Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Candy Theif

by Xeke_Death - Compo Entry

Before you comment on the title, play the game...!
This was made in about 4 hours, don't expect much depth...

Mouse only, click required only once...
Might work or touch devices, I haven't tested it, but don't count on it...

Move your monster around by moving the mouse...
Try not to move the mouse out of the play area, it can make controlling harder if you don't mouse in at the same place you moused out...

Collect candy and avoid cross-hairs...
High score is currently 150...

Created with
Phaser 2.4.2
Photoshop
Sounds made in SFXR: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
Some music generator I found on the LD site here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2011/12/13/if-you-find-it-hard-to-make-music-read-this/




And now, for the final disclaimer:
Yes, it is misspelled intentionally... When I first created the project folder, I misspelled 'thief', then had the awesome idea to leave it that way because I am the monster...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#472Fun3.00
#493Humor2.65
#690Overall2.88
#710Mood2.59
#776Graphics2.44
#822Theme2.64
#879Innovation2.08
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Really simple and fun at the same time. Love the art also !

psychonull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

Very simple and fun game. Really addictive.

Aelius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Why would you be a monster for not correcting a typo in your own game? People who'd force you to correct it are the monsters, it's your game after all.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04am

@Aelius No one can force me to correct anything... But typos and mistakes can bother people... And the knowledge that I will never correct it will be with them forever, they shall be bothered by the typo forever!!! MWA HA HAA!!!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:36am

Surprisingly fun and addictive! My only complaint is that a crosshair spawned directly on the monster three times in a row which was a bit annoying. :)

goet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:46am

This is just lazy as hell. I don't care how long it took you to make it.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Hahah, cool idea, and an interesting game

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:58pm

This is a very simple game, in fact, a little too simple. It gets a bit boring, soon. Things I liked are the cute grahics and the tune. Thus, considering the extremely short creation time, it's a nice little game.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Not bad, but not very innovative either.

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Hehe, nice one. Simple but fun to play. But am i missing some house gfx? It is just a black screen with player and crosshair?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]