Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A World in Venom

by Liam :D - Compo Entry

"A world in venom" is an open world exploration game where you can gather various resources and items from a procedurally generated world.

At the start of the game, the world is generated, which includes terrain, foliage and towns. The towns are also populated with families, members of which come in both genders and multiple races. Families also share a surname, and their home is labelled as theirs. The inhabitants of the world also have different appointments around town - they have to buy things at the general store, visit neighbours and get water from the town well. The latter of these might be interesting to you, if you wanted for something interesting to happen in your town.

I should emphasis here that in this game you really are a monster - Not the fictional spooky scary under-the-bed kind, the real kind. A thing you can do is poison the town well. Visitors to the well will begin to get ill and eventually die.

There are several different items you can collect in the world and you can store them in the nifty inventory system. The whole of the game also has tooltips to make it easier to see what is what.

Oh! I also wrote a score for the game. :D I'll let you decide how great it is :D (Spoiler: It's pretty great :DDDD)

Instructions are in-game.


If possible, I encourage you to leave a written comment down below. While I appreciate numeric ratings, I enjoy written reviews a lot more. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#277Innovation3.30
#425Graphics3.17
#509Mood2.94
#531Humor2.56
#579Theme3.22
#628Audio2.16
#669Overall2.91
#799Fun2.48
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

download failed first time, 2nd time its quite slow. Consider offering a mirror (many people on LD are using mediafire or dropbox)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:21am

I felt like an evil god.. oh.. poison.. oh look a well...hahahhahhaa

Liam :D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

Mirrors have been created, thank you for the idea. They are linked to from the windows / osx / linux pages and are hosted on Github. This should speed up download times for US based players.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I am the well poisoner, fear me!

Mantlair says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Cool. Walking speed was kinda boring but procedural generation stuff are really neat. Good job!

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:46pm

This is really creative: I just wish the walking speed had been faster.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I like seeing a nice proc-gen in these challenges.

Overall I wish there was more you could do. You could poison the well, but not flood things, or make villagers go bobbing for apples. I do love the walking dead feature(bug?), where the dead always walk back to the house before truly dying.

Another thing which would've been nice if you were more of a literal monster that could move faster. Moving that slow distracted from the game, especially when there wasn't a ton you could do.

I did enjoy poisoning the well and watching as everyone died!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:52am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:53am

The lighting on the trees was cool. Enjoyed the look of the low poly neighborhood.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:53am

For a compo entry, that must have been a lot of code. My hat off to you for having a foundation for an RPG. I din't play much but it was interesting and simple mechanic. Would have been nice to have little sound fx here and there. Congrats on submitting your entry

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Mac version doesn't seem to work. Had to force quit twice.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Not much to do.. it seems. Too bad =/ Walking speed is really, really slow.

Cool generation though, when I realized I could zoom out I was like woah. Graphics are quite simple, but not exactly ugly.

More stuff to do would be really cool.

amras0000 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:43pm

The procedural generation is probably the biggest positive of this game, but it really doesn't add much to the gameplay. I think I'd have enjoyed a handcrafted town more than the random splatter of buildings. I think you spent a bit too much time working out all the procedural generation and didn't have any time to get the gameplay polished. There's definitely effort here, but it didn't contribute to a compelling game. All I could do was poison the well and see some people's avatars turn green.
What I'd really like to see in a game like this is various amusing interactions with the various items: "you threw fruit in the well, now everyone is drunk"
"you threw sticks in the well, you've clogged it and everyone's dying of thirst"

The music failed to load in the game, ended up downloading it off github to have a listen. I think the repetitive bass line works to its detriment; you would have been better off just leaving the melody.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:23pm

The game is great but at least you can make the character to run instead of walk (or just a sprint button it will be enough). BTW, what is with this hitbox? To can click on an item I need to click some cm in the left on the item!

marvalgames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Very slow but would probably do well as a full scale game as I am sure you could add a lot from this groundwork. It's a nice base for a unique idea. What you have is polished and solid.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:15am

Weird concept ... It's always kinda magic to see random world generation, but it lacks a bit of gameplay (or i was not patient enough to discover it all :/)
The slow player's move is a bit frustrating too, so i tried to generate a smaller amount of chunks, but i think it was a bit buggy : there was no more green stuff, and town was a bit vacant :] Also i only had music on the menu screen...
Cool jam experiment !

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:18am

Procedurally generated worlds are always a nice thing to see, and the flat shaded polys are also nice to!

The concept is nice, but I think needs a bit of refinement, mainly on player speed, the game feels a bit slow due to the game style (camera angle/distance/player movement).

But Good Work here! :D

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:58pm

nice

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I couldn't really play the game properly because all the interactive elements seemed to be offset from the visual positioning.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]