Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I Want To Be The Bully!

by Toccio - Jam Entry

Hi everybody!

I didn't believe that i would manage to do it this time!

So here is my game, I hope you will enjoy it!

Created using C++ with SFML 2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#449Humor(Jam)2.93
#496Fun(Jam)3.10
#677Overall(Jam)3.04
#830Graphics(Jam)2.73
#907Theme(Jam)2.84

Comments

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:35am

Extremely difficult, I couldn't get past 3 or 4 captures before I was hit and the meter was reset completely. I liked the concept, and I liked the F Graded paper transition between games. I don't know if the meter had to be full to get a +1 to size, but I didn't notice any growth. Overall, not a bad game, just extremely difficult !

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:37am

Quite hard but at the same time really addicting! The How-To page doesn't seem to tell you about all the mechanics, but besides that it's great fun.

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:48am

Damn this is insanely hard.
But it's cute, the music is adorable and the teacher gameplay is a really smart idea !

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:52am

Fun game and cool concept, but way too difficult. The ability to move diagonally would have been extremely helpful.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:15pm

That was fun! Extremely difficult

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48pm

I had a lot of fun with this entry, it reminds me a lot of older web games. In a good way, I assure you. My only complaint was that it was way too hard. I'd suggest having being hit not take you back all the way to the bottom (maybe just take a chunk of the meter), and some diagonal movement as well.

silentlamb says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I really like the music, it's catchy. Great job!

Toccio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I know the game it's a bit hard, but i didn't have much time to balance it, i'm sorry!
I also didn't have time to make Square moves diagonally.
@Gravity, the bully that are just one level more than u will only empty the meter!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Way too difficult, one mistake causing you to start the entire game over is just sadistic.

That said, though, the general mechanic of the game, eating smaller guys and dodging bigger guys, is pretty fun.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I was hoping to see my own square growing and the game didnt disappoint me :)
Loved the ending where you kicked the teacher to smithereens :D

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:41am

Idea it's original but I think it's as difficult as Twitch play Dark Souls... When you grow up, crashing once means a hard punishment.

Overall a nice work!

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Fun mechanics but way too difficult. Liked the music too.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Very cool and addictive game. I did not immediately understand that you can hide in the lockers, but once I got the hang of it this was a really cool mechanic. That the others look left/right before disappearing in the lockers is really well done. as others mentioned, it is quite hard - to hard for me to finish the game.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Fun and addictive but way too hard. I could see this as a cool mobile game, but the difficulty would need to be nerfed! I like the game otherwise.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Although rather enjoyable it is extremely difficult and the fact that they almost move at the same speed as you do means that sometimes the game just checkmates you... and then you start over.
Or maybe I'm just not ninja enough :)

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Too difficult, theres a factor of addiction in there. Maybe try not to randomize the spawn rates and add a pattern. There are so many instances where it's impossible to avoid anything. Not to mention the controls are really wonky. Diagonal movement might help. Good luck on your future games xD

reiknight says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Addicting game.

bradur says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Fun idea and well executed! It was a little too hard though, perhaps you could stay on your current level when you die? I found starting again very tedious. Music was well done!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice game! Quite hard but very addictive

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

OccamsRazor says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:54am

Wow, now that was challenging. But all the same, really cool idea, and great execution! I had a lot of fun with it!

DeadFragment says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:25pm

You could make it easier to play initially and then increase the difficulty the larger you get. Overall a good concept though and the music really suited it.

-Neith

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Needs a difficulty curve. Its ok for it to be hard, but should have some ramp up so players can get accustomed to the mechanics. -oTiS

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]