Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

It's All OGRE Now!

by TailyILoveYou - Jam Entry

The filthy peasants have taken over your lands! Crush them and their stupid little houses!

Hop around the world as a fearsome Ogre and destroy the puny people who dared to cross your path. Venture out further in the world to find tougher enemies, but gain more experience for your trouble!

Kill peasants to gain experience, and destroy their homes to increase your experience multiplier. Destroy houses with pieces of other houses to get combos! Level up and upgrade yourself with fantastic new weapons and abilities!

W to move forward
Left click to attack
Right click to use your special attack
Upgrade when you level up by clicking on the upgrades, or hitting keys 1-4

Made in 60 hours by
Alexi Bay (Programming, Music, Particle Effects)
Noah Gracey (3D Modelling, Titles)
Timon Incze (Sound Effects)
Esteban Sanchez-Maya's Friend that he plays CounterStrike with (A single voice of one of the filthy peasants)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Fun(Jam)4.18
#74Overall(Jam)3.93
#84Theme(Jam)4.08
#128Humor(Jam)3.67
#225Mood(Jam)3.54
#278Audio(Jam)3.36
#292Graphics(Jam)3.87
#395Innovation(Jam)3.18

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20am

YEAH COME AT ME HUMANS, YOU GOT NOTHING ON ME. Love it

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27am

Great Game! I had a blast killing all those filthy peasants. My only criticism is that the movement felt a bit sticky at times, and it was a little hard to hit people

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34am

The low poly art style works quite well, feels like it could have used some more sound effects for the villagers.

The music sits in the background, doesn't really add much but doesn't take away from anything either, so that's cool.

I liked the different style of movement, took some getting used to, all the multi-destruction combos for XP, that was awesome.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:44am

This was so fun. The levelling system really sells it. Everything about this game is great.

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:52am

surprisingly fun.

no real complaints, but a couple suggestions: maybe give one of the options when you level up be full health. it would be an interesting trade off but probably worthwhile to make.

also an infinite mode would be cool but would probably require careful balancing

also if you could just wack villagers and make them destroy their houses with the sheer impact of their body that would be sweet. it also might be possible but i think i only ever saw it happen with other houses.

oh actually i do have one complaint; the game should pause when you're leveling up. but its understandable that it does not given the constraints we are working with :)

Bsevers18 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:08am

haha YEAH that last weapon is the beeeest! Very fun :D nice work

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:49am

Great choice of title :p Nice audio and graphics! Also, seems fairly complete, with different enemies and lots of things to destroy. Good job!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52am

Kill them pesky peasants! Fun game, congratulations!

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:56am

My arm is so big! Great game. At one point I destroyed everything in my surroundings which stopped me from destroying more, but then I found more humans!

toni343 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:58am

A fun and difficult game. Really liked the graphics and gameplay

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Smashing peasants is a surprisingly enjoyable activity!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Really fun, and nice progression.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47pm

I quite enjoyed that, it's a bit too easy for my taste but being able to club people so hard they go flying is so satisfying!

5k0d says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

i like it. good gameplay, addictive. well done! thumbs up!

sausagroll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Really fun game, a better visual cue for killing villagers could be a good addition, even if it's just them turning red or something like that.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

A second game I've seen with this theme, but this one is much more interesting. Leveling system makes it worth to kill enemies just to see what new weapons will Ogre get. The only thing I didn't get is how to restore your health. Pressing 4 during level up bumps up maximum, but leaves the current level intact, if I'm not mistaken?

hgcummings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Really fun game and nicely polished too. Good use of humour and nailed the awesome rampage mechanic, but with nice touches so it's not mindless (e.g. need a bit of thought to deal with archers and choose the best upgrades).

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56pm

How to express myself?... I LOVE THIS GAME SO MUCH!
You did very well!

ajopart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Havoc, carnage, and green fun ! Great job !

KAGSme says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

The most cutest piece of destruction ever, ogre hand weapon is best weapon. simple and fun, leveling system is a nice touch too.

