Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Trick Parade

by SimonLarsen - Jam Entry

### If you get stuck, on a objective or battle, try talking to the NPCs around town! ###

Welcome to Trick Parade!

It's halloween time, and you know what that means; Getting pranked and scared by the older kids on your block! But this time will be different, determined to take your revenge on the schoolyard bully, you embark on a quest to become a master of tricks and scares!

But first you will need a costume!

## Gameplay ##

Trick Parade is an RPG with a twist! Use your enemies fears against them, through mix of menu based combat and mini-game mayhem!

Widen your arsenal through the acquisition of a variety of creepy costumes, only the scariest kid can frighten the schoolyard bully!

## Controls ##

Movement - Arrow Keys
Action/Confirm - D

## Credits ##

Art: Hernan Zhou (@HernanZh)
Art: Lukas Erritsø Hansen (@LukasErritsoe)
Programming: Simon Jonas Larsen (@SimonLarsen)

Music by Incompetech (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/
- Come play with me
- Carnival Intrigue
- Anguish

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#9Overall(Jam)4.33
#19Fun(Jam)4.10
#30Theme(Jam)4.25
#33Mood(Jam)4.20
#41Innovation(Jam)4.02
#53Humor(Jam)4.00
#71Graphics(Jam)4.40

Comments

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:30am

What a fantastic game. Graphics are impressive, gameplay is good, although the fights could've done with a bit of a faster pace in my opinion, but the variation of minigames does make it a lot better. Nice to see a fellow Lover making such a cool game :)

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57pm

I love this game!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Excellent all round! I really like the interpretation of the theme, and the halloween trappings make for a very consistant mood! I did spot a typo when you're hit by an enemy, and it might be worth switching the second killer ghost with the splatter wolf since he can be skilled, but other than that, I'd say the entire game was well excecuted!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:59am

I really liked the audio. really great job

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:01am

Really good game solid in every aspect. The mini games were really refreshing!

Keep up the good work!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Wow! Fantastic entry.
Mixup between RPG and Wario Ware work perfectly.
I love the game atmosphere.
Great job!

sennin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:55am

The battle style is awesome!
My favorite battle after playing for a few battles was the one where you avoid being caught by the net while flying leftward.

The rock-paper-scissor element while simple, added a good bit of more dept to the game.

A bit of criticism.
After fighting so many times, the battles got a bit boring,... felt the heavy grinding feel, like being skinner-boxed with not enough reward to keep me interested.
May have helped if the battles were progressively more challenging,... after about 10 battles, the strobe-light scare, the cup-flying scare, and the break-the-door scare felt like chore since it had not much challenge essence to it. The upside of this is that my 6-year-old daughter was able to play the game with the right amount of challenge to keep her engaged.

I really appreciate that the game has been a pleasure for both me and my daughter to play.
Thank you for the delightful entry.

SimonLarsen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:40pm

@sennin: Thank you for your feedback.
Yeah. We had assets and ideas for many more minigames but sadly didn't have time enough to implement them.

The games were supposed to be separated into categories and the games you'd see would depend on the attack types selected. Might still happen if we make a post-jam version.

Very happy you we're able to shared the experience with your daughter though!

r8berto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Just Brilliant

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:24pm

AWESOME!Really funny!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:41pm

I can't believe this was made in just 3 days. I'm a little sick of rock paper scissors, but I get it. Game was great, love warioware mini's, fantastic.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Works pretty well with everything. I wasn't blown away but I got some laughs out of it and it was pretty fun. I could not beat the ghost dog so the mini games can be pretty difficult even though there are not that many of them.

razieliyo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Wow! nice work here guys!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Really nice to see and to hear. I love this wario-ware kind of game :-)

Skyfish says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04pm

I liked this quite a lot. The progressively harder Warioware-style combo system is pretty cool.

The music got old a bit fast, but other than that it pretty impressive for a jam.

-TZer0

redzero says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04pm

awesome game!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Very polished game.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:35pm

This game resonated with me. Great job guys!

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:56am

This is a very unexpected use of the theme!
I simply loved it!
Nothing to say more, the mini-games were hilarious and very well done!

Thanks for the good time I spent!

Tselmek says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Amazing pixelart, the combat system with the minigames is really nice. Very polished entry!

rogberth says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:12pm

One of the best games in LD I played. Congrats!!! The only bad thing is that combats get a bit too repetitive but apart from that every thing was perfect. Special mention to the music composer! man the soundtrack!!

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:52pm

spooper nintendo

This is a pretty great entry, best I played so far. The minigames were neat and the graphics were appealing. Very nice game, 9spooky.

LeoM says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Nice entry but a bit long and repetitive for me.
I never know what costume i need to use (even if the wolf told me)
I stop after I get the flashlight personally.

Ybalrid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Graphics are great, This is fun. I like the "pokemon" feel of the map.
I like the minigame combat. It's a bit warioware-esque with the timer and everything. great work! :D

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Amazing! You've done it again. I couldn't find the flashlight though...

Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Amazing soundtrack combining with some fine arts! You guys did a fantastic job with this entry! You should be proud! It was a lot of fun!

-Loi LeMix

Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:45pm

That was surprisingly fun. Nice work!

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:48am

When I had to pick the scary mask before the candle burned down, I felt excited. On OS/X, when I picked the zombie head and an error appeared, I felt discouraged.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Psst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sL_22puDtCQ

Drauthius says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Very nice concept packed fulled with a lot of content. I liked that the "fights" got harder the more scares you already had. Although they were a bit repetitive in the long run, since there were many fights.

GFM says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:24pm

The ending was really great! I liked the idea, specially for a jam game, but it needs more mini-games... it's a pity you guys couldn't get to do it.

Great entry!

GertJohnny says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:38am

I enjoyed it quite a bit! Totally gave me an earthbound vibe at the start - which is the best kind of vibe.

One main thing that I didn't like was the delay between minigames - some way to skip to the next one ASAP would have been fantastic.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:08am

Amazing take on the theme and graphics! Congratulations!

Mase says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:09am

It was kind of frustrating when I chose the wrong combo or messed up the first minigame and knew that I was doomed & had to just... fail as quickly as possible so that I could try again. I wish there'd been some kind of comeback mechanism or a way to do bonus damage.
Also more opportunities to avoid battles (via alternate paths or timing... etc.) might've been nice.
I like the concept though and the graphics are very pleasant and appropriate.
Impressive amount of content and polish as well.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:00am

So good!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]