Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Totem

by Ian MacLarty - Jam Entry

Use the arrow keys to move, up to stomp. There is a simple ending.

Graphics and Audio: Alex Bertram Powell (@AlexBPArt)
Programming: Ian MacLarty (@muclorty)

Chrome or Firefox recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Mood(Jam)3.93
#79Graphics(Jam)4.38
#146Audio(Jam)3.65
#362Theme(Jam)3.66
#745Overall(Jam)2.98
#880Humor(Jam)2.03
#904Innovation(Jam)2.47
#978Fun(Jam)2.40
#2178Coolness17%

Comments

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Really like the art and mood. The music should have been a bit lower or sound effects a bit louder. Butt stomp attack was pretty fun. The animation of the stone giant felt really satisfying. You could really feel each step.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Wonderful atmosphere. The art and music are both top notch!

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:40pm

awesome atmosphere.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

The jump smash is so satisfying and the movements really give the monster the feeling of weight. Striking art and atmosphere, though wish there was some more gameplay to it. The music could also be a tad less harsh on the ears.

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

That was beautiful, great feeling of weight when walking and stomping, great atmosphere.

Polyganz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01am

Great mood. The game feels a bit incomplete though. Or maybe i just had a bug at the end.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:09am

Loved the visuals A LOT! Seriously. It's wonderful. Just as the music. As a game it's pretty simple but that's perfectly fine. Loved walking around and hammering my butt to the ground on top of those small dudes.

randoman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:26am

Amazing atmosphere. I reached the very end but nothing happened when I went out of the screen... Congratulations on the entry!

Yakka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01am

I don't know how to reach the end, but the mood is awesome. I love the art too!

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:33am

Love the atmosphere :) Really poetic. Congrats! (Is the white screen are the end ?)

paracatgames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:58am

Unbelievable art style (and animation) on this. I think I just sat here stunned for a bit. Music is great too. I want to understand these little people and whatever culture has them wearing such ceremonial garb!

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:03am

Really liked the atmosphere!

I got to the point where a rock appears in the middle of the island and then everything turns white, not sure if that is the ending.

jtpup0 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:05am

Pretty art and sound with an underlying emotion while you played too, I fell off the world going all the way to the right in the end

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:50am

Wow, I must say this is the prettiest game I've seen on this Ludum Dare. It's got like a Team Ico dreamy paleness to it, I love that. The colors and the mist are great. Music is top-notch as well.

The way the small people get thrown in the air is quite fun and satisfying, but them surrounding you and throwing spears at you feels a bit sad. Like in documentaries when cavemen corner a mammoth or something, altough this "mammoth" is a bit stronger and less caring.

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21pm

As mentioned by the other commentors, great art work and has a cool feel. Seems like the sort of thing that could be expanded on to make a full game.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Great atmosphere, the graphics are really nice.

iossif says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:49pm

the audio and the visuals are stunning. well done!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Very moody and loved the stomp. Went all the way to the right but couldn't find the ending. Is there one?

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Really good graphics and mood! I love it

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Very artistic with a interesting simple mechanic and intriguingly vague context. I still don't know if I was supposed to kill everything or not. Nice work.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:40am

Superb aesthetics! The music and sound meshed perfectly with the beautiful art. Weird stone giant was satisfyingly stompy. I wish I could have sat down non-violently, maybe the annoying ones would have accepted me as one of their own eventually. :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:27am

Good ideas expressed through development, and appealing art style, but the game feels incomplete and there's no progression I can see as the player walks off the edge of the screen.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Great mood and atmosphere, really liked the graphics as well.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Reminds me of seeing a weird movie in a language I don't understand as a kid. In a good way :)

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:35am

I'm left with a few things in mind after playing this...

It didn't quite feel like I was a monster... it was more like I was a deity/force of the nature that went up to clean the land from it's rebellious people, maybe? I give it that graphics were great (in its own way) and it was quite moody (even if I'm still not quite sure about what I've just played...)

If I were to sum up my experience in a single word, it would probably be... "What?"

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:02pm

my island sinks
i am alone
i walk through the ocean
i find a new island of stone like me
there are others there and they are cruel
i dont hurt them i just want to find a home
there is no home for me here
i walk back into the ocean

i return
why should they have this
i wipe the stone clean of them
my island rises
i have a home
i am the monster after all

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:44pm

This is lovely!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:35pm

I liked how I could just not care for the tiny people and all the bad things they had to say to me - I just minded my own thing, just walked slowly where I wanted, ground shaking with my every step.
That felt pretty good. Butt stomp was fun.
It stopped being fun when I lost the sense: I've made it to the right edge of the scene and understood I probably have to go back to the tiny people land, but I've none to do there, except for the butt stomping them. So I did that for a while and then felt myself completely bored.

Please do not see this as a critique, but rather as a playtest report that you could react somehow to if you want to.

I like how the totem is drawn a lot. :)

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:08am

The sound and the visual art are great, take some stars, son!

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:09pm

I wish I had more interaction with the people, and sometimes I'd smash someone and they'd get up 5 or 6 more times, which was a little confusing, but the art and audio were both top notch! Great work!

terop says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:46pm

nice monster. reminds me of good old lemmings...

Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Great mood and art + cool animation system and shaders !

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Great art, and strange but cool music. The gameplay is pretty simplistic though, I wish there were more ways to interact with the little people.

Pomb says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:22am

Really cool mood, wasn't sure if ass planting the small guys was the entirety of the goal.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:18am

The art in this is lovely, some of the best visuals I've seen this Ludum Dare. The character design worked really well but I just wish there was a little bit more gameplay or an ending when you walk to the end. Think I must have missed the other ending. Beautiful entry though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]