Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

ENTROPY

by ENDESGA - Compo Entry

This is the story of how the Dark Angel came to be.

It was the monster.

-

Please note that this is a small and atmospheric game. It's a prequel to my current project, NIKRA: http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=46126

Thanks so much for playing!
(WASD or Arrows)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Mood4.29
#55Audio3.77
#113Graphics3.96
#303Theme3.65
#383Overall3.21
#719Innovation2.58
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

Devon Motola says ...
Aug 22, 2015 @ 4:18pm

pretty cool. :)

michidk says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 4:53am

i really like the atmoshphere

Johnicholas says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:38am

This looks Windows-only.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40am

Very moody.. almost art like submission.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:42am

Nice mood. (But some gameplay could be nice, you know. :D)

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

Nice mood. Graphics, audio, controls - all sound.

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Rock solid atmosphere and mood- not much game, and I didn't like having to wait for the text.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

fantastic! best game so far! Good luck!

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

Very nice sounds and setting of the mood. I was kinda anxious to wait if there would be some actual gameplay in this, but alas. No such luck.

Still a very nice mood piece and the graphics and the sounds were perfect together!

sydan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

I enjoyed this even though it was very simple. The atmosphere was great.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

Very nice dark and scary atmosphere

DifferentName says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Great creepy mood. But I wouldn't call it a game. It's just a story, where you flip to the next page by pushing A, D, or Spacebar. And an advertisement.

The mood had me excited though. I wish there was more to this.

dkdwrek says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

so... a really cool looking advertisement?

Arg410 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53am

It has a great story!

folex70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53am

cool,

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54am

Thanks everyone :D
this was only supposed to be a small game. I will probably redo it one day to have more gameplay :) Just had limited time to do what I have

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

Huh, that was certainly innovative to put together a prequel to an actual full production game in an LD entry. I guess the theme just worked out that way. Really great use of theme and atmosphere. I liked it quite a lot, I would have liked to see more gameplay in it since the rest of the presentation really drew me in.

Ekibyou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice atmosphere, but a shame there's no real gameplay...

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

Good graphics, nice and cool atmospheric game.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21am

Great atmosphere, but It's just a dude walking with some text. This whole submission is basically an advert for your actual game. Still a good concept though, and the graphics are great too.

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

Good atmospheric game, with slow narrative and good story and sounds. :)

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55am

I like how i was playing a game but it was really an advertisement. Nice one yo

noom says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

This crashed right at the end for me (i think it was the end) great atmosphere, graphics and audio, but the lack of gameplay was disappointing.
Not sure I agree with using LD as advertising either.

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

Great atmosphere. Can't fault it much - only I would have liked each environment to be a little larger, so you could continue exploring rather than having to wait for the narrative at times.

mactinite says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45am

Really good atmosphere, but like everyone said, not very much game. The sound effects were great, and the music was very fitting.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:40am

Nice atmosphere and tease at a bigger story, just wish there was more gameplay.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

Super moody! The art is really effective with what looks like just 3 colors.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12am

This is a pretty strange game.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nice. very atmospheric. Bodes well for Nikra

sprawl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Nice little experience. I dont mind that this acts as a teaser for the main game since it look completly independant. And Nikra actually look really good !

I came across this game since it has the same name as my entry too :P

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Very atmospheric and brilliant aesthetic. I had hoped for more of an ending though. Also not sure how much I like you use an LD game as a plug for the game you are currently developing but it is also a bit clever. It would be bad if it became a general trend for developers to do that but at the same time it does make sense since you have placed them in the same story line.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:36am

Less is more, 5stars.

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30am

Brief, but what was there, especially the atmosphere was nice.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Interesting game, I liked how you used the jam to write the backstory for the other game you're working on. :)

Grhyll says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Very nice game, I loved its simplicity and atmostphere, but I was quite disappointed not to have a proper end in the entry itself :( The full project seems beautiful, but right now I'm more in trying jam games than looking at it, I'll keep the link for later.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]