Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Beast

by ovenchips - Compo Entry

Horace is a Hungry Beast. But don't worry - although he's a meat-eater, he likes nothing more than eating juicy flies. Grab Horace's tongue and eat as many flies as you can before his hunger overwhelms him.

This game was made with PlayCanvas, so runs on WebGL. Should work in all major browsers, both on desktop and mobile.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Humor3.32
#317Graphics3.37
#343Innovation3.20
#554Mood2.88
#584Fun2.84
#585Theme3.21
#744Overall2.79
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:32am

see video for comments: http://www.twitch.tv/crefossus/v/12518307

iossif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:24pm

that is one hungry beast. i had fun playing it.

colludium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I couldn't get all but one of the flies to stick to the tongue, and the one that did - he didn't eat it.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:53am

Nice game. Tongue didn't always seem to snag the flies.

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:59am

hahah this was fun. Liked how the tongue wobbled all over the place. Collision between tongue and flies could be better though!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02am

Another PlayCanvas user! And a familiar face from the PlayCanvas Q&A ;)
Your tongue looks great (did anyone ever tell you that? :P)
We were wondering how to do such dynamic animation, but could not figure it out in time. Great insect models too!

As others said, collision with the flies does not work that well, and it can be frustrating when your control of the tongue is limited by the mouse reaching the edge of the screen. Perhaps it works better with touch interfaces?

The gameplay is a little simple, I think it might be improved by, for example, encouraging the use of a backlash to catch a fly on the opposite side of where you catch the first one. I hope that suggestion makes sense...

The moving eyes and fattening of the beast are nice touches.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:59am

I was promised sausages, there were no sausages!

ovenchips says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:34pm

@Lizzip: The sausages were just a ruse to disguise my true goal of developing the most incredible tongue the world had ever seen. I apologise for the deception.

miwuc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Cute concept, and the beast has nice animations! A bit buggy though which made it frustrating to play for me. I had trouble making the flies stick, and it would "game over" randomly. There were also bugs on the tongue rendering but those are hilarious :p

ovenchips says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17pm

@miwuc It doesn't game over randomly. The two game over conditions are: the tongue hits a hornet and you miss too many flies and the beast starves (he gets very skinny!). Thanks for the feedback. I did giggle when I developed the bug on tongue action.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:03am

Cute to death,Like his tongue feel funny, very interesting!cool!

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:49pm

@ovenchips duh, thanks for the explanation! I read your game's description, not the in games rules (or I spaced out at the end, apparently my attention span lasts one sentence :p)

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Very nice mechanics, bro!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Oh dear....=X What a game, hahaha.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:07am

Fun! But somehow it is a bit buggy to catch the flies above the frog. and of course there where the most flies...
But what really missing is a little soundtrack, that would surely make a difference. Not that i am one to talk...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]