Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Martii the Rappasaur

by Crazi456 - Jam Entry

Controls
A or Left Arrow - Move Left
D or Right Arrow - Move Right
Spacebar - Jump
R - Restart level/Checkpoint

Martii sets out on a mission to capture princesses for his bosses.

Programming - Justin Luong
Art - Lemon Smoothie
Music - Toaden
Vocals - Phoenix

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#8Audio(Jam)4.44
#47Humor(Jam)4.03
#409Fun(Jam)3.22
#425Overall(Jam)3.33
#429Mood(Jam)3.27
#472Graphics(Jam)3.51
#628Theme(Jam)3.31
#915Innovation(Jam)2.45

Comments

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Really cool submission, love the artwork :D

dragseal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:53am

The main character art is really well done, but the other is kinda messed it up. Simple mechanic. No tutorial. But I really really love the music. It's brings the mood to the game.

zstar2890 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:59am

I like the artwork and the mechanics are very smooth. Great Job!

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04am

Great music

GFM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43am

Haha, I wasn't expecting this when I started to play the game. Quite funny! :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

That was great! A contender in the Audio and Humor categories for sure.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

hahahahahhahahahha

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

That was great! A contender in the Audio and Humor categories for sure.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

Oh my gosh, this game crack me up! Great Job man <3 <3 <3

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10am

very awesome! obviously, the soundtrack is superb :)

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:24am

Not incredibly innovative gameplay, but I really like the visuals.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Love the art, very well done. The music is great as much. Great mood in the game.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Love the idea, well done there. I'm glad the rapping stopped after a while (no offense). Graphically, the characters were great, but the enemies and backgrounds didn't quite match up (Like, MS paint vs. pixel art). Overall, the idea and theme was incredibly funny: gave me quite a laugh.

KBF123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Fun to play! The ending felt a bit underwhelming though.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

My god that was SOO GREATTT :D

Made it to the end on perfect mood, so funny, good job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Cool theme Song! I wish there was a button to reset it so I could listen to the rap/storypart again.

saucygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:59am

cool game gg

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Lol, pure insanity. Love it. Awesome flow btw :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Haha, the song is very funny.

I just want to comment about background movement because it makes me confused. Background movement isn't match with character movement speed.

And sorry i can't get the meaning of your game.

Frump says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:28am

Cool game. The rapping narrator was pretty awesome. I played it again so I could hear that part over.

The background scrolling was maybe a bit aggressive though.

lemer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Great work a very funny game with good music that reminds me Hotline Miami

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:07am

Insane!!!!! I loved it!! Take some well deserved stars, son!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Love the song (and the VO in general) :)

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:17pm

classical gameplay but very fun and well executed. good job! The art is really cool :)

Nurbs says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:38pm

http://i.imgur.com/FMPFnDm.gifv

Kizler says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:07am

This is a GREAT game. I was expecting the monster to rap while he was running, though. :D

Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Amazing rap, awesome graphics, the only issue is it was too short! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/s8htp2RZS7I

Twinters says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

The artwork is sooo beautiful! The music&voice is done very well. The game was quite unforgiving for me though, would have loved some checkpoints or some extra lives, but that's just me. Great job!

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:31am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]