Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Hop

by AntonyBaasan - Jam Entry

(Thank you all for the reviews. We added Single Player mode as you asked and decreased shoot power. CHECK OUT Post Jam build)

Welcome to Galaxy Hop.

Where you flick cut little critters and try to clear the board.

How to play:
Click on the character you want to flick.
Hit the space bar to pick a direction
Hit the space bar again to pick a speed.
Watch your monster fly!

Knock all of your opponent’s critters off the board to win!
_______________________________________________

This game was created by:

Antony Baasandorj
Game Concept
Programming

David Hearn
Game Design
Concept Art
3D Art

We hope you enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#109Innovation(Jam)3.69
#130Fun(Jam)3.65
#242Overall(Jam)3.57
#256Audio(Jam)3.40
#380Humor(Jam)3.05
#418Graphics(Jam)3.60
#502Mood(Jam)3.15
#853Theme(Jam)2.98

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

Interesting chess/billiards mix.. I like how when you move a monster past someone else they sort of shove the other out of the way. Would have been nice to have more than one action per turn, maybe, so you could set up more complicated strategies?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Pretty good. The monsters' attack is hard to control though. Even the lowest power sends my guys over the edge.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

really interesting, i managed to do a trick shot by selecting one from the second row and hitting the monster in front of him for extra chaos :)

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15am

to graebor: Yes, the opportunities are endless. We will work when have time. Thank for the review.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:59am

Enjoyed it

Pilly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01am

This was fun! Great attention to detail and polish - initial camera work helped set the mood, and the power meter / arrows made for a satisfying experience. After trying out the "move" action once, I ended up just going with "attack" for the remainder of the game :)

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34pm

to Pilly: :) Yes, we have to do something with "Move" action, to make it more useful. Thanks for the review.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Like other said, the move action is not so useful. You should maybe combine it with the attack action? (by having an exponential jauge of power, the monster could move with low power and attack with high power)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Pretty cool! Seemed odd that there was so long of a delay between hitting space to set power and actually shooting. Needs some UI feedback there. The music and graphics were great! Moving was pointless, seemed better to attack 100% of the time.

zanenga says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Very cool! It's awesome how one monster can just destroy several other ones. Specially in the beginning.

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:48pm

A pretty fun game and an interesting concept! Too bad it's 2 players only. I liked the graphics and music too!

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:57pm

This was fun. It's interesting how all the monsters start completely aligned, as if it were a game of chess, and then it's just mayhem. I don't really see the point of using "Move" since "Attack" is more effective in every single way.
Would be nice to have a basic AI so we could play single player.

Great job nonetheless, I had fun!

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:58pm

fun but you need 2 people. that's my only complaint

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:09am

Cool entry, its a really interesting take on a board game. I could see this getting really deep with just a bit more added! Nice work!

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:16am

Fun graphics and music! I didn't have a friend to play against, but it seems like it would be a good time. I remember playing a game like this with checkers pieces when I was younger.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:16am

Ohhh, the first game I really liked! Music was spot on, mood was solid, unfortunately I have no friends to play with so I had to beat myself up. Gameplay felt a little slow in response time, wouldn't mind seeing different monsters use different abilities? Think you could expand this and make a real game out of it.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:15am

Thanks for the ideas guys. Soon we are going to work on online mode.

dwemthy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:21am

Fun concept. Lots of potential. Controlling the strength of a flick was difficult.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:21am

Very interesting, like the style, thank you for your game well done!

TeamOA says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:59am

Pretty good!

Pantoufle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:43am

Really good game!
I loved the graphics, the music and the overall idea.
It's well realized and quite fun to play.
At first, I couldn't control the power of the attack, but if I play long enough, I may become good at it :-)
The idea is simple but I think there's depth in this game.
And for just two guys, you did a wonderful job! Congrats!

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Nice little game. Good job!

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Interesting mechanic. At some point I wasn't even using "move" anymore, only "attack". It was easy for me to control the attack intensity.
If you really want players to need to use "move" you could maybe set some energy cost and make the "attack" cost more energy???
Anyways it's a lovely looking game! The environment is cool too. Great work with the soundtrack :)

Kizler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:16am

I really really love this game. I want to see where you take it next. I kinda want to be able to move multiple characters up until there isn't any time left, then quickly select attack. That way move actually does something useful. :D

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:26am

Good Idea Kizler, we will save it for future. Tthank you

Togimaro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Great! It's a good concept and fun with two player! The solo mode Post Jam is also good

Denis347 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Really unique idea. I think it would've been great game on mobile devices and with online multiplayer.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]