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Pretty fun game, but simple game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:08pm

At the begining I thought the game was too simple, but destroying houses became addictive.
The art side is solid and I wasn't expecting at all a level up system.
The movement controlls are a bit strange but they feel intuitive.

It remembered me this Trogdor game:
http://www.homestarrunner.com/trogdor.html

Nice entry!

nozzergaming says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Really loved the game, found myself playing it for a really long time. Might have been nice if the dead people were removed from the scene at some point as I noticed my frames dropping when I was near a lot of them, but great game! Good job!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:22am

I'm not going to lie, that felt really really good.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:38am

Gameplay is exceptional, tons of fun, upgrade system is an excellent touch. Graphics are simple but fit perfectly, and the music a good mix between peaceful and upbeat. I like this alot. Good work guys.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:24am

Had fun batting puny humans around >:D

chkkll says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Great Fun! Good Work.

sikosis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nicely done. Great graphics with audio and the gameplay is pretty fun. It even has upgrades which I thought was a nice touch.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:38am

Cool graphics and awesome "rampage mechanics"!
Good job =)

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:49am

Lots of fun smashing stuff! Could use a little more feedback for smacking filthy peasants around. Graphics are simple but convey what they need to and are super charming.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:53am

Amazing graphics and great audio. It is very funny. I found it quite too easy and I don't know if there is an ending, played for a good while. Also it is a bit weird having houses outside the playable area in my opinion.

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:51am

awesome game !! really funny, I enjoy it :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:22am

Love it ! I enjoyed the low poly artstyle and had tons of fun playing this. Great work :D

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Was a lot of fun destroying all the people and especially the buildings. A little bit more objective would have been nice, but good job otherwise!

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:48pm

the gameplay is very cool! a little more depth to it would be nice! but its a very cool game
Gj

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:51pm

At first I thought the title was a Shrek thing and I was a bit apprehensive to play. I ended up playing it anyway, and man was I surprised. this game is great! Pure destruction and wreckage of those filthy peasants! The building destruction combos are really fun, and the upgrades are interesting to play with. The little screams of the people make me laugh as well. Very good game nice work!

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:32pm

It's better game on compo what i saw on dat moment! Thx for entry

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Great premise! would love to see some levels or challenges added

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Be an Ogre, walk around, crash building, kill guy, have fun! This is a simple good entry.

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:27am

Very fun game. Played for quite a while trying to max out my levels. Final weapon was great, too! Took me a bit to get used to the controls.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:26am

Love the voice -- it's a great little feature and sums up the futility. They just sound so sad.

Very cute, low-poly art style. Those archers though. They're the devil.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:32am

This was very pretty. I loved all the details like the arrows sticking to the monster's face. I loved playing with the physics and watching the destruction I cause. Coming back over to a location and seeing the devastation was fun and did make me truly feel like a monster. Great job!

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:48pm

This game is awesome, but it's a but easy. i love to smash little people with a giant hand!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:10pm

"Ayo, Ima Shrek shits up!"

This was just some mindless fun. I've spent the most time playing this game than any I've rated so far. I loved the upgrades. My only gripe is the spawn and lack of enemies in some areas. Here I am with the best weapon upgrade and nothing to kill. Sad monster.

-Loi LeMix

block97 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:06am

Really fun game. The combo system with the building was very cool and the level system was very nice.

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:28am

Nice destructible environment, there. While the game does a great job making me feel powerful, the lack of threat makes it a bit hard to have fun with. A super-easy game isn't always fun, and this game felt like it could use a monster or two to counteract with the ogre. It's very polished, though, and I do like the level system a lot.

superfreak says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Enjoyable game - felt like there could have been more urgency / pacing to keep the game fresh but overall fantastic job!

Wefiends says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:11am

A really great game that kept me playing way more than I expected to. The progression system worked really well, though for the sake of the jam I wish I could've gotten more powerful, faster. Either way, great game, might be my favorite so far.

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:53am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Great fun factor, awesome graphics and physics. It even has a progression system. You should release it for mobile devices!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Cool, fun game! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3UFkqjoD81E

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Realy good game. Just amazing. I think it is good enough to be in top-10 of this LD.

P.S. Ogre is love. Ogre is life.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]