Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Monster Thee

by vladimirdlc - Jam Entry

So here is a prototype of what I would have liked to be kind of different Hero's Quest (or Monster Quest?), playing a little with the 4th wall, with Unity programmer art, and some cool tunes and fx's.

I think I may need a day to finish this off but sadly gotta work today :(

----Music/Fx Credits----
Main theme: Incompetech
Title: Exit the Premises
Genre: Electronica Collection: Hard Electronic
Time: 3:30 128 BPM (Allegro - Pretty Fast)
Instruments: Synths, Percussion

Title: Rain Inside House
About: Created by mark diangelo. i recorded this one a while ago. it is rain without backround noise.
Uploaded: 03.27.13 | License: Attribution 3.0 | Recorded by Mark DiAngelo
http://soundbible.com/2065-Rain-Inside-House.html

http://soundbible.com/1176-Sword-Swing.html
Title: Sword Swing
About: Another great sword swing sound effect. could also be use for a small sword, war axe, axe, or tomahawk attack.
Uploaded: 11.13.09 | License: Attribution 3.0 | Recorded by Mike Koenig

http://soundbible.com/1414-Batman-Punch.html
Title: Batman Punch
About: Great batman and robin punch sound effect. not the wham, but a great hit impact sound effect.
Uploaded: 05.07.10 | License: Sampling Plus 1.0 | Recorded by CGeffex

https://github.com/vladimirdlc/LD33_TheMonster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2273Coolness10%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:34am

11000 points. Would love to see the sword mechanic developed further!

MAnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:16am

10200 points. For me will be your code inspirating.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:03am

I guess I didn't get it.

DeadFragment says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Felt a bit clunky to attack, and there wasn't really much to it.
Also, I don't think you should enter into audio if you didn't make any of it, seems a bit pointless.

// Hando

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:48am

11900. Killing was satisfying, and is a mechanic I'd like to see developed further, else spamming left click can become tiresome! 7/10.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]