Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fear of the dark

by Inateno - Jam Entry

!! This a multiplayer game, the server can crash and if I don't notice it tweet me :) !!

Fear of the dark is a game based on the card game "werewolves".
You'll play a random class character, to play in good condition you have to be at least 4.

If you are a monster, you have to stay in the darkness to be able to kill the humans players, if you go in light you will change to human appearance, but be careful that other players doesn't see you at the moment you came in the light.

If you are not a monster, you have to survive, different classes have different goals, standard human can kill others players, but don't kill everyone or you will loose points, if you suspect someone to be a monster let him make a mistake and be fast to kill him at the right moment.

You can talk with other players to defend yourself "I'm not a monster" -> "well proove it", find your own way to deal with other players.

The game is made with HTML5 using the DreamEngine + PIXI.

*all of this is experimental*
It's a multi-player browser game, and it will not work on mobile device because we made controls for gamepad and keyboard only, also if you are on secured or restricted network you will maybe cannot play it due to port usage, but if you are on standard access that's okay.

Warning: it's possible you issue some lag due our light library, we tried on low computer and seems fine, but... just in case :)

Credits:
- OLA & Naya as artists
- Ced as Level Designer and programmer
- Inateno as programmer, music and fx composer (mainly with my voice :p )

Edit: I added sources on github for those who are curious :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#614Innovation(Jam)2.89
#617Audio(Jam)2.46
#724Graphics(Jam)2.96
#856Mood(Jam)2.65
#860Theme(Jam)2.97
#910Humor(Jam)1.91
#916Overall(Jam)2.74
#1042Fun(Jam)2.25

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

Really impressed that you managed to make an online game for the jam. Nice work

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:53am

Ahah thank you, creating a multiplayer isn't the "hard part" when you get used to :) (+ with nodejs it's really fast)

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32am

Not really sure what the gameplay was like because nobody joined. In game graphics were creepy (in a good way).

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:10am

Join now there is few people around, the gameplay is quite simple, the point is to use light or darkness :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Sh*** I'm on a restricted network. Looks nice and good gameplay idea by the way!

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13pm

It looks amazing! No other users in for me though, so didn't get to try it "for real".

MFEP says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:15am

Great concept, but poorly realized, the graphics, the music and the controls could be much better. With some major improvements it could become a great game.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:46am

Won't rate it as nobody was on the server. I'm merely leaving a message to test it later :).

Yamzho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:51am

+1 for multiplayer !

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:29am

There was someone on there briefly and then left so I don't have much to go on by but what I've seen and read it's really awesome! I love the card game Werewolf so that's an added bonus. Making a multiplayer game in a jam is a great thing! I'll have to come back and play when more people are on the server!

Overall fantastic stuff.

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Thank you all guys, I know that the problem is to play when there is someone else, I do my best to stay on the game but it's "faked" and I don't like this also after few hours I get borred.

The best solution is to play with a friend (and on skype you'll laugh a lot) you can also ask on twitter I'm sure you can find someone ^^'

Next LD I'll do a solo game, promise xD

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:23pm

So this is an online multiplayer game? Working in a browser? Made within 72 hours? Sweet. Does this use websockets or something else?

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:48am

I could not play with anybody but looks great! Stars!

Inateno says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:15pm

@Jani Nykänen yes, yes, yes and yes :D
Doing a multiplayer game in 72hours or less is not so hard when you are used to it.

Also the engine I used is in native JavaScript so yes this run in the browser.

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:04pm

It's nice to be online, but there is nobody there (maybe mobs could help for testers).(:

Lucho9 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:28pm

wow, an online game? it s a very cool idea, a shame i have to wait for anyone to show up. the movement is kinda awkward, the music and graphics were creepy and i like it

adsilcott says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Seems like a fun game but no one was in the game at the time. Cool art style.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I was on my own, which was a shame because I thought this game looked good.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Too style ! I smile playing this game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]