Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Darklord

by lightsoda - Jam Entry

You need to protect the treasure from invading heroes, you do this by placing minions.

Initially intended for compo, but I decided to slack back and submit this for the jam, everything is still made from scratch by me.

------------------

Updates:

2015-08-27: Fixed some bugs related to pathfinding.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#346Audio(Jam)3.21
#568Graphics(Jam)3.31
#596Innovation(Jam)2.92
#767Mood(Jam)2.78
#941Humor(Jam)1.61
#950Theme(Jam)2.72
#977Overall(Jam)2.65
#1017Fun(Jam)2.31
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

Hero7785 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57pm

The AI was awful. I would just spawn a bunch of the cheap guys and I won really easily but they would get stuck everywhere.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:36pm

The gameplay could have some more polish, but I liked that the game has this look, as if it is a blueprint, good entry.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:43pm

There isn't really much strategy here, I never had to use the more expensive units. The pathfinding seems to get stuck a lot, especially with slower units. No direct control over your units means that the easiest way to win is to flood the board with units and hope that they'll make it to the heroes.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I actually liked the look quite a bit, though the first hero who walked in started moonwalking all over the place. Idea has promise though.

mungoman1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:46pm

For some reason the heroes kept getting stuck and died very easily. Buggy perhaps?

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:47pm

I think that there should have been more constraints on spawning. There is definitely a really good base here for a good game but there is definitely room to grow. I overall thought it was pretty cool ^_^

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Nice one! didn't totally get it the first time I played, but at the second time those heroes ate the dust!
I love the graphics, although in my opinion the heroes look too different from the rest, if they were to be more minimalistic they would fit the rest better. Music is also great! Good job!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Lots of fun to send out deadly cubes. But I really digged the style.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Nice art and audio.
was a little unclear on where the heroes were going to go but cool concept!
good job!

kowalski says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Interesting concept. I would really like to see a more polished version of it.

Kizler says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I generally enjoyed it, it requires a bit more balancing for units, the bulky units never got to the runner because he could just wide run around them. I could definitely see this going places with a little more tlc.

Stechas says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Interesting concept and good variability of units that could be little better with better balancing so also other three units are also beneficial as first one.

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Fun entry, it would be nice if there was a little bit more challenge, the difficulty never really stepped up enough for my massive waves of units to be dented. I like the visual style, everything seems coherent and thought out. There were a couple points where the camera would draw the walls clipped in half, probably due to a render bug. The audio is fantastic. Overall solid entry, I would love to see this taken to the next level!

cudabear says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:59pm

A good entry! The game looks great, you went for a good style and the music fits it nicely. The actual game play could use some work, as I was able to spam just about any unit (with the exception of the slow guys) and win handily.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:23am

I feel this game need a bit of polish on the AI side, the concept behind the game is really good, it's a nice kind of tower defense style game. :P

Graphics-wise, I wouldn't change much. The minimalistic approach is kind of nice, and the camera projection also feels nice for this kind of game. :)

Nice OST, btw. ;)

MrTwister says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:51am

While the heroes are definitely not the sharpest tools in the shed it was really fun to overwhelm them with units.

Loved the concept. It's a brilliant idea.
I also really enjoyed the graphics and the music. It reminded me a bit of the "old" ('80-'90s) vision/concepts of virtual worlds and "3D".

This could easily be expanded into a very intense strategy/defense game so please polish this further into a full game.

Great job man!

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:45am

You have a really good base to work on here. I like the style you've gone with :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]