Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Can I Haz Monsters?

by Omiya Games - Jam Entry

As a traveller in a foreign land, you must learn the language of these strange creatures to let them help you make your way through. Find all the alien words and talk to everyone you meet, and you could unlock the power of the monsters!

Concept, co-programming and co-designing by John Ceceri III (http://jciii.me/)
Programming by Taro Omiya (http://omiyagames.com)

Created with Unity 5.

Log #1: Embedded WebGL build is experimental. For more stable builds, a standalone executable is recommended.

Log #2: Removed Embedded WebGL due to bugginess (Firefox on Windows always crashes). Will replace with Unity webplayer once a few things are sorted out.

Log #3: Replaced the embedded player with the Unity webplayer. All builds are updated to version 1.1: a new option, "Reset Save Data," has been added for Let's Players who likes to sample games before recording. This will reset unlocked vocabulary, as well as abilities and unlocked levels. Otherwise, NO GAMEPLAY OR GRAPHICS HAS BEEN CHANGED! So feel free to judge using this copy :-)!

Log #4: All builds are updated to version 1.2:
* Fixing pause menu showing up while conversing with monsters.
* Fixing footstep sound effects volume to take option's stored setting into consideration.
Otherwise, NO GAMEPLAY OR GRAPHICS HAS BEEN CHANGED! So feel free to judge using this copy :-)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#16Innovation(Jam)4.19
#105Overall(Jam)3.83
#191Mood(Jam)3.59
#231Humor(Jam)3.39
#272Fun(Jam)3.42
#624Theme(Jam)3.32

Comments

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:12am

Love the concept and playfulness of this. I imagine this would suit a controller pretty well!

Also, the web build works on Chrome in Linux so this is probably the first Unity game I've ever played without having to dual boot :}

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31am

The whole language learning systme is so juicy! (5/5 Innovation). And monsterish letters!

I love Monster simplistic logic talking:
- You camera?
- You give Camera, I move bridge (Talking with IQ around 15 but it's so charming)


Monster design is really cute but I hate texture used for platforms ( even solid color would be much better)

I think connection to theme is rather weak. The MONSTER part is in game but YOU ARE get lost somewhere.


PS Game feels japanese at first sight.

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

Cute & well executed!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:54am

This is a really cool idea! It's really fun coming to understand the Monsters. Overall really solid entry.

LordKawaii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:28am

I really enjoy this game. Having to lean all the language and talk to each monster really gave me a sense of immersion.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:09am

The monster language is super cute and funny, as were the designs of the monsters themselves. Platforming was sometimes mildly frustrating, but the floatiness of the jumping definitely made it more possible. More levels with more words would be fun!

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16pm

First person platforming? You monster! ;-)

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Hey, you should improve and sell this game. I loved the simplicity and the moods.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:00am

While the theme doesn't seem to try and fit that greatly the game overall is a really fun and creative idea. I'd love to see this mechanic be used in a bigger project.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:33am

Cute and charming. Love the concept. Also oddly empowering when you become a monster yourself and gain the ability to leap chasms in a single bound. :3

echokain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Very nice idea. Music and visuals are nice too. How great would it be to learn every language like this!?

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:44am

Very very cute game! I liked the idea, but there's definitely a lot more you could do with it.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:48am

Very cute game! The concept is interesting and cute original, it can be expanded a lot more. The game was a bit too linear.

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I loved playing this game. It was fun trying to communicate and not knowing a word, but then finding the word later and being able to understand. The graphics were cute, the speaking was funny, the game world was really fun and creative. GG

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:25pm

The most innovative game I've seen yet! Great job, lots of fun. Would love to see a post-compo version with more levels.

superfreak says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Really interesting game! Loved learning the language and interacting with the monsters. Really cute too :3

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Really cool idea. It was very rewarding learning new words. I really felt like I was learning how to talk with the monsters

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Nicely done, a fun cute little game! I like the the language stuff. Would've been cool if there was some language puzzle solving, like figuring out what they're saying on your own, instead of through prompts :D

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:37am

Hey, loved the game. I feel like anything I could say is regurgitation of previous praise but...: the game felt very polished, fun for any age, and had a unique atmosphere. Would have to hear it to say confidently that I'd love to see voice acting for language learned! Solid game!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:57am

Love the sprites. Had some strange issues with advancing text (though that appears to be on our end). It worked way better in the web player.

Thought the mechanic as it's a really different way of interacting and playing with the game.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:06am

Amazing game! Very cute, loved the aesthetic and how you animated the monsters. Gave it a handmade paper cut out feel. Really really cool mechanic. One of the most innovative games I've played so far.

