Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Spooky Cuties

by OnlySlightly - Compo Entry

Spooky Cuties is a game about romance and flirtation :)

........-.
......( " )
.../\_.' '._/\...BOO!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#51Innovation3.87
#75Humor3.73
#308Graphics3.38
#419Mood3.06
#472Overall3.12
#536Fun2.92
#575Theme3.23

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16am

Very, very cute. Loved how when I would delete content, it would show me new options. Love the style.

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

Great style and nice take on the theme.

lorcanwsmith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06am

Funny little game. I liked the hand drawn art style.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:17am

Loved the typing mechanic, great interpretation.

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

funny idea of just smashing buttons for the text :D my keyboards ruined now, thanks!

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:42pm

funny to discover the different conversations, but could have more gameplay i mean different chats or something, anyway i loved it

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:18pm

laggiest UI I ever used :)

Sayuri Tagata says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

pretty cute!

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:50am

Very cute.
The abrupt ending was kinda weird though.

whalebot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:32am

Cute :) Although to be honest, I didn't see much tie in with the theme other than your picture as a ghost, but meh, it was still fun :)

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:36pm

my favorite part is being able to type like I'm an actor and all the right words come out. haha, that's actually pretty fun! (:

I also really like the look of everything.

— Drew Van Camp

axoona says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:30pm

it's so absurd, I love it! I wish it was a little longer!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:25am

Really neat idea! I like how you actually have to type, though it gets a little tiring. I'd like to see a blinking cursor, and have key-repeat working.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Hilarious. Loved the typing mechanic

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

Really great work! I love more absurd experimental games. The funny thing was I was going to name myself Greg. And then i was confused that i could not enter the age I wanted xD
I tried several times and I thought for a short time that my keyboard broke... a few seconds later I realized what was going on here.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:59am

nice innovative concept.
i like how you can rewrite stuff. :)

valid4life says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:08am

Nice typing !
Enjoyed the art haha

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:43am

Ahaha, what a cute lil' game. A little short, but I had fun! :D

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:55am

Took me a minute to realize what was going on with the typing/erasing mechanic, but once I did I laughed at the silliness and cuteness. Then I embraced my inner monster playa and got some monster hookups.

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:12pm

This is great! The art is really cute and I love how you can rewrite your responses. That's such a nice touch.

I played as Zoey one time but still typed out "I'm not a xxxxx kind of guy". Heh. The second time I played, I got to the questions about Grave of Bones and tabbed back to my profile to change it to be all about those shows. It totally worked!

I missed the desktop and the other chat tabs the first couple times, too. I got into a chat with Mark where I typed "I'm 21 years old btw", backspaced, but then couldn't type anything else. Then the screen went black. Not sure if bug or haunting.

-mildmojo

el-pepi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:34am

Very cute and original
I wish it was longer and somehow harder.

Mothdan says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:03am

This is really engrossing! And it feels alot like pretending to drive when you're a little kid with the slap-at-the-keyboard control scheme it allows, I really liked it!

High scores all around.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:24am

Nice concept. Could be fleshed out more just because I got kind of sick of spamming my keyboard to progress the text so it'd probably work better if the text automatically progressed and tapping back would just clear the whole thing.

Definitely funny though; I was chuckling to myself a few times in there.

daveh says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Fun idea. I always like things based around fictitious computer systems/programs. As others have said, wouldn't stick with the keyboard to progress text if it were longer, but it was fine for a short burst.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Good job! The art style is funny

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Fun idea, you should expand on this and make more things to do :)

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Lots of typing got on my nerves a bit. I liked the humour and wished there was more content to click on.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:45pm

It's so funny! Very cute graphics, UI well implemented, and the random texts were fun to the point of me erasing and just typing again to see what would come up. Some music would've made it even better.

Wefiends says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:12am

I loved the premise and interaction here. I wish there was more!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:08am

This is a REALLY interesting idea! Amazingly well-thought! Loved how different options would appear when you delete what you were writing. Also loved how your profile affects the options. That's BRILLIANT!

There are some bugs here and there that froze the game a couple of times, and some minor "UI" handling weirdness, but this is amazingly well done (UI systems are more complicated than what they look).

Could have used Windows95/98 SFXs for added humor and nostalgia, but I really enjoyed it as it is. :)

Good job mate.

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Ha! Nice take on the theme! I felt like I was discovering typing for the first time when I played, trying desperately to figure out how I typed a name that I didn't really type! Cute interpretation!

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:17am

When I filled out a Monsterbook profile, I smiled. If you continue to develop this, when I continued to press random keys during chat, I felt like I had no choice. I didn't realize I could delete to get another option.

nassi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:17am

Succesfully romanced fluffymummy, but the game froze after Mark_Mogwai89 said "Oh, just looking for someone :) Maybe someone made rugged and wise by time." and I deleted my first response. Post-compo version running on Pale Moon x64 (a Firefox based browser).

Interesting take on the theme, one I haven't seen before. A bit laggy on parts, but still a solid compo entry.

Flaid says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Hi, my name is spooky sara, and I'm 1208 years old. I like some TV shows that I'm assuming are about vampires, but not episodes 1-3 :). Funny stuff, liked it!

I tried to delete my conversation with someone, but it ended up crashing the game :(

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

The game seem to stop operating on a Mac on Firefox after trying to communicate with Mark_Mogwai for at least 3 conversations :(.

Oct 13, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Super cool game! Very funny. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/K5Eh9xNFJGY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]