Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Eggplant Escape

by cinnamonmelonpig - Compo Entry

You are the eggplant monster, you hate water and knifes!

Arrows to control and space to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#120Graphics3.93
#160Fun3.52
#160Humor3.43
#241Overall3.43
#284Mood3.26
#303Audio3.08
#744Innovation2.54
#817Theme2.65

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:11am

Fun and Frustrating! The Two Fs that make for a good game!

Sublustris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice game :)

EmanP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Really smooth animations. 5/5 graphics

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Clean controls and look. Goofy theme. Not exactly a monster, but fun anyway!

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Frustrating at times, but fun. Love the art style. :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

haha nice idea of game, gameplay has some problems, but overall is nice.

Skoggy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Very cute eggplant :) really like the wiggle and all that.

Connors says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:35pm

It's pretty fun and has clean graphics. It's also fairly hard, but luckily there are plenty of respawn checkpoints.

The music loop is reeeally short.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I always thought a top down platformer to be interesting but I don’t think I’ve played many of them before. I found it weird not to be able to jump over knives.
I like the details you put in like the wobble as the eggplant walks and the trail the puffs out behind it.
It would be good to display how many keys you have.

backlashblues says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Entertaining and difficult, but with the many respawn points it was still fun. I didn't understand the scoring system though.

MaesK says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Nice graphics and animations, beautiful to see. Good work with the map, it's not overly original but it's fun to complete. Great work

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56pm

The real monster is the level designer!

xvw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Love the graphics & animation!

The meaning of this game is to see how many times you're ready to kill the hero for no purpose? :D

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Great game. Frustrating and enjoyable. Animations were terrific, shame about the static graphics (maze).

Jacktheviper says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:37pm

The graphics were very charming and the controls were well calibrated, the sound design worked well enough except for background music that became a bit distracting after a while.

One thing about the difficult is that I felt that it got too high pretty fast, but at the same time there wasn't any meaningful punishment for dying, for example after you get a key it is often better to die than to backtrack to the door , this made the game somewhat frustrating, it could've been a little longer with a smoother difficult curve.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]