Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Only a Monster Would Pop Children's Balloons!

by mustaine - Jam Entry

Making kids cry by popping their balloons is definitely the work of a monster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Theme(Jam)4.08
#117Humor(Jam)3.71
#173Innovation(Jam)3.51
#272Fun(Jam)3.42
#313Overall(Jam)3.47
#477Graphics(Jam)3.50
#634Mood(Jam)2.97
#682Audio(Jam)1.65
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26am

Cannot use start button :/ Is there a game behind ?

mustaine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:27am

What build? I just re-tested all 3 and it worked without issue?

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21am

This game is great! Love the idea, the art was nice and consistent and the children dropping to the ground crying was hilarious.

It's a shame there was no audio and from the screenshot I was hoping you could move around and avoid parent's vision but the gameplay was still enjoyable while stationary.

4/5 :)

Pedrito73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37am

cool game, great idea. Fun!

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Really interesting take on the theme. Devilishly fun! I enjoyed the reactions of the sad children! xD

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Wow! You get 10 out of 5 stars on "Theme".
Graphics is also great, really in the mood of happy children, walking casually in the park. Kind of some theme park, colorful and calm.
I really missed the audio, just some balloons pops would be cool.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Love the idea, the tantrum animation where they jump up and throw themselves on the ground bawling blue particles was hilarious. Only problem is that it's easy to keep the game going forever by avoiding popping too many childrens' last balloons. Nice work!

madjackmcmad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great work! Fine take on the theme too. I was a little unsure of how to keep my score up for a while, since balloons are worth 10 but leaving is -25, but I started to try and wait for kids with 1 balloon left were almost off the road, to prevent them from crying on screen. Did that help me any?

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Good idea on the concept, you were definitely thinking out of the box here. Nice work!

UltraRat says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:46am

Helicopter parents, ruin everything. ;)

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:53am

That was fun, a bit cruel but fun.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:26am

Love this game, I think the best way to play is make sure you leave at least 1 balloon on each person. Really addictive!

brombatti says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:00am

Great idea, I do feel like a monster. It was not very challenging though.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:06am

I didn't have audio either. Popping the balloons was fun. Perhaps some sort of dynamic that challenges you to pop all balloons before they leave the screen to challenge the popping skills? Or maybe I'm just a monster and wanted to pop all of their balloons...regardless what the parents thought... muuuaaahhhaaaahaaaa ;)

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:25am

Interesting idea. Was there any way to preserve the combo and not get the parents too aware of the children crying? Ah, I am the monster.

kidando says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:43am

I like how the kids throw tantrums when they turn into ragdolls... lol. Simple game and true to the theme. Wish there was sound fx though. Congrats on submitting your entry.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Funny game. I like how the kids cry after you pop all of their balloons. Good job.

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Game works well. The theme is very well apllied here.

I didn't managed to find a good strategy, since ballons removes points when leaving screens I just had to pop them all but there's so many that I have to spam to destroy them. Am I Missing something ?

Otherwise, Good job. I really like the kids reaction when you pop all the their balloons.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:16pm

HAhaha diabolic :D I'm terrible person, and I enjoy it. The awarness level is a nice addition. But once you get the hang of it, it seemed to me that there were no challenge anymore. I pop all baloon but one on each kid so they don't cry, I make one cry from time to time, and if one gets out, well I only lose -25.

Still, fun and original :)

mustaine says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Definitely a balancing act in keeping the combo high and not making the parents nuts! I've had a 12x multiplier at one point by carefully managing the # of popped balloons and riding the line with parental awareness! It's a challenge to get a real score in this :)

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Well done. Nice game. Nice rope animation and baloon animation,0 felt like real baloons.

Marjie62 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Good concept, great realization, nice graphics and fun gameplay!
Not sure if there was supposed to be audio, but I couldn't hear anything.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:53pm

mouhahahahahahaha !!!!!!
"All your Balloon are belong to us"
nice concept

RoundFork says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Helicopter Parents... Ruining my fun.. hehe :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]