Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Power Corrupts

by mortus - Compo Entry

Try fullscreen mode, it _should_ work correctly with any reasonable resolution.

==========
CONTROLS
==========

Arrows - move
X - jump
C - attack

Added a quick fix for any (reasonable) resolution support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#89Mood3.71
#133Audio3.49
#210Fun3.41
#231Graphics3.56
#231Overall3.46
#254Theme3.71
#427Humor2.80
#448Innovation3.03

Comments

Deity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Cool platformer, I like the art style and the dialogue.

I found the movement a bit challenging though. The player seemed to slide around a bit too much (like I'd release movement keys and he'd continue sliding). Also the jumps were a bit unforgiving since the jumps had to be made way before you reached the edge of a platform to be successful. If you wait to jump till you reach near the edge, then he usually just slides off into spikes.

Other than that, fun little game though. Nice work

lolfrad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Great game, I really liked the music. The walking animation and movement were a little bit off though.

ksanochka says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:05pm

nice game bro , but you should really not use unity for this kinda games xD learn flash,html5,java dude these are better believe me

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11pm

The music felt really nice and the opening scene in the village was fairly impressive. I like that all the villagers greet me and wished me luck as I left.
After that, however, I found the game to be a bit bland. There was nothing inherently wrong with it - the platforming controls were responsive, the level design did what it needed to, and the checkpoints were reasonably placed, but nothing about this game stood out to me as being particularly memorable.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Nice idea. I agree with Deity the controls could be a little "stickier", expecially given how punishing the spikes are. But overall very well-executed.

GameQuester says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Good platformer. I liked the idea and execution. The jumps sometimes were a bit hard. I also liked the surprising ending. Well done.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I agree with the others, the controls were a bit slippery, but once I got used to it was manageable. I enjoyed the power ups though! It was nice to finally get to kill those rock dudes after I had been killed by so many of them.

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I like your pixel art and the music suits the game well. The controls could be slightly improved, but other than that nice work!!!

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37pm

I would say I enjoyed it, however I did feel the movement was a tad too slidy, and the jump windows near ledges not all too forgiving. Also the ending did kinda seem predictable fairly early, but at least it follows the theme.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36pm

looks nice

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I like to see a platformer. The player as a dendency to slide easily and the physics of jumps is weird. Graphics are really good and i LOVE the music

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Very cool story and nice graphics and music. I was annoyed at first that you have to jump pixel-precise which is absolute annoying, but after playing a while it was quite fun and addictive. Very well done!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Right on! I liked the visuals, the audio, the level design, the story and how it is delivered. Because this game was the first one I've played this LD, that brought my emotions up (Grimbergen Blanche also might've helped though). When they said I had to leave, I was like "SCREW YOU, you damn losers!", and when I got the ability to attack I was all like "Oooh yyyeeeeah! Come here, you armored slimeys!".
So there, a very nice game. One of the moments I'd like to see fixed though is the movement physics (it seems a bit slippery, I have to much inertia I think). The other one is this: http://prntscr.com/88fdm5 - I had to aligh myself veeeery precisely here to jump through, as my collider seems to be just the size of the gap. I think you might try making my collider a circle one (it's a Unity game, right?) - it would adjust my position in this situation, I guess. Also the colliders of the enemies are a bit larger then needed - they can kill me from one level above, if I stand too close. I guess you could shrink their colliders and the spikes' colliders a bit: it wouldn't take away the fun, but would be more forgiving.
Well done overall, anyway! Have a great week. :)

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:15am

Love the music and art. Jumping can tend to be hard but that's not a big problem for me! Good work

Toccio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:17am

Nice game, but can't reach the end, cause i was stack for being to big!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Hey, I hope that fix of my game fixed the crashes. I would be happy if you checked it out :-)
I also saved your game for later. :-)

zanenga says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:11pm

I like the game and concept.
However, I had a bit of a problem with the collisions and controls. Inicially jumps required a lot of precision, but it got better after the first upgrade.

hunttis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I liked the graphics and especially the parallax effect. The music reminded me of almost lucas-artsy something :D

I found the controls fighting me a bit, jumping was a bit too difficult and landing accurately was a challenge. I did complete the game anyhow, it was interesting enough :)

JoshCJohnK says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I really like the concept and the overall style of the game. Trying to make it through all the obstacles is really difficult though.

intXparts says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:34pm

The movement was slippery but I actually liked it. It reminded me a lot of super meat boy. Fantastic job on the game!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Very enjoyable game. As stated the controls do need to be a bit more stickier but all in all its a great game. Music, Art and execution are awesome!

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Wow, the initial village scene really gave an Illusions of Gaia athmosphere. The platformer is hard but interesting enough to keep you going. Great art and music. Absolutely loved it!

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I had some fun with the game. As you grow bigger it also becomes harder to backtrack, so I guess I ended up missing some villagers. ( I had 9/11)
The controls were good, just the hardest part was to land some of the jumps but I think it just takes a little getting used to.
It's a nice idea and fits the theme very well. Also nice story.

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:29am

I found controlling the player to be pretty frustrating. Since you move so quickly, it can be hard to time your jumps to occur on the edge of a platform. I found myself falling a lot. Many platformers, including Mario, give you some leeway where you can jump a tiny bit after you've started falling off a platform. This is accomplished by having a simple timer that starts decreasing once you leave the ground and allowing you to jump during that time period.

It's sort of hard to see the player against dark backgrounds which can make things a bit annoying.

This is a good effort nonetheless. I like the villagers' reactions to you as your legs grow.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:23am

Cool platformer game with a pleasant mood. Sometimes the controls seem to me weird. However I liked this entry. Thank you ++

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:46pm

A nice little game, control was responsive however felt clunky at times (i.e. when attempting to jump onto blocks). A nice little game with nice graphics that add to the mood. Well done! :)

Taldius says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Nice game, I liked the scenario.
The only problems were the jump that was really hard to handle and the hitbox that sometimes felt bigger than the sprite.
Anyway, good job!

Realize2D says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:51am

Absolutely loved the concept! I had a similar idea as soon as I saw the theme, but dropped it because I couldn't figure how to implement it in a nice way, but you nailed it! The only problem is the character movement, too slidy and the colliders perhaps could be a bit smaller. Other than that great entry!

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:28am

Nice game. I couldn't get very far though. After I got the first gem I died and it sent me back to a checkpoint. I couldn't get back past the spikes now that my hitbox was bigger due to the big pants.

MaesK says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Nice idea, I like how you turn into something far from human and the townsfolk do not trust you anymore.

Good graphics as well, but the character at first is difficult to be seen in caves. Difficulty is nice at the beginning, but it gets annoying when player dies and respawns immediately, then dying again by still some acceleration. And at the end, you are too big to properly jump, making last steps almost impossible :(

But I liked it a lot anyway, it's quite engaging, great work!

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:22am

Very nice. It was one of my favorite implementations from the theme. I enjoyed playing a lot.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:48am

nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]