Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Yum Yum

by cjacobwade - Jam Entry

Defend your fleshy monster body from hordes of puny humans who want nothing more than to crack you skull. Show your strength and fling all humans to their death.

Controls:
- Click and drag on your body/humans and fling them off
- Don't let them reach the top

Made by:
Chris Wade and Mariah Hale in 15 hours. Follow us on twitter if you want to chat about the game or how we made it.
@cjacobwade
@spitefulcrow

Music is Mozart's Magic Flute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#39Humor(Jam)4.07
#43Theme(Jam)4.21
#51Innovation(Jam)3.93
#110Fun(Jam)3.71
#191Mood(Jam)3.59
#206Overall(Jam)3.62
#477Graphics(Jam)3.50

Comments

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:17am

I love everything about this. Thanks for making :)

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:27am

I had fun flinging weaklings!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47am

Until now the best game I have played this LD. Amazing humor and great idea.

jphelps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:29am

that was fun

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:51am

That face :D. Art is very entertaining. Too bad we don't have extra stars for humor and theme.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57am

very funny!i loved the simple and fast mechanics!

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

The art/animation works really well with the game mechanic.

It seems too easy; I only lost when I decided to do so.

xvw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Scratch scratch... Loved this!
Good job!

weirdway says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Brilliant! As a large mammal I can relate to the plight of the monsters. The music is great and the monster's expressions are hilarious.

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:44am

Everything felt just right. the stretching and flinging was beautiful. The hand drawn aesthetic was really cute. I loved this :)

boardtobits says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:10am

Interesting! Worked well with my touchscreen, which made it even more fun. Nice work!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:06am

Funny! :)
The music accompanying the game is just "operagic" :P

well done! i liked to grab my hair and toss the weaklings away. Good job! :)

bodsey says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:24am

I think it'd be amazing on phone / tablet. It's a bit simplistic, but it's really fun XD

CheesyRamen says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:27am

Great art style, plus it felt really satisfying flinging humans off! Nice job! =)

Vladik Plays says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Goodbye people!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]