Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Adam

by elemel - Compo Entry

NOTE: I wasn't able to finish the game. There's currently no way to win, lose or score points.

Take on the role of Adam the Monster to save Dr. Victor Frankenstein and yourself from a mob of torch-bearing villagers.

Requires LÖVE 0.9.2 [1] to play.

Controls:

- Move with the WASD or arrow keys.
- Jump with the space bar.
- Grab and throw villagers with the shift keys.

Credits:

- Music generated with Otomata [2].
- Sounds generated with as3sfxr [3].

[1] https://love2d.org/
[2] http://www.earslap.com/page/otomata.html
[3] http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#276Audio3.13
#308Fun3.25
#509Mood2.94
#575Graphics2.88
#645Overall2.94
#663Theme3.06
#697Innovation2.63
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:44am

No scoring that I could see, so no way to win or lose? But there's something very fun about grabbing a villager and throwing him into a torch-bearing mob! Nice!

elemel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:25am

OutlawGameTools: Thanks! And you're correct. I updated the description to reflect the game's unfinished state.

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:00am

1st Thought:
The throw button should be something other than shift. When dealing with a group of angry villagers, the Windows sticky keys window pops up a lot

Pros:
Like OGT said, there's something awesome about throwing villagers into other villagers. There's nothing to this game in it's current state, and I only stopped to move onto rating other games, lol.

Cons:
I don't feel like it's fair to nitpick things at this stage of development. I just wish you had more time to work on this.

Overall:
Could potentially be a fun "High Score" game.

elemel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:45am

djfariel: Thanks for the feedback. I didn't consider sticky keys... Sorry about that.

I'm kind of happy with the parts that I did finish, but I didn't achieve what I originally wanted... Next time around I will put more focus into actually finishing something, and then improve on that.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:00pm

the style is cool

geckojsc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Not bad! I agree it's not really fair to criticise the game at this point, but it would be nice to see it expanded and finished :)

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:38am

C'mon, don't stop at this point, try to make it more interesting, add some competitive things or indicators of progress. Anyway, nice game!

euske says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:01am

I like how you can throw people at others. Nice atmosphere too.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:36pm

- graphics look nice
- music is alright, not really fitting to the theme though
- i like how you can throw a villager at another villager
- Shift is probably not a good key for throwing, windows kept prompting me about turning on sticky keys
- i managed to escape by going to the right for a while until i fell offscreen

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:29pm

This is super fun! I think, if you're going to expand it (which you should because throwing people around feels really great already), maybe try some sort of mission system. It'd work as a high score attack game too though, which would be a lot quicker to implement!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:22am

Overall it was rather fun and I enjoyed what was there! Just needed to be expanded on but given the time it's totally understandable. Overall jolly good fun!

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:54am

I really dig those fire particles, very cool effect for a low-rez game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]