Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Phylactery

by NightShadow0 - Compo Entry

Update (Aug 24): Fixed a dumb html bug, should auto-focus when clicked on (and actually run) now. No changes to the game.

Shortly after completing the ritual that turned you into a Lich, you were captured and sealed in a forgotten tomb for longer than you can remember. Your fading power is still enough to call out to your most feeble of minions, whom you have tasked with finding and retrieving your phylactery. They are on the way back to you now. However, their return has not gone unnoticed...

Phylactery is a weird mix of roguelike, stealth, and tower defense mechanics. As a Lich, you directly control your undead minion as it reaches your tomb. Knights are also entering and exploring your tomb, and your minion must avoid them and block their path to reach your coffin successfully.

Controls:
*Directional keys / WASD / ZQSD: Move character.
*M: Open/close full map view.
*N: Mute.
*Any other button: Open action menu / confirm option / advance message.

Game made in Unity; artwork made in Photoshop; music generated in cgMusic, edited in Audition; sounds generated in Bfxr.


Edit (Aug 24): Thanks for the feedback so far, i probably didn't make this clear enough, but you have to make your zombie interact with the glowing coffin by pressing up against it.

Edit (Aug 31): The word "phylactery" is not, in fact, misspelled all over the game, including the title screen; it is intentional, because the lich is named Phil. That's my excuse, which i definitely did not make up just now, and i'm sticking to it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#213Audio3.26
#329Innovation3.22
#431Theme3.45
#472Overall3.12
#489Mood2.97
#500Fun2.97
#617Humor2.35
#727Graphics2.55

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:47am

Couldn't run the game. I receive this message (using OSX and Safari):
An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
SyntaxError: Unexpected token '<'

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06am

Having the same issue being unable to play. Will come back later and try again.

im-oab says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:08am

Can't play.

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:27am

I also can't play it, but I will definetely come back here later because description got me interested.

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Sorry guys, i screwed up the html file. Should work now, and should auto-focus when clicked on. Thanks for letting me know!

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Good graphics, fun to play. I found the multi-stage gameplay structure pretty interesting. Wish there were more features!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:44pm

The music and story bits were very cool. I couldn't quite figure out the objective. Eventually I realized I had to try to build walls to keep the knights away, but still couldn't figure out how to win. Still, pretty fun and well done.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Interesting concept! I couldn't manage to beat it, but it was fun! It felt like building blockades didn't help me much as knights kept spawning and they seemed to destroy them in fewer turns than it took me to build them.

tMalicet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:51pm

There is a lot of work here but I couldn't really get the objective.

The camera is really jolting.

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Thanks for the feedback so far guys, i probably didn't make this clear enough, but you have to make your zombie interact with the glowing coffin by pressing up against it.

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Pretty original mechanics, neat puzzle element.

Jacic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice idea, and pretty fun to play! :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:32am

Really nice soundtrack!

It's a good concept, definitely worth expanding on post jam. I'd work on trying to make it clearer what do to and how to do it, as I had a bit of trouble working it out at first.

sleazywizard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Nice entry! Would have loved to have a way to keep a mini-map in the corner during regular play

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:33pm

So unique. Make an awesome post compo version, update the graphics and such!

bradur says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Very confusing! This game had lots of work put into it, since it had so much different things going on. The story was interesting, but because it was hard to see what the main goal was, it suffered from it. Good job on implementing so much in such a short timeframe, though!

samreid says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Nice work, keep it up! Great premise.

superfluous says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Good concept. I couldn't get blockades to work, so I felt like I was missing out on part of the game. I still had fun and I'm impressed with this after only 48 hours.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Neat game. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mbmK1PaRvAU

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Windows build? I run chrome so I can't play the web one.

backlashblues says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:06pm

It took a really long time to load, but it was worth it because I played for several rounds and had fun. I spent most my time in the map move, moving while zoomed out. Had a little trouble figuring out the controls – clicking the build button closed the window instead of building as expected. But other than that, it's pretty polished for 48 hours! Great music. Congrats on finishing!

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Oh jokes it's because I had disabled hardware acceleration. I'll be back to play this soon :)

solkar says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:56am

Cannot play

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Really fun concept. Music is great, very fitting, made me feel like a lich. Keep expanding the game! -oTIs

tanjent says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Outstanding music, best tune in this LD by far!

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I like the text in this game :)

I had difficulty getting more than two minions to the tomb. But I managed to beat the game once on my fourth or fifth try, once I figured out how to get rid of knights without dying as the lich. I'm a little unsure how to use the barricades properly, seeing as they take a lot longer to build than to destroy. Seems like if I built them I would be wasting my time as the knights would just catch up.

I think the graphics could use a little bit of work. A nicer palette would've made a bit of a difference I think.

This game was fun! I'm glad I stuck through to beat it!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:35am

I really like this. It has a great premise, decent music and audio, good execution and innovative mechanics.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 10:46am

Thanks for playing and rating, everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]