameplay and funny theme interpretation , well done!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:29am

WOuldn't let me use keyboard because my pad was plugged in and I didn't realise!

Good implementation of the theme, with a nice framing to why you're doing what you're doing. Graphics and audio work really well together and I was compelled to keep trying to get everything even though I didn't ever manage to!

Denis347 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:47pm

This was really hard. Nice audio, good game overall!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Fun and quick, the graphics are cool and it fits very well to the theme in my opinion. Took me a few times to get every part on time but I finally did it! Good game!

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:27pm

A neat little game. I immediately went on a button mashing spree but I kept missing my tail :}

rnlf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:05pm

The intro alone is worth a million points :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:27am

That was REALLY hard, but it seemed so simple I had to finish! I think I did it in under 10 tries, simply put, I loved it!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:32am

Nice take on the theme although it's ridiculously hard due to the short time you have to find everything and how context sensitive the actions are.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:18am

Very simple, yet intense and surprisingly fun! Great work!

careless says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:53am

Really cool idea, took me about 10 goes to finally beat it.

Great simple and effective pixel art, the music really makes you rush through finding everything so fits perfect.

At first was being too impatient hitting the different keys while I should have waited a moment, thought I could button bash my way through.

When I see these smaller more simple ideas it really makes me wish I could think of something like this, always try to do too much. My next goal is to make something more like this for a jam.

Great job! :D

* * * * *

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:26pm

That was so hard and intense! :D no way i would thought winning your game!
but i ended up finishing everything pretty good!
intense!
well done! :)

MAnimal says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Very good retro music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]