Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Stallman Quest

by n42k - Jam Entry

Help Stallman destroy the evil megacorporations. Clearly.

Controls:
WASD - Move around
Mouse buttons - Use things/talk

Objectives:
Get in, explode the servers, get out again through the same subway.
Discover your own secret agenda and finish it to *really* win!

Created by me and mbpd.

Parts changed after the deadline:
Added a simple loading screen, players thought the game had crashed/didn't run.
Made the win condition more obvious, since players weren't getting it.
Added a button to skip the cutscenes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#269Humor(Jam)3.30
#774Innovation(Jam)2.70
#791Fun(Jam)2.69
#845Mood(Jam)2.67
#880Theme(Jam)2.91
#907Overall(Jam)2.75
#923Graphics(Jam)2.44

Comments

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

Very interesting concept! Very engaging.

JoseArias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54am

I am playing the game using a pc so.... Oh no! Haha
Fun. Good music choice.

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

It very nice and smooth graphics. Interesting game play and works well with the theme. The people you talk to sometimes get stuck on edges, objects and walls. Other than that good job. :D

nicksantan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

Found myself playing more than a bit! Can't beat it though (don't laugh!)

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:58am

cute gane haha.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

Can't rate it properly because can't run it on web or osx. Thou screenshots seem fine. Good job for sure :D

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

I will try to build linux version either later :) web is not working either for you?

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nope!

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:03am

Now game stops after train is arriving :(

jordinuco says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:38am

Funny and with enough mood for me to finish with all of them hahaha.

Only one comment: on the web version space bar moves downwards the page ¿could you fix it?

Good job!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08pm

It's very frustrating that there's no way to know if an action will just be an instant game over.

s_jmp says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56pm

using windows kills me everytime :D.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:22pm

OMG! Did I just play what I think I played? I think I've been one of those guys following Stallman before! I was waiting for a Saint Ignucious reference, or some role for toe jam. I successfully destroyed a couple of server farms before midday. Feel pretty good about that! Great game.

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Good idea and fun to play.
The death sequence is a bit long maybe, I want to be able to try again immediately ;)

pixzleone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Cool game, some kind of ending would have been nice though!

slowfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Interesting adventure but the respawn is clearly too long (30s when you die).

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Dying/restarting takes waaaaay to0 long with the fade and train scene each time. Other than that, its an interesting take on the theme.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36pm

There are a lot of random things that you can die from. This'd be fine, but it takes a bit too long to restart. A near instant respawn would be welcome. There isn't much visual feedback to the explosions, maybe some screenshake? Otherwise the company-critical messages and the gameplay were mildly amusing, if not anything I'd play for long.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:12pm

The music was great! Laughed out loud when I finished the first level and heard the Skype song in the next one!

The subway intro was nice and lent a cool Groundhog day type of feeling every time I restarted.

Dying from using a windows computer was funny but felt pretty unfair at the same time!

Being able to talk to the scientists/workers or whatever they were to make them follow and stay worked well enough as a mechanic but took me a while to figure out that's what they did as they used the same exclamation mark as the guards that would actually kill me when they saw me instead of following.

Solid entry, nice presentation but overall the mechanics were a bit too simplistic to keep me engaged for a longer period of time.

Well done!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:31pm

That was rather amusing. Sometimes it was really hard to tell what was going on, but overall it was fun. I died at MS to a guard glitching through a wall, but before that everything ran really smooth.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Trying to play, but it stops at "Loading images... 35/36" :(

Keon says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Also getting 35/36 images and then stopping on embedded, web, and windows versions.

eddynardo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Cool game.Restarting was boring but it was overall a nice entry!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Nice entry! Well presented and the graphics are cool.
Interesting and well thought out levels, good job!

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:42am

hahah, what an odd entry, very good work though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]