Lynx says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:15am

One of the most innovative concepts I've seen in a Ludum Dare in a long time! I must admit though, I don't feel so much as a monster...as more of an alien...but tomato, potato. The unique language developed for the monster's is really well done. I await the Haz Monster dictionary release at my local bookstore this fall :)

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Hey, this is excellent! I loved how complete it was, there seemed to be no serious rough edges or smth. Talking to monsters is fun, they themselves are cool dudes/dudettes, and that monster jump is just awesome, I liked it.
Still - why a checkpoint on the final exit platform on Level 6? :) And I'd like a way to say thanks, at least to the provider monster on the level 6, who gave me all I needed. :)

Cheers!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:18am

Pretty fun, I loved the language acquisition mechanic. The controls were a little floaty, and the footstep sounds were more business man in a suit than squishy monster. The music was great.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:01am

Very cool idea!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Very imaginative and unique idea for a game - I really liked it! The only thing I disliked was that the movement felt a little clunky at times but I got used to it rather quickly. Very nice, well done!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice unique mechanic! Looking around was a bit floaty and I wasn't keen on always focusing on the monster when talking, mainly because it made me fall off the edge! ^_^ Overall a nice little jam entry, well done! :)

Dizzly says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Excellent entry. What I can say is that I found it too much simple to complete, but given the mechanics you decided to implement there is no other way of doing that I guess. First person controller feels little unprecise, but that is just to say. It stil fits good into the game

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:09am

Overall 5/5
Brilliant idea! Great presentation! A puzzle game build around words...

Mase says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:02am

I like the concept and the drawings are charming. But, speaking to the monsters seemed too automatic. A more interactive language system might’ve been interesting.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Great game! I love how the game rules built up slowly as you learned new words. It would be cool to see more done with this concept.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Camera was a bit slow... I don't love having to swipe across my mouse pad 3 times just to turn 90 degrees :/

I think the game was pretty good, but the gameplay would have been the same if you WEREN'T the monster so that's a bit lacking in the Theme.

Also, while the concept is really innovative, I think it'd be even more fun if the monsters' text was legible enough to try to play through some kind of hard mode that removed the translations so the player would have to take notes and figure out what words mean through context clues.

IE: Rather than just picking up words, you can find the clock which has "fibble" written on it. There! "Fibble" means clock. Then you can ask if someone has a "fibble" and they'll say "Gar" so you can write that "gar" means no. Then you can give the clock to them and ask if they have it, then they'll say
"Sar" which would be written down as meaning yes.

I just think that'd be a bit more fun and difficult to solve the puzzles that way

shawn42 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:10pm

I liked the look and feel of this game a lot. The puzzles were a little slow for my taste, but fun and interesting. Great work!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:35pm

@BtheDestroyer Yeah, adding hard mode where the sentences weren't translated for you was something we had in mind (as well as an in-game notepad). We didn't have the time to implement both.

peterthehe says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:13am

Quite amazing. Excellent work. Innovative.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Loved the idea! :) i like the holographic words, the concept, the paper monsters and just the overall design :)
3d movement were smooth too!
well done to you guys! :)

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:33am

Really nice concept, I just can't remember another game in LD with this mechanic. Nice music and really nice monster speech sound - feels really alien. I liked monster sprites and props but the islands and skybox are a bit out of place IMO. Controls are ok (maybe camera could move faster). Don't ask me why, but somehow the atmosphere in this game reminds me of Super Mario from N64.

It's actually really cool how the theme is touched here (dunno if it was the intention or just how I see it). They are "monsters" only while you don't understand them. When you do, you are a monster too. Thoughtful!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Cool concept, cute, fun game. I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

Ellian says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Woah, this is a real nice concept. A shame I can't rate graphics, the monsters are really cool looking, and so are the colors.
Really smart and well done, that's an amazing idea you got there. :)

Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Great entry ! Really innovative and fun ! As everyone said the idea is interesting, good job :)

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:12pm

@LTyrosine In regards to the theme, yup, that was very intentional. The original pitch of the game was, "you're stuck in an alien world, and to escape from it, you have to blend in and even pass off as an alien." We've obviously simplified the idea further to just the language system, but "becoming a monster (or really, adopting with the natives)" was definitely in our minds making this.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:15pm

@Ellian Graphics isn't part of the ratings because, well, they're not original. We found them on OpenGameArt.org, and per Jam rules, we've opted out. You can always check the credits to see their names and original artist.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Pretty fun puzzle platformer. I like the idea of becoming a monster by learning their language.

BoyWithStick says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:28am

Really love the concept. Building a language to use as a mechanic was so cool. The graphics for the monsters are great. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]