Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Seaweed Face

by Anvil0008 - Jam Entry

In Seaweed Face, you play an island spirit protecting and aiding the small human civilization on your island. And just in time, too; the world is coming to an end and your humans need help!

The game is entirely multiplayer (not realtime). You must travel to the islands of other players to borrow resources and bring them back to your people. The more you are able to advance your humans, the more villages and resources you have available to you.

And, of course, you can leave silly messages on the islands of other players; thus the not kid friendly rating! Everything in the game itself is very acceptable and tame.

THIS GAME IS ONLY FUN WHEN THERE IS AT LEAST 1 OTHER PERSON ON! So have a friend play with you, or hit me up on Twitter @MrChrisLHall and I'll hop on if I can. Thanks!

EDIT: Just published version 1.0.1, which fixes the bug that error messages would not show when creating an account.
EDIT 2: Published version 1.0.2, which fixes the bug that windows builds could not read signs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#190Innovation(Jam)3.47
#830Graphics(Jam)2.73
#2016Coolness26%

Comments

godjammit says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:27am

Creating an account does nothing : c

Anvil0008 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:34pm

@godjammit Thanks for noticing that! It turns out that the game would silently reject usernames and passwords that were too short. Fixed (now it shows the error it was supposed to)!

LogGiant says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:47pm

That was more fun than I expected. It took me a lot longer than I'd like to admit to actually figure out how the movement works. I also couldn't figure out how to read signs, but I still had a bunch of fun hopping around islands borrowing things.

hinerz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Hi Chris!! Haha, this is fun! Music is kinda weird. Noone else was on, so I just jumped aorund everywhere.

Anvil0008 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Thanks for trying it out :) read signs by getting physically near them

carle13 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:47am

Good game

eddynardo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:54am

Nice idea.Really like the idea i wise there would be more people on the server playing with messages ;)

Jajo says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice graphics, very impressive that you managed to create a multiplayer game in 72 